Swn Y Mor

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

weekend away

Very friendly owners, very accommodating. good base to cycle or walk into Criccieth or Pwllheli. we even cycled to Blackrock sands via Porthmadog. Nearest pub opposite Lloyd George's old house. You need your own facilities. Recycling excellent.

Herdings

Reviewed on 08/09/2020 12:05

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Very tidy scenic site

We stayed at this peaceful site last year and we cannot recommend it enough Carol and Royston are very welcoming My husband was unwell while we were there we had to call an ambulance which took him to Bangor He had to stay overnight and Carol was good enough to fetch us back to the site which was around trip of 60 miles we were very grateful The site is well laid out and kept very tidy with the grass mowed regularly and the cuttings picked up. The pitches are large with a slight slope there is some traffic noise but it did not bother us If you are a dog owners this is the ideal site as some pitches have a fenced off area There is plenty to do in this area which is very scenic If you are a steam train enthusiast this is an ideal place with trains running from Porthmadog to Carmarthen and also Blaenau Ffestiniog Also Portmeirion is a must So if you’re looking for a site in this area this is the place to be 😊

welshtaffy

Reviewed on 13/03/2020 10:58

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely!

We had a great ten days at this site and were well looked after by Carol and Royston. There is not much that I can add to the already excellent comments about the site. A couple of people have mentioned about the recycling - it's not a problem! Easy peasy and labelled where things should go. The road noise is minimal, if it was deadly quiet then you would probably need to travel miles to the nearest main road. Therefore, where the site is located, travelling to the many places of interest and beauty is very easy.

Keith and Wendy

Reviewed on 04/09/2019 14:09

14 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Centrally situated and peaceful - little gem

If you're looking for a CL which is peaceful and quiet then this is the place for you. The field where the CL is located is large and as a result pitches are very spacious. Electric hook ups are situated on each pitch enabling you to face your caravan in any direction to suit. You can expect a very warm welcome from Royston and Carol. Royston will happily pitch your van with his tractor should you wish. One of the pitches has a sea view and the nearest beach is only a 15 minute walk away. Access to the site is simple, just follow the instructions - you can't go wrong. Dogs are welcome with specially fenced off large pitches if you don't want to have your dog on a lead all of the time. Plenty of dog walking areas. The site is brilliantly situated for excellent access to the Lleyn Peninsular with it's lovely beaches and fantastic walks. Criccieth is a 7 minute drive away with local shops, garage and lots of eateries. There are lots of local pubs - we can recommend 'The Goat' for excellent, reasonably priced food. Porthmadog is about 20 minutes away, here you have a choice of 3 Heritage Railways. The Welsh Highland running from Porthmadog to Caernarvon. The Ffestiniog running from Porthmadog to Blaneau Ffestiniog with links to the Llechwedd Slate Caverns. Don't forget the original Welsh Highland Railway situated near Porthmadog Railway station. In conclusion, we think this site is marvellous and continue to stay every year as we have done for the last 5 years......we wish we had discovered it earlier. Enjoy!

Techsoop

Caravanner

Reviewed on 30/05/2019 20:21

7 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Nice few days

Easy to find. Pleasant welcome from Carol who pointed out waste disposal, recycling points and choice of pitches. Grass cut short. Good location for exploring the whole of the Lleyn peninsula. Some nice beaches and coastal walks. Yes some noise from the road but as previous review said I think more from the main road but none of it an issue. Open site though a little bit sloppy in places. Would happily stay again.

Jeeves

Caravanner

Reviewed on 28/09/2018 20:26

26 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent Dog Friendly Site

We had a lovely welcome on arrival by Carol who walked us to our allocated pitch. She had mentioned on the telephone when I booked that she would put us in the 'fenced field'. We were shown through a gate into a large field with 4 fenced off pitches with their own water and electric supply and gate. We had the end pitch which gave us lots of room for the caravan, awning, car and 2 dogs. Never before have we had the luxury of just opening the caravan door and letting the dogs out without the need for getting dressed, putting on footwear, leads etc. They could run around, play ball etc and be fully contained. Halfway through our stay, sheep were put on the field which was lovely. The whole site is well kept and has lots of quirky 'ornaments' around. We found the site convenient to tour the whole of the peninsular and also to go around the Snowdonia region. Lots of supermarkets in Portmadoc if required. We found the site easily. The road noise mentioned was not annoying to us - we could hear the main road traffic more than the traffic on the access road as we were on the bottom field. The recycling was interesting! The site is in a beautiful area - take a left out of the gate and walk a few yards to the lane on the right and follow the path up and after approximately a mile, the path runs parallel to the coast with beautiful views over the fields to the bay. We drove down to the local beach (only 2/3 car spaces for parking) and had a walk along the sea shore. There are some beautiful beaches on the peninsular, some are dog friendly and some are limited access during the summertime. We enjoyed our stay and would return - hopefully to the same pitch.

Dunpubbin

Caravanner

Reviewed on 15/09/2018 19:31

6 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect rural retreat with easy access to places of interest

We have just spent a wonderful fortnight at this lovely site. The owners are very welcoming and work very hard to maintain the immaculate grass and surrounding gardens. They are full of local knowledge and happy to give information and ideas on where to go and what to do. The site is slightly sloping and levelling blocks are required. The ground is firm and each pitch is huge. Your pitch is just that ... to use as you want and your outfit can be parked as you like it within that space. Access to the main road is only a 3 minute drive away, so perfect when days out are planned. Yes, as others have said, there is some road noise on the CL site, but the noise isn't constant as the road is a minor one. It didn't bother us at all. We had a 5 star stay and would recommend to other caravanners wholeheartedly.

pippins

Reviewed on 16/07/2018 20:57

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent

We enjoyed a great week here. The owners were very welcoming and friendly and the site is kept clean and tidy. We pitched near the duck pond. The recycling took a bit of getting used to as they recycled almost everything (we don't at home). Surprising how little waste you actually needed to dispose of. The instructions to the site were very good - didn't get lost. Access was easy. In a good location for exploring the area. Would recommend to our friends . Thanks for having us

Walkies1

Reviewed on 13/10/2017 07:49

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely site - lovely setting

Easy access even for a large twin axle caravan, with numerous immaculate and spacious pitches to choose from, all with 16 amp electricity. The pitches are all grass but should not be a problem – levelling blocks may be required. Amusing to see the daily duck procession from the pond to the back of the house in time for their breakfast! Mr Slater Mason was extremely friendly and very knowledgeable on the local area and gave us plenty of suggestions on what to see and do. There was some road noise but this was not a problem. All in all a lovely site in a very scenic part of Wales. Unfortunately 8 days was insufficient time so we will go back again at some future date.

TheCaravanMan

Caravanner

Reviewed on 05/10/2016 16:10

19 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A breath of fresh air

We spent 5 nights here to enable us to explore the Lleyn Peninsula on our bikes. An excellent point to "tour" from as most places are within easy reach by car and with a bit of effort, by bike. Mr & Mrs Slater Mason are both friendly and helpful, coming to collect us when we couldn't find the site, because we came from the opposite direction and didn't follow the instructions. The pitches are all grass and huge. Reasonably well drained (we arrived after 36 hrs of rain). Water, waste, recycling and effluent disposal are all well laid out and signed, plus Mr Slater Mason showed us where everything was as well as detailed instructions on how to get to the beach! A lovely site, a little road nosie but not intrusive. You will need levelling blocks but the slope is in the favour of full water barrels ( the empty journey is uphill!) A lovely example of a CL.

Fleetwood1954

Caravanner

Reviewed on 09/09/2016 22:16

20 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer