Brecon Beacons Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Top class site

Spent three nights here, using it to visit Brecon via the canal towpath, plus Abergavenny and Goetre Wharf. The site itself is top class, the facilities blocks (there are two) are immaculate, and cleaning is scheduled so that one is always available. The only niggle is the road noise - it should be noted that the site is in the 'V' formed by the A470 and the A40 at a junction roundabout. We didn't find it too invasive but then, we didn't spend any time sitting outside! Also note that in order to access the canal towpath it is necessary to cross the A40 dual carriageway twice, which calls for vigilance and fleetness of foot. One other thing - there is a bus stop right outside the entrance in a turn round layby, but we found that no buses actually called there despite whatever the timetable says. We enjoyed the stay though and can recommend.

26 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Terrific staff

Stayed here in our campervan (with friends in their motorhome) and had an awning disaster - very windy night, completely unexpected, a freak gust ripped out the mooring pegs and blew the awning right over the van. Looked out at 5 am and couldn't believe it! Come daylight and opening time staff were magnificent, helped untangle and release awning and even disposed of wrecked parts. No fuss, just got on with it. Thank you so much! Generally site is very well kept, great facilities and dog walking areas. Close to the lovely town of Brecon and the wonderful Three Horseshoes Pub. Only downside is very busy/noisy main road.

philandalisonk

Reviewed on 25/10/2023 13:23

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Superb

We had a fantastic long weekend here. The wardens are so warm and friendly, and look after the site extremely well as everywhere is spotless! The facilities are lovely and always clean. The dog walk is brilliant, and the location is excellent. This site has quickly become a favourite, and we can not wait to come back for more adventures. We would absolutely recommend this beautiful site.

aforsterbrain

Caravanner

Reviewed on 05/10/2023 20:09

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Another fantastic trip

Visited last weekend for 3 nights with our dog . This our 6th visit to this site this year and once again we had a fabulous time. The facilities are absolutely spotless and the staff are super helpful and very approachable. We usually have a service pitch which are lovely and spacious. We walked into Brecon along the canal and visited one of the dog friendly pubs. We also love walking along the canal in the opposite direction. It's around a 2 hr, beautifully scenic walk to the Royal Oak pub where we enjoyed a lovely meal and few drinks sitting outside with views of the canal. This is definitely one of our favourite sites and we are already looking forward to our next visit. We can highly recommend this place.

ClubMemberFDC51FD2DE

Caravanner

Reviewed on 28/09/2023 16:16

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Remember the Drying room

Lovely well maintained and spaced campsite. Very good wash blocks and even has a drying room with separate lockers to use for that wet Welsh weather. The Infantry battle training school is just down the road, from which the shooting can sometimes be heard but this does not last that long and site reception has a calendar of shooting practice days. We enjoyed the walk along the canal into Brecon (note you need to cross the dual-carriageway) if you leave the town when dark follow the road instead as it is lit. We intend to return next year to do enjoy some of the longer walks and possibly the river cruise.

Elaine and Phill

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 26/09/2023 16:15

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great site

Site, location and facilities were wonderful. A great place to stay to explore the Brecon Beacons with good walking and cycling routes around. Staff were really helpful and took a real pride in the site. Thank you for a brilliant stay.

DebJ1

Reviewed on 26/09/2023 12:31

14 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great location and facilities

Great location for accessing the National park and surrounding areas. Good spotless facilities in site. I had very poor Wi-Fi signal on site. 2 good dog walks on site too. Lovely walks direct from the site along the canal - in the evening down to Brecon was much quieter and a good time to go. Fab good and great range of gins at the Hop Inn in Brecon. Downside is the road noise which I did get used to, other than on the Sunday it was constant as is a popular route for bikers - it spoilt the ambience. Was on pitch 31 - be aware that pitch and the neighbouring ones were in the shade all day.

ScreenNameE65443C5F9

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 10/09/2023 08:19

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Summer camping

This is a well maintained site with excellent modern clean facilities. There is a lovely walk down through woods to a stream then over a bridge to a lane which takes you to the Three Horseshoes pub. This is an excellent pub with top notch food and friendly staff. Also the walk into Brecon is pleasant and easy along the canal towpath. The only downside for us was that there was some sort of shooting going on daily (possibly from a neighbouring farm?) this obviously could not be controlled by the site staff but is worth noting if you have a dog with a gun phobia.

ScreenName5E40E2A65F

Caravanner

Reviewed on 22/08/2023 09:10

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

One of our favorite sites

I love this site and come annually, it's a stay overnight or a couple of days, or we have a lot of friends in South Wales so ideal when visiting them. It is always kept well grass short , hedges clipped to perfection with friendly helpful staff. A great scenic walk into Brecon Centre and a walk in the opposite direction along the canal , we haven't done the beacons walks yet!!!! Very disappointed this year ....No Shop.!!! In a motorhome you have difficulties driving around the small roads and finding the shops, they told us to go to Morrisons , but we had no idea where Morrisons was in Brecon. we managed with tins I have for emergency's Please bring back the fantastic shop you used to have on site . then I would give you 5 star rating As it's a lovely site.

chrisandtony65

Reviewed on 09/08/2023 14:34

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Fabulous Place to Relax

Had an amazing long weekend at this beautifully maintained site. The staff are so friendly & welcoming and work extremely hard keeping the site pristine clean. Huge thanks to the staff as I dropped my rings on vacating the site whilst putting the barrier key in the box. I rang the site who retrieved them and kept them locked in the safe until I could return a week later to collect them. Only wish we could have taken the caravan again and enjoyed another long weekend. Alas work intervened. Lovely walks direct from the site and plenty of room for everyone to enjoy. Will definitely be back.

DorothyS

Caravanner

Reviewed on 08/08/2023 15:06

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer