Link House Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

One of the best

We stayed here for a couple of nights July 2022. Super peaceful site. Wish we had booked a longer stay. Our pitch sloped slightly, so no need for messing about with levelling ramps !! A ten minutes walk gets you to one of the most tranquil beaches we have experienced. Walking towards Beadnell there's a nature reserve where we found Terns nesting on the beach. The site is within easy reach of Bamburgh and Dunstanburgh Castles.

karanbil

Caravanner

Reviewed on 26/07/2022 19:05

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent CL. Peaceful and tranquil

Had 6 nights here in late June. Fabulous location well away from holiday cottages by Linkhouse farm. They looked very good though if travelling with non caravan/motorhomers. Great views across field with beautiful cattle in to the dunes behind Newton Steads/Beadnell Bay. Perfect for walks. Recommend circular walk to Beadnell, path behind dunes one way, beach the other with a pit stop at the Bait box in Beadnell car park for crabby fries etc. also round coast to Low Newton and along Embleton bay to Dunstanburgh Castle. Also recommend Hawick Hall gardens to visit. Easy walk up the lane to the pub in High Newton but we found it expensive and food only average. Site itself is all you want. Open for all the sun. All pitches are good and well spaced out and nice and flat with hard standing. Bin area and chemical disposal area very clean and tidy. Only 1 drinking water tap but this is a cl and very good value. Didn’t meet the owner but checking in and payment by bank transfer all very easy and he kindly left 6 free range eggs for us. Very yummy. Can only say this is one of the nicest cls we have stayed on. Wonderful tranquil location.

Annieb1

Reviewed on 03/07/2022 21:07

18 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Location is great for beach access

Had a few nights here for a quick winter break whilst the sun was shining. Great location to access the beach and coastal path, a short walk from the farm. The beach is large and clean. The CL is accessed through the farm and past its outbuildings, the road was very muddy and you need to walk this way to get to the path too so it’s worth having suitable footwear if the weather has been wet. The pitches are well spaced out with 360 views so no pitch has a bad view for watching sunset or sunrise, there is no shade. Very quiet at night. Lots of ducks, hens, turkeys and peacocks wandering around so definitely keep your dog under control. All pitches are level and well drained as hard standing. Each pitch is well lit with a post light too. My only criticism is the single water tap for drinking water, it’s at the far corner of the site and if in a motorhome its tight to get around to it to fill up. A tap on each pitch would be brilliant. Definitely worth revisiting, great days out around the area, Holy Island, Bamburgh, Warkworth and Seahouses, spoilt for choice.

JCH26

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 18/01/2022 15:39

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Love Northumberland

Just spent five nights at this site. Really enjoyed it but it is rather exposed so if it’s windy there can be some sleepless nights. Other than that there is lots of space between pitches and views to the hills is lovely. Some beautiful sunsets. Access direct to the beach and a very easy walk to either the Joiners in High Newton or the Ship at Low Newton (recommend the kippers). Also short drive to the Blink Bonny at Christon Bank which is a great old fashioned pub. We have been visiting Northumberland for many years but there is always so much to see and do so we will definitely revisit this site.

bobnmarg

Caravanner

Reviewed on 07/11/2021 12:15

25 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What a find!

On this site now and it's wonderful. It's at the back of a farm which has lots of holiday cottages with play areas but it's far enough past them to be so peaceful and spacious. You can hear the waves from the sea across the sand dunes. There is an electric point and light on each pitch and water, loo and bins are close by. Views across meadows to hills and the dunes are lovely but the location is the best thing. A short walk to the most fantastic beach and a short drive to so many beautiful places including Bamburgh Castle, Alnwick and Cragside National Trust House. Good roads all the way from the A1 except the last few hundred metres which is single lane but passing places but it's a dead end road so only cars from the small car park and other guests at the farm would be coming the other way most likely. To date with all our coming and goings we've met on other cars.

Praslin

Caravanner

Reviewed on 03/08/2021 20:19

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great location

Basic site but brilliant location. Less than 5 minutes walk from the beach and 5 mins walk up the lane to the local gastro pub. Site really peaceful with lots of animals and wildlife surrounding. Great walks or cycle rides from the site. We stayed the week and wished we could have stayed longer.

LozaC

Campervanner

Reviewed on 15/06/2021 09:08

17 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Little Gem

This place is a fabulous find! The motorhome / caravan compound is relatively small - just 4 or 5 pitches, but beautifully laid out and spaciously laid out, all hardstanding with grass verges in between. But the best thing is the wonderful view that greets you across fields with horses and cows to the sand dunes of Beadnell Bay. This is a cracking, wide sweeping beach - possibly one of the best on the Northumbria coast - and it's just a short walk away. The access is a little narrow and twisty down a county lane but our TAG managed it all no problem and be prepared to be greeted with a true menagerie of game and fowl - including three splendid peacocks - all wandering around the farm and the track that winds around various cottage apartments and farm sheds before reaching the site for motorhomes and caravans. Loved the location and to top it all there's a cracking gastro pub that we can vouch serves wonderful fish and chips, including takeaways, that's just a short and very pleasant amble up the road. We couldn't find a reception point on arrival but soon managed to find the owner who was busy turning round a large number of apartments for coming guests, but was friendly and welcoming. There doesn't seem to be an ability to book a pitch as such - it's just first come first served, so just rock up and grab your space, you wont be disappointed!

Just Us Lot

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 13/06/2021 20:20

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What a find!

We just stayed for 12 nights at Link House Farm CL. The perfect location to base yourself to explore the coastal region of Northumberland. Five minutes' walk down to the dunes and Beadnell Bay beach. Ten minute walk to High Newton and the Joiners Arms (table booking essential). The site was level and had all the basic amenities you need. The owners were friendly and helpful, and the surroundings peaceful with big skies and superb sunsets. Also cattle and racehorses to keep you company in the neighbouring fields. Take a walk to Beadnell along the beach (at low tide) and see the Arctic Tern nest site along the way. Visit the Salt Water Cafe in Beadnell (again, worth booking), for a fantastic tapas style meal. Then walk back along the sand dune coastal path. Another lovely walk we discovered is from Craster, inland to Howick Hall and Gardens, then back through the wooded grounds (arboretum) and then on the coast path back to Craster. Im sure we will be back again one day. Our first visit to Northumberland. There is so much to see and so many places to visit and explore. We thoroughly recommend this site. A guide book we'd also recommend is 'Slow Travel, Northumberland' by Gemma Hall. Its full of fascinating facts about the county and very helpful when you're looking for a good place to eat!

BNBWilliams

Caravanner

Reviewed on 10/06/2021 10:14

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Good little CL.

Good basic amenities. Easy access to site. Pitches a bit smaller than we’re used to. We appreciated the gift of eggs from the many hens that run around along with ducks and Guinea Fowl within the area. Beautiful stunning beaches all about. Nice be so close to one of these just over the dunes. Visited many castles and Holy Island. A boat trip to the Farne Islands to sea the birds, including Puffins was absolutely brilliant by Billy Shiels boats from Seahouses. Alnwick is a quaint little town but great castle and do visit Barter Books in the town. Cragside a must to do. Alnmouth, lovely beach and little village. Scott’s of Almouth for icecream especially double ginger 😋😋. Also near Warkworth Castle is Amble. Nice beach and stunning waves as the tide comes in. Kippers if you like them from nearby Craster and we also had an interesting historical tour of Berwick on Tweed by Derek. Meet outside the library at 11am. For a couple of hours entertainment. Great first visit to Northumberland.

Beulah

Reviewed on 30/05/2021 13:30

21 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect

We have visited most of the beaches along the Northumberland coast but Beadnell Bay is the best. So peaceful and deserted ( even though it was very cold - but sunny ). Contrary to a previous review, it is not a particularly long walk from the site to the beach - about 10 minutes to the edge of the dunes and another few minutes to the beach. And what a beach - well worth the £20 per night site fee that one reviewer moaned about. The pitches are well laid out with plenty of space between them.

David Gosling

Motorhomer from Durham

Reviewed on 09/05/2021 20:30

24 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer