The Meadows

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Better than we thought...

Having now completed our second visit to 'The Meadows', it's even better than we thought. With the beginning of better weather the foliage on the trees and hedges made the whole experience even more relaxing and welcoming, with the flowers in bloom to cheer us up even more (as if we needed it!). Since our last visit we've been to a CL in Devon that many folk have reviewed as "should be a CL of the year" or similar. Sorry, having been to 'The Meadows' we were disappointed and were pleased to get back to Gail and David's welcome and their superb CL. But, please don't take any notice of all this ... if 'The Meadows' becomes too popular we may not be able to get booked in ourselves! Seriously, it can still be summed up in two words, "Just wonderful".

CamperFan

Reviewed on 24/07/2018 11:12

4 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfectly formed

We watched the site develop from a sheep field into one of the best sites on the network. Finally stayed in May, we were astounded at every aspect. Attention to detail is first class, very friendly and helpful owners, cleanliness of the entire site and even the simple red and green signs to indicate when the shower is available viewable from all pitches indicates the thought that has gone into the operation of the site. So good that we are going back in June as our Labrador loves the beaches in the area which are predominantly dog friendly throughout the year.

Nigel Aston

Caravanner from West Midlands

Reviewed on 10/06/2018 08:35

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What can we say that other reviewers haven't already said ... ?

This was our first stay on The Meadows and the welcome and helpfulness of Dave and Gail (or, Gail and Dave) was immediately apparent. The site itself is of the highest standard, both in the facilities and the pitch areas. In short, we couldn't have enjoyed our stay more and are looking forward to our next visits, which we hope will be many. Every review that has given 5-stars is correct ... of the only two 4-star ones, the tree-cutting, etc., must have been disturbing but it was a one-off and out of the site's control. We can't understand the second one, dropping a point because they prefer their CLs to be "more rustic". Didn't they read the handbook entries for the area before booking? To sum up, The Meadows is just wonderful ... and please don't forget the Talyllyn Railway (smile!). To Gail and Dave, "Thanks very much indeed".

CamperFan

Reviewed on 25/04/2018 11:50

4 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A gem of a site

This is a fabulous CL, a real gem. The owners, Gail and David are very friendly and welcoming. They have thoughtfully put together an information pack, one for each pitch, which contains useful telephone numbers, bus timetables, along with places of interest. All of the pitches are hardstanding and set within a lovely and well kept grassy area by the side of a stream. There is also a shower and toilet which are immaculate. There is a lot to do in the area and if, like us, you don't want to take your motorhome, the local buses are plentiful and within a couple of minute's walk from the site. We will definitely go back. Helen & Steve Perkins

Helen and Steve

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 21/10/2017 22:15

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

An exceptional CL

Cannot fault this compact dog friendly site. All hardstandings and owners are very helpful. We had a great holiday here in July and hope to return. Wonderful beaches nearby and lots of walks in the hills. Also worth visiting Yr Ysgwrn near Trawsfynydd, a Welsh Farmhouse with lots of history. See the website Snowdonia National Parks Authority.

Gigli

Caravanner from Dyfed

Reviewed on 19/09/2017 14:02

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Small but beautiful

Site is a bit on the small side , access is bit tight and manouvering space also as grass was wet and soft so had to stick to hardcore drive . Beautiful little site scenery-wise and very friendly welcoming hosts . Unfortunately place next door was cutting down trees during our stay so had noise of chainsaws all day , but as we went out nearly everyday this didn't matter too much , and would you believe as our holiday finished so did the chainsaws !!!!! This is only reason I've dropped a point on peace and tranquility rating which, to be fair is beyond their control . Hosts were very apologetic about this but it's neighbours , what can you say or do ???? Toilets and shower room were beautiful and exceptionally clean with instant hot water - perfect .Were given Freesat box and cable on arrival to plug in on pitch so great for tele lovers . Lots to see and do nearby and the scenery - WOW . As Arnie (Schwarzeneger) would say "We'll be back"

waz51

Caravanner from Staffordshire

Reviewed on 17/09/2017 21:40

34 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Another Wonderful Stay

We have just returned from another wonderful stay at The Meadows As all the shrubs and hedges are now beginning to mature, and Dave's expert gardening skills, combined with Gail's attention to detail in the managing of this CL it just gets better each visit we make. The Meadows will definitely be a CL of the year winner

Ernoray

Motorhomer from Cheshire

Reviewed on 05/08/2017 16:09

11 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Wonderful Wales

Stunning views of the hills from the site and beautiful walks nearby although keep your dogs on leads as lots of sheep, cows and the occasional bull on the footpaths. Site owners were very helpful and will sort you out with a TV receiver to get you dozens of channels, EE and O2 reception very good here. it's a 10 minute walk through the fields to the Talyllyn railway which will take you to Tywyn or north to the waterfalls and there is a bus alternative nearby to the town. Our hosts were very attentive but unobtrusive and did us a massive favour during our stay which we were very grateful for. We will be back again one day.

glynhwilliams

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 11/07/2017 18:14

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A mini club site

The very nice owners have created a mini club site with beautiful facilities and hard standing pitches. The grass is immaculately manicured and tended frequently. If you are a club site devotee experimenting with CL's you will love this place but personally we prefer our CL's more rustic.

Natasha2

Caravanner

Reviewed on 06/07/2017 12:19

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

An Excellent CL

This site certainly deserves all the great reviews; it is a credit to the friendly owners Gail and David and it would make a good blueprint for any new CL owners. The mountain views and location also add an extra element that makes this such a special place. A welcome pack is provided for each pitch which consists of a folder full of useful information on the area and a Freesat box and all necessary leads to link your tv up to their dish. They even provide you with free Wi-Fi. All pitches are spacious, level, and separated by lovely shrubs and have crushed slate (it is Wales) hard standings with grass for the awning areas. We were lucky enough to visit during a mini heat-wave and the owners allowed us to take our chairs and sit in the shade next to the river (Afon Fathew) that runs along the lower edge of the site. We would highly recommend this site to anyone wanting to stay in this beautiful part of Wales.

neveramsure

from Lancashire

Reviewed on 27/06/2017 19:56

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer