Rails End Nursery

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely site

This was our second time at Rails End and we had a lovely four days. Everything said in other reviewers' comments about the site itself, the welcoming and helpful owners, the shed with information, free range eggs, jams and chutneys for sale, and the surrounding area, is exactly what we'd have said. Jackie told us about the limit on electricity usage on arrival and it was stated clearly on the information provided in advance. It was easy to monitor our consumption and in fact it was quite a useful exercise. We had no difficulty in keeping within the limit and felt it was a very fair policy, particularly in view of recent increases in energy costs. So definitely no complaints there - the reverse in fact. Many thanks for an enjoyable few days - with the bonus of being able to purchase a hanging basket from the nursery!

Helen123

Reviewed on 01/05/2022 21:53

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great site, lovely hosts - however!

We arrived at the site at about 7.00pm on Friday night, in the dark, for a weekend break. We were warmly welcomed by Andrew who showed us to where we could pitch. As we were the only ones on site and the grass was wet were given the option of siting next to the shed on some hard gravel. Andrew laid out an extension lead for us as we were now over 25m from the nearest EHU point. The peace of the night was only disturbed by owl hoots and the occasional pheasant. The next morning we walked around the site and it is a nice level site, well spaced out and peaceful, even during the day. We met Jackie, who is lovely, as she put some produce in the well stocked shed with jams, chutneys and eggs for sale. We had a wonderful relaxing weekend and were ready to go home after our Sunday lunch at the Star when came the BIG however. A £14.40 bill for electric usage above our 10 unit per day allowance! Yes, we have a big caravan but the heating (Alde set to 2kW) was set at 19 from 8am to 10pm and 11 from 10pm to 8am. We have a 750W kettle which was boiled four times. On Saturday we had a slow cooker running for about 7 hours, but this is rated at only 130W max. Other than that it was just the battery charger so we don’t think our usage is out of the ordinary, thus we are amazed that we apparently consumed over £20.00 worth of electricity in 41 hours. I don’t want to discourage anyone from visiting this site as the location is wonderful and the owners are friendly and welcoming, just be aware it may cost you a lot more than the £17.50 per night, quoted. We would certainly return but definitely won’t have EHU again.

Stewpotbailey

Caravanner

Reviewed on 02/03/2022 17:03

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent

An excellent site, friendly welcome on arrival to this tranquil site, if you like nature this is the site for you, semi tame deer and other wildlife, excellent dog walking area.Easy access to nearby towns, James chutneys and eggs sold on site. We'll be back

sapin1

Caravanner

Reviewed on 17/10/2021 15:51

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Our First CL Site Holiday

What a wonderful experience for our first CL site booking. We arrived and received a very warm and friendly reception by Jackie. The site is in a tranquil location with easy access to local Pub and amenities. We found it ideal for visiting the Cotswolds, Malvern and surrounding area. Our pitch was spacious, private and had easy access to the dog walking area. A shed is available with local information, jam, chutney and eggs. Thanks Jackie for a relaxing peaceful holiday.

Andrew And Karen

Caravanner

Reviewed on 01/09/2021 05:52

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

First ever CL site - why have I never been before?

This was our first ever stay at a CL and now I am looking at these first as our experience was wonderful. We stayed for two nights on our way from Cornwall to the Lake District and we could happily have stayed longer. Jackie was very helpful and welcoming, easy to contact for access. The site itself is so private and sheltered being surrounded by high hedges but still very sunny. There are fruit trees everywhere and a nice area to walk the dog. The shed with the jams and chutneys in was a great idea and everything was delicious. There is also a load of printed local walks in the shed that we used and were really useful. The pub up the road was also really good and only a 5 minute walk away. Well done Jackie in creating such a lovely place and thank you for a lovely stay.

Jnettynoo

Caravanner from Cornwall

Reviewed on 31/08/2021 21:16

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Quiet, well shielded and peaceful site with access to a range of towns and villages, local pub and variety of walks. Highly recommended.

Second visit for 7 nights from 1st July. Won’t repeat all the comments in the reviews below but suffice it to say there’s a warm & friendly welcome, information in the shed on recommended walks and places to visit and chutneys and jams available from the fridge.

Reviewed on 15/08/2021 15:23

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Rails End cl

We have been to this site 3 times now and would highly recommend it to anybody. On arrival you are greeted by Jackie who is very welcoming and very helpful. The site is peaceful and having two dogs is a great site for walks. 10 out of 10 for this site👍

Kev and Ann

Caravanner

Reviewed on 31/07/2021 07:23

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fabulous Site

Our first trip of the year and we thoroughly enjoyed it. With 5 labradors in tow, we were made to feel very welcome from the time of the arrival to departure. Lovely site with good size pitches, with an excellent dog walk from the site. For the more adventurous, a 6 mile hike up to the top of Bredon Hill is recommended, although the legs are aching now. Great friendly village pub with good food. Easy access for exploring the area.

ScreenNameB86B0DBA2A

Caravanner

Reviewed on 22/06/2021 14:33

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely site... lovely hosts..... lovely location ....lovely holiday😊

This is a great site conveniently located for visiting this area and situated within a pretty village with a good pub within walking distance. The hosts were welcoming and provided informal daily checking in with visitors to provide any help or advice. There is a resource area for local walks etc and with homemade jams and chutneys for sale. We were fortunate to have great weather for our 6 day stay & definitely made the most of the sunny outlook. We would definitely recommend this site and be very happy to return. Thank you

ScreenName8E3184595D

Campervanner

Reviewed on 18/05/2021 20:38

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Welcoming and restful

Friendly welcome and relaxed atmosphere. Large, sheltered pitches with flexible outfit positioning. Info shed with fridge containing jams and chutneys for sale (try the crab apple and chilli jam), various spare camping bits for the more forgetful and toys for kids. Also laminated walking maps for some lovely, accessible trails.Their website contains loads of local information including a good village pub only a couple of minutes walk. An ideal, restful spot with access to so many places to visit. Website has plenty of information with something for everyone. Tewkesbury (Abbey) and Evesham (river bank walks and meadows) only minutes away by car. Tips for other travellers As advised don’t follow satnav for final approach. Don’t be concerned. Recommended final route has only a short (<200m) narrow bit (more than adequate for widest unit) with clear visibility. Odds of meeting anyone on such a little used road negligible.

Reviewed on 16/05/2021 10:57

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer