Brecon Beacons Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Surprisingly good and well located

Brecon is a large flat site with a well stocked shop and facilities. The highlight for us was the easy access to the Brecon and Monmouth Tow path that allows easy access into Brecon in the west or an excellent route to Talybont and onwards. Brecon has some lovely quirky shops, local supermarkets and several pubs to enjoy.

TOM 88

Reviewed on 03/08/2022 22:19

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

another excellent stay, shame about the wifi

Have stayed here several times, most recently last week for 3 nights. As always, extremely friendly staff, immaculate facilities and a great location. The Three Horseshoes offers excellent food just ten minute walk away and there is a Chinese restaurant in Brecon that delivers great food to the site. Some parts of the site are noisier than others, in terms of traffic noise from adjacent roads. Two grumbles, both beyond the remit of the site staff. The first is that too many drivers are going way too fast around the site. Last week there were several young children cycling around the site (lovely to see) and the risk of an accident is high. The 5 mph is well marked on the tarmac so I'm not sure what else can be done? The other problem was that the wi-fi was appalling during our stay, the connection kept dropping and sometimes it was impossible to connect at all. It doesn't help that the process for logging of one device, so that my wife can use hers, is so clunky. Some improvements needed here and hopefully this site is on the Club's schedule for upgrading. A big thank you to the staff for their first-class work.

outinthesticks

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 03/08/2022 14:40

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Very pleasant site

We have just spent two shorts stays at this site on our way to and from North Wales. We were greeted by a very friendly member of staff, the facilities were spotless and there were excellent dog walks. As others have mentioned, there was some road noise and a little from the events centre next door, but these did not detract from our enjoyment. It is a large site but there are two shower blocks. Our pitches were a good size. Unfortunately the shop is closed at the moment.

SallyRRP

Motorhomer from Isle of Wight

Reviewed on 07/07/2022 21:32

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Thanks for the tinned tomatoes!

Clubsites are, IMO, pretty much the same but that gives you the assurances you sometimes want. This was a clean site and there were nice showers and facilities and the walk into Brecon was along the canal which was a pleasant enough walk into town and the local pub was in a different direction, which, once you had deciphered the written directions on the back of the booking sheet we found OK. It was an odd pub, almost a house that had been transformed. We sat in the beer garden which I guess was originally a rear garden. We didn't eat there but the menu itself looked great and the decor inside the pub was cosy. Worth the walk. We didn't eat at the pub as we were going to make spag-bol and when we got back to the motorhome we realised we didn't have any tinned tomatoes!! I ran to the shop but it was closed but the warden went to her own kitchen cupboard and gave us one of her tins. She was off the next day when we were leaving/handing over a freshly bought tin so I just wanted to say a big thankyou for coming to our rescue that night! That's what the CAMC is all about. :)

ScreenName3EEC18FF1A

Reviewed on 06/07/2022 10:36

5 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great Site

For us this was a great geographical position for where we wanted to visit. The site was up to the usual high standards and locally a Morrisons supermarket with cafe and petrol was just up the road. Mobile reception was good for our phones and 4G Router but, TV reception was a bit iffy. We would have found the shop handy but, it seemed to have odd opening hours and was always closed when we tried to use it.

Keith and Eve

Caravanner

Reviewed on 05/07/2022 18:11

17 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Lovely site...but

Spent the wkend here , there are a couple of buts though . First the reception we got on arrival was not great, yes we got there at 12 because that was what our booking said but no we were told in no uncertain terms that we should not turn up until 1pm..we were told this not once but on many occasions. If you need any groceries bring them with you because the shop on site is closed. The bus service is very infrequent.. Taxi service are hit and miss. Lovely walk along the canal path into Brecon. There is alot of road noise. The site was spotless, pub 10 min walk away.

W a l k e r s

Reviewed on 23/06/2022 07:28

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

A lovely site in a good location but road noise

This is a lovely well laid out site with good facilities - even though the site was full one of the toilet blocks was closed during our stay but the remaining one coped perfectly well and was kept immaculate. As on many sites, the service pitches were amongst the worst on the site. They also suffered, like most of the site, with continuous and intrusive road noise although the pitches nearest the play area were much quieter for road noise. One thing to be aware of is that the army have a major training centre in Brecon not far from the site and on weekdays they use the rifle range for training. The site staff were nice. The shop well stocked and reasonable. The site was expensive relative to non club sites even with a mid-week discount.

PaulJHopkins

Caravanner from Dorset

Reviewed on 12/06/2022 15:28

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Loved It

A very easy site to find and access. we received a warm welcome and found a large level pitch. Facilities were plentiful and spotless. WiFi strong. The stroll to Brecon is easy and the town a delight. However, if you fancy a walk don't miss Pen y Fan (the slog yields stunning 360 views) or the Four Waterfalls Walk (absolutely spell-binding if you can spare 4 hours). A little road noise at the site barely registered with us and wouldn't stop us returning. Thank you.

AllyMartyn

Caravanner

Reviewed on 01/06/2022 12:40

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Best site we have stayed on

Brecon is by far the best site we have stayed on. That's not just including our short fortnight's tour this month, it is in many years touring experience. The walk into Brecon is lovely along the canal and a visit to the Clarence Inn is a must for anyone with a dog who wants a good eating experience. The shop on the Brecon site is amazing! How much lovely stuff is there and the friendly, cheerful and smiley lady and her daughter who run it are the best. The prices are good and I am really regretting not buying that white fleece blanket which I keep dreaming of! Thank you for a super stay, we'll be back!

Megdog3

Motorhomer from Cornwall

Reviewed on 26/05/2022 16:38

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Excellent Site

We stayed for 8 nights in May with our 2 cocker spaniels. This is by far the best site we have stayed at, after 2.5 years of touring. Apart from some road noise, we couldn't fault anything. The Three Horseshoes Pub was a 15 minute walk away, and a 1.5 mile or so stroll along the canal took you into Brecon itself. Clearly the area is for those who wish to have a more adventurous type holiday, but there is enough to do for everyone, whatever their ability. The staff were 10 out of 10, as well as the facilities. Brilliant shop, very well stocked and reasonably priced. We have nothing bad to say, we loved it here and will be back next year, but for longer. As a Welshman, I felt very proud that a site located in this area of outstanding beauty was so good.

Mark1963Evans

Caravanner

Reviewed on 21/05/2022 12:10

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer