Llanfadog Fields

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Pristine site

As others have said this is a beautiful well kept site in gorgeous countryside. Members have a five pitch area on grass with the best views.  The toilet/showers are immaculate but there are only three so be prepared to queue when busy.  An issue for those of you with a TV is the TV points are male (usually female) so you will need an adapter for your cable.  Also there are no washing up facilities yet although a start has been made, i.e. the frame to hold the sink, so you will need to have your own washing up equipment etc i.e. a bowl and hot water.  Otherwise cannot fault it.  Some have complained of the security but as this site has no staff near by I can understand the need and it is really no problem as long as you remember to wear your glasses ;)

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely spot shame about the weather

This is a great site in which to explore the surrounding countryside. The site was very clean and tidy, the facilities are very good if rather small, you may need to wait at busy times of the year. The weather was very unkind to us on this occasion with very high winds. The only down side was the rather excessive security; a long number to type in to get into the site and to use the toilet block - but this is very minor when put against the stunning views. The old oak trees in the woods surrounding the site are worth the trip on their own. We shall be back - probably in the summer and with a forecast of calm days.

jfish

Motorhomer from Pembrokeshire

Reviewed on 10/05/2015 09:36

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Our second visit

We went to LLanfadog Fields, last August and returned again in 2014.  I love the friendliness of the locals, the other members and, of course, Michael, who works very hard to ensure that the site and facilities are spotless.  Then, the Elan Valley is just beautiful.  We shall return, soon, I hope.

Daisy2007

Reviewed on 21/08/2014 21:27

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great LocalPlacesOfInterest

Elan Oaks Caravan and Camping is a commercial venture in the heart of the Elan Valley that has divided a piece of land into three distinct areas; Llanfadog Fields - a large, level close mown area that is designated as the CC CL. This has electric hooks up but there are no hard standings (this might be implied by the first photo of the this CL's entry on the CC website); Elan Oaks Caravan Site - 20 spacious hard standing serviced pitches (as depicted by the first photo); Elan Oaks Camping - a large level field for tents. I mention this because the toilet block (situated in the CL field) is available for everyone to use). There are three cubicles, each with a shower, toilet and wash basin). These, together with the whole site are immaculately maintained. No problems with the booking procedure and access codes. If you enjoy the outdoors, then this is definitely a site to consider as there is something for everyone on the doorstep. There is a cycle trail adjacent to the site, plenty of walking either alongside the reservoirs or up on the moorland (mostly open access). The road up into the valley is relatively wide so if you were stopping with a motor home, access should be OK. A great getaway from it all site. Recommended. 

JennysJaunts

Caravanner

Reviewed on 21/08/2014 08:31

97 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Rhayader May 2014

Stayed here for a few nights in May and what an excellent CL.  As has been said in previous reviews the location, site in general, facilities, location and staff were excellent.  From the booking process right through to leaving the site everything went smoothly.  No problems with gates, facilities or staff, indeed the opposite.   A very minor setting up issue, due to inconsiderate parking by club members,  was soon resolved by the manager, Christian,  immediately arriving to assist.  In reality this visit was overkill, but illustrates how willing management were to assist and ensure that our stay was enjoyable.  A special mention must be made of Michael who ensured that the first class facilities were spotlessly maintained as well as giving invaluable advice both of the site and the local area.  

Kembrokernyw

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 22/07/2014 15:58

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

beautiful site

we stayed on this site for 7 nights and everything was perfect,thanks to Mikey he works so hard to make sure the new toilet block is spotless.he makes people so welcome and gave us some advise on the local area.Elan Valley is an area not to be missed.and views from the site are beautiful.we found the Wi.Fi. worked fine outside our van or in the awning.

ian and sue

Caravanner from Staffordshire

Reviewed on 12/07/2014 22:43

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Best ever

We have just spent several weeks of sheer bliss at I think is one of the best run CL sites we have visited - not only plenty to see locally but if you wanted to just relax in your van you were entertained by the wildlife, watching the antics of the squirrels ( we counted 6 at one stage ) a dipper in the river and also a fox at one stage to mention just a few.  I agree with other reviews the toilets/showers would not be out of place in a 5 star hotel and were kept up to scratch by Michael who not only being very helpful would put you in the right direction to find local locations. I would recommend it to anyone

MainlyWild

Caravanner from Hampshire

Reviewed on 08/07/2014 11:10

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great LocalPlacesOfInterest

We stayed on the adjacent commercial area as the Cl was fully booked but, since the facilities are shared feel that it is appropriate to put in a review. This site is fabulous with an impressive new shower and toilet facility, views are great in every direction and access to local attractions such as red kite feeding and bike track on the doorstep. I agree with other reviewers re access, we were given codes over phone but not told of the name 'Élan Oaks' which it's signed as outside. In the absence of a CL sign outside we sailed past and of course had to find somewhere to turn round with our towed unit. The suffix to the code was changed without us being informed resulting in a slight access problem on our last day. So, apart from those minor access niggles the place is great and we would highly recommend it.

GedandAnn

Reviewed on 01/07/2014 22:06

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Brilliant site

Brilliant site, easy access, really clean & tidy toilet & shower block, & loads to see & do nearby, great scenery, good local pubs with real ale & good pub food, the best being the Triangle in Rhayader. We could,nt fault anything about it at all.

jimpercy

Caravanner from Shropshire

Reviewed on 07/06/2014 07:46

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Terrific Site

Beautiful site right on the Elan Valley walk. Surrounded by lovely mountains and adjacent to the River Elan. The Elan Valley Hotel is two mins walk away - good food, good beer, dog-friendly. Very secure site with key-pad entry system to the gates and toilet block (which was clearly explained to us when we booked). Very friendly and welcoming owners. The showers and other washing facilities were the best we've seen on a CL and would put many club sites to shame; the toilet block itself was heated and well-lit and we had no problems operating the key-pads. Many amazing walks in the area - we stumbled across an old dam which Barnes-Wallace used to try out his bouncing bomb on; there wasn't much left, needless to say. We walked into Rhaeadr along the footpath in about an hour. We WILL be back (two nights in May already booked, in fact).

MeicCaerdydd

Campervanner

Reviewed on 06/04/2014 17:31

30 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer