Penrose House

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Arrived as strangers left as friends

Lovely site. Made to feel very welcome on arrival and has a good relaxed atmosphere.Trudy made sure we were settled in and came around to say good bye when we left. Had no probs with site entrance at all.If you like walking get an OS map of the area and make up your own walks.Walked from site to Penzance 7.5 miles all on back roads. Stayed off footpaths as of the wet ground but only met a couple of cars.Then caught bus back.Walk to St Ives is easy to do. 3 places to get a drink and something to eat. Balnoon Inn ( I would give this one a miss unless you like being treated badly)The Countryman Hotel which is a little bit further down the hill.The best place for food is the Halsetown inn.Lovely pub with good food and even better beer.Trudy will show you the footpath to the pub.Takes between 10 to 15 mins to walk to but well worth it.We will be going back for another stay.

Dave P

Caravanner from Cornwall

Reviewed on 23/04/2014 16:16

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

a gem

just returned from a long weekend a very warm welcome from trudy and a lovely CL we will return

tony2576

Reviewed on 14/04/2014 12:57

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Just returned from a 5 night stay

We have just returned home from a 5 night stay at this site and to be honest we enjoyed it, Trudy was welcoming and friendly, we have a 7.5 metre motorhome and getting in and out of the site was fine, we would take our motorhome to the park and ride just outside st ives and have the bus into st ives, the buses run every 10 mins and it only costs £1.00 all in all we had a relaxing stay at this site and would recommend it to others

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great location for Cycling to St Ives and Carbis Bay

We were fortunate enough to stay on Trudi's site for a week in July. Wonderfully quiet site. LocalPlacesOfInterest of site excellent if you need to explore the coastline from Carbis Bay to St Ives. We are keen cyclists and truly enjoyed our cycling to both resorts. Admittedly it is a very steep climb out of both but once you have negotiated that you are mainly on very quiet minor roads which, in the sunshine we were fortunate enough to enjoy, were wonderful to cycle along. To get to St Ives required a couple of kilometres along the A3074 but we encountered absolutely no problems with this (it also conveniently took us past Tesco's!!!). There is also a lovely walk between the two resorts as well as a train (we did both!!). We liked St Ives so much, we returned there from another site!!

TheEves

Reviewed on 30/07/2013 18:08

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Deb Steve

We sent 10 days with Trudy in June and we had a great time Trudy is very helpful and so was Frank. We have two dogs and Trudy welcomed them as well as us both dogs enjoyed the peace and the lovely walks from the site...we had such a lovely time we recommend our friends to stay and enjoyed the site very much thank you Trudy and we will be back next time we are in Cornwall .....

ScreenName13E425955E

Caravanner

Reviewed on 25/07/2013 21:06

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

18 wonderful days

Just spent 18 nights on this perfect site.trudy and frank were top draw lovely people. The site was spot on in every way.it was a lovely walk to Caribs bay . We had a great holiday and would recommend this cl to anybody .thankyou trudy and frank and also 16 days of sun .

greenoctopus

Reviewed on 19/06/2013 20:11

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely feel and very welcoming site.

We attended with our our dog the same week (25 Aug 2012) as KandK (review below) and quite honestly, I can't believe we stayed on the same site as he described. The review is totally contrary to what we found. Trudi was lovely and very welcoming. The grass was cut twice in the week we stayed and was free of any mess of any kind. Trudi's dog made an appearance but stayed on the house side of the field and wasn't any problem. The field is very spacious and peaceful. I had no trouble gaining access in my motorhome which is 7.5 metres.There is a lovely walk into St Ives and the pubs are nearby. We stayed an extra 2 days after our week so don't understand KandK at all!!!! The 'boat trailer' was moved to facilitate access for the horse into the field adjoining - get a life KandK. I will be returning for sure next year. Well done Trudi for a lovely site. See you soon.

ColinB2

Reviewed on 18/09/2012 21:25

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Tranquil and peaceful.

The owner Trudi was welcoming and friendly on our arrival, she pointed out the area and several aspects regarding the CL and various points of interest. Trudi also advised us about issues with her elderly dog that had a tendency to use the CL field as his toilet. She would clear any mess when necessary and would do a regular inspection. Though this is not entirely satisfactory, the dog was there before the CL was set up. Because we were made aware of this issue it did not cause us any problems and in our eyes it is little different to dog owning club members who let their animals run free on sites. Ideally no dogs should be allowed to run free on any CL or Club Site but at present this is not the case. We had no access problems to the CL however the access lane is narrow like many in Cornwall. There is a footpath at the back of the site that leads directly to the local pub some 300 to 400 yards away; nothing was blocking this route on our visit in August 2012. Though the pub is close it is not close enough to cause any problems on site ( I.e. No noise etc.). The site is in fact very quiet and peaceful. There is no hard standing but the field is surprisingly firm and we had no problems with our 3 ton motorhome. For walkers, turn right directly on leaving site and following the narrow lane, then take signed footpaths, plus other lanes to get to Carbis Bay, takes about 30 minutes. From Carbis Bay you can then walk to St Ives via the coastal path route. O/S Map is handy

andersp5

Motorhomer from Nottinghamshire

Reviewed on 26/08/2012 19:34

11 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 2 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Disappointed

We were really looking forward to our stay on this site as it is close to St Ives. On arrival we were greeted by the owner and shown the area where we could pitch. There are no views from the site and the access road is narrow. Care also needs to be taken at the entrance with longer outfits. The site had a general air of untideness, e.g. an old boat trailer used to block a footpath. The main concern was the presence of dog dirt on the field, some of which looked as if it had been there for a while. When pointed out to the owner, she did attempt to clean it up, throwing it into the hedge. She also warned us that her dog liked to urinate on caravan wheels! Their dog seems to be free to roam the site unsupervised and we witnessed it urinating on our waste water carrier next morning. We are not anti-.dog and are dog owners ourselves but expect certain hygeine standards. We were booked on the site for over a week but were not prepared to stay due to the conditions on the site. If the dog issue was resolved then the site would be acceptable.

KandK

Reviewed on 25/08/2012 13:03

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Quite site

Very quiet and secluded site. Trudie is very helpful and friendly. Please note entrance and exit is narrow so twin axles and large outfits will struggle to get up narrow driveway and there is a telegraph post as you try to leave Penrose House. We stayed there august 4th for a week and needed a motor mover to get our twin axle out.

John Darwin

Motorhomer from Cheshire

Reviewed on 18/08/2012 21:01

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer