Swn Y Mor

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely holiday location

Beautifully kept site with large mostly level pitches. Very welcoming and friendly hosts; thank you for the golf Royston! Nearby Criccieth has all you need with excellent shops. We abandoned the supermarkets in nearby  Porthmadog in favour of a fantastic deli,butcher,baker and greengrocer not to mention Bargain Booze! The fish and chip shop is indeed brilliant we went twice during our 14 night say.Perfect base for the llyn peninsula, Snowdonia,festinniog and Welsh Highland railways. Stunning beaches and excellent walking.

Wendy

Caravanner

Reviewed on 16/07/2015 22:49

19 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent spot for our motorhome!

Spent lovely 3 nights here, Carol & Royston made us feel very welcome indeed, especially as we only rang 10mins before arrival to see if they could squeeze us in! We were pitched just away from the main part of the CL but in a delightful spot with our own little garden area. Our hosts were very friendly, offering us a lift into town one night if we needed as they were going that way. Great bus service which we caught into Criccieth & had the best fish & chips from near the castle. Pub in village, 15/20mins walk along the road. This CL is one of the best we have visited, beautiful gardens surrounding us with lots of little quirky additions! Highly recommend 

JoGrimbo

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 15/07/2015 17:48

15 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

FANTASTIC CL

We stayed for 4 nights the site was beautifully kept and maintained,the owners were very welcoming and friendly.The site is well positioned for the llyn peninsula,15 min walk to the beach we will definitely be back its a real gem of a site.

FOXYDAVE

Caravanner

Reviewed on 08/07/2015 17:45

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great Site, Great Location

We stayed here for 6 days and enjoyed the excellently maintained site and meeting the very helpful and approachable owners. The site was in a great location, within walking distance of the coastal path and a short drive to Criccieth in one direction and Pwllheli in the other. Slightly further afield the mountains of Snowdonia are a short drive away. All round, a great site.  

Alan191

Caravanner

Reviewed on 28/06/2015 21:06

24 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What a C.L. should be.

Since our return to caravanning a couple of years back, we have stayed exclusively on C.L. sites, and have not been disappointed by any of them; however Swn Y Mor must rank as the best we have visited thus far. We hesitated as to whether or not we should post a review, (our first), in case we might not be able to get in next time! We can only endorse and reiterate everything that previous reviewers have said. We look forward to being able to visit Carol and Royston again in the near future.

sean yates

Caravanner

Reviewed on 24/06/2015 18:31

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Ozzie & Flo - ON TOUR

People obviously have their own ideas of what is a good caravan site.  For us, Swn Y Mor is perfect. The field is a great size with large pitches (or plots as Royston calls them).  The whole site is neat and tidy and well presented.  We left Ozzie on site many times during our week and walked from base or caught the bus.  One walk takes you down to the beach for an evening stroll.  Our bigger six mile walk took us up a beautiful tree lined avenue just along from the site from which we meandered back towards the Wales Coast Path and into Criccieth where we caught the bus back.  The bus will pick you up from the gate towards Pwhelli or 50 yards away for Porthmadog with a thirty minute service.  We went to Porthmadog, took the Welsh Highland Railway to Caernarfon and caught the bus back.  The walk around the Wales Coast Path at Porth Dinllaen is a challenge as the Nefyn and District Golf Club share the same piece of the Earth, and a fair bit of the lower atmosphere as well, but there were Grey Seals to watch off the point and Arctic Terns and loos in the port by the Ty Coch Inn.  On driving days we wandered down through quiet lanes through Llanbedrog, Abersoch and to the viewpoint overlooking Bardsey Sound and the island.  On our final full day we just stayed on site which was quiet and relaxing then went out at about 6pm to find the best chip shop near the castle in Criccieth.  We knew it was good because of the queue around the inside walls (of the chip shop not the castle). Great site.  We will be back.  Just hope there will be room after this brilliant review. Thank you Carol & Royston.  Keep up the good work.

DavidRose

Caravanner

Reviewed on 23/05/2015 20:53

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A PERFECT RETREAT

We visited Swn y mor last week and had a very relaxing stay ever . The site is immaculate ,  and a perfect base  for visiting the main attractions by car  as well as having good walks in the area . You are 15 min walk from the beach where I managed to see bottle nosed dolphins jumping in the water which was the highlight of the week . Also a great spot for wildlife . The owner's Royston and Carol were very wecoming welcoming and very helpful . We shall go back again .    

coma

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 19/04/2015 09:49

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Total Bliss

We have just arrived home after a week on one of the best CLs we have ever visited.The owners Royston and Carol were perfect hosts,always happy to give advice on places to go and things to do, nothing was ever to much trouble for them. Whilst on the site it was full (5 units) and talking to the other visitors we learnt that they all used this site on a regular basis which in itself is an indication of how good it is. The grass was cut twice whilst we were there and the numerous recycling bins checked and cleared daily. The site is perfectly located for all of the major tourist sites whilst at the same time in its own little oasis. Would we come again....most certainly, would we recommend it to you ,certainly not otherwise there wont be room for us when we come again. If you ignore this and decide to visit you must book early to avoid dissapointment.

samp

Caravanner

Reviewed on 14/09/2014 21:57

27 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What a Gem of a Site

This site is a real find. Peaceful but easy to get to so many places. Lots of exploring to do of both beaches and mountains. The train rides from Porthmadog are spectacular and well worth the outlay. Our dog loved it as the garden has lots of hiding places for critters who may be lurking (she is a cairn terrier). Royston and Carol are very welcoming and helpful without being intrusive. We extended out stay as much as they could accommodate but will definitely be returning - still more to do and we have to return to Criccieth to our evening stroll with the dog across the cliff footpath!!

katanofburbage

Reviewed on 14/09/2014 08:58

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely Stay

Totally agree with Mr Stewart :) we  had a lovely stay at this site and would most certainly return. The area is beautiful, the site is very well kept and we were made to feel very welcome by Royston and Carol.

BeckyT

Caravanner

Reviewed on 14/08/2014 18:00

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer