Brecon Beacons Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Our first visit.

This was our first visit to the Brecon site and our first trip with our new Labradoodle puppy ' Shelby' We had a great time, staff were very friendly and facilities were fantastic , will be going back again for sure. Thank you, Mandi & Steve

ScreenName8CC5182212

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 03/12/2020 11:38

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Nice site in a good location

Our first COVID trip away. I was impressed by the safety measures in place and the cleanliness of all facilities. Good site and close enough to be able to walk to Brecon along the canal. Dog walking area was well kept. Great shop on site supplying basic caravan items as well as the usual foodstuff etc.

marspain

Caravanner

Reviewed on 08/10/2020 09:06

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Sept stay

Lovely large site with spacious pitches. Excellent dog walk in the woods. Facilities clean and covid safe. Wristband system seems to baffle some guests, at least twice I came out of the facilities and my wristband had gone and I was left with someone else's. As we don't like to take the motorhome out too much we usually use public transport to visit different places but due to covid we didn't feel we should so probably didn't see as much of the area as we would have liked. However, lovely walking in the local area, the canal in either direction, pen y fan and the waterfalls from the local village of Llanfrynach. The site is situated on a busy road junction so is fairly noisy but the road noise didn't bother us too much. However the noise of the local firing range was horrendous, every weekday for approx 3 hrs. Our dog hated it. I feel there should be something regarding this in the site details. The 3 horseshoes pub up the road only seemed to want to let us sit outside, even when there was space inside, which was OK while the weather was warm but we avoided it after it turned cold. Presumably a sign of covid times.

IkeySpikey

Reviewed on 03/10/2020 11:07

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Late Sept trip

We have not previously visited Brecon before but decided on it as it was not far from home and had serviced pitches. We booked for 5 nights - my husband, myself plus our dog. On arrival we were greeted by a friendly warden who explained the checking in procedure. The warden in the office gave us a site plan and explained we were to look for the red pitch numbers. The only vacant pitches of this type were in a row together, we pitched up. The traffic noise was mentioned in the site details, which we were prepared for; however the disturbing noise was the sound of the rumble strips on the A40 as the roundabout was approached by traffic. This was more or less constant but slightly less overnight. After 2 nights we managed to get a vacant serviced pitch further away from the road - problem solved, much quieter. The site details also mentioned that there was a nearby wedding venue which might produce some noise, but given that we were not staying a Saturday night, and the current restrictions on large weddings meant that we did not feel it a problem. However, what we were not prepared for was the noise of the firing range from the barracks over the road. This happened every week day we were there. Unfortunately our dog hates the sound of gunfire and tries to hide or bury herself somewhere when it happens. We do appreciate that this is well out of the control of the wardens, but a little mention in the site details might have forewarned us of the problem. The site itself is well spaced and clean, with spotless toilet facilities. Given the current situation it is obvious that the wardens work hard to keep it that way. The shop was excellent with a wide range of food, newspapers and general camping hardware all reasonably priced. The opening hours were suitably long enough and the staff very friendly and helpful. All in all the site is excellent, and if you get the right pitch - peaceful.

bubbles55

Reviewed on 30/09/2020 12:37

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Excellent site

Very good site only let down by the covid restrictions which are everywhere anyway. luckily I did not bring the dog as she would not have liked the local firing range which I had forgotten all about as I have not been this way in some years. Normally I would think this is a really good site with plenty of walking and cycling around and also the steam railway over near Merthyr Tydfil near the waterfall. I have walked a lot around here and it certainly keeps you fit. I will return.

jb262zra

Reviewed on 27/09/2020 22:59

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Brecon Beaons club site

This site is excellent, good facilities, well stocked shop. Will definitely return.

RhysH

Reviewed on 21/09/2020 10:17

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Road noise unbelievable!

This is an excellent site very clean good space between pitches staff friendly and helpful, pitch was level with plenty of room all the way around it. Facilities were as stated in other reviews clean and well maintained. The only thing that was awful was the traffic noise which never stopped during the day and night! This must be the busiest road junction in the country, everything from motorbikes drag racing up the road to really heavy lorries braking hard to stop at the roundabout. So if you are a light sleeper like me don't except to find this a relaxing site, did get a little quieter on Friday night so maybe the same over the weekends.

FREEDOM42

Caravanner from Gloucestershire

Reviewed on 20/09/2020 20:03

15 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

What a wonderful 4 nights we had at this superb site 6th-10th Sept.

This was our first time out with our little renovated Caravan and we had the most wonderful, memorable time! Firstly we would like to thank the amazingly kind staff in reception that welcomed us. We are in our 70's and husband has a cancer with chemo drugs given daily. The importance of being COVID safe was so much the case for us. We were given our wrist bands for the hooks outside of the disabled toilet and shower facilities in order that my being secure would also be maintained. We asked about the barrier access and were given our card to activate it with no problems what so ever and found that easy to use. If we had any other concerns we asked there and then and could not have felt more welcome or safe. Our pitch was awesome and the opportunity to pick up tiny fir cones a happy memory for me as it had been so long since I had been near enough to do this ~ a simple thing that many would see as a nuisance but for us it was just a blessing! A staff member came and saw us into the pitch which was such a help, he levelled the van for us and said we could ask for help at anytime. The following morning this kind staff member and a lovely female member knocked gently on our door to see that we were both okay, they were smart in their uniform and extremely approachable. What more could anyone want! The toilet facilities were the cleanest we have ever seen in either a hotel or public convenience in the past and smelled lovely and fresh no matter what time of day. Everyone took consideration towards others and it was peaceful and and dropping off to sleep was immediate for us. Wales is a beautiful country and the people care for their country, no litter on the verge of the roads anywhere that we went and Brecon Beacons Caravan and Motorhome Site is an absolute credit to this country. We love Wales and we will be going back a.s.a.p! Thank you to the club and members for such a wonderful stay for us!

ScreenName5A3D3CF5F0

Caravanner

Reviewed on 17/09/2020 11:20

1 review

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Customer service training required!

The site is very clean and immaculately tidy and we did not find the road noise intrusive. However the unfriendly and unwelcoming attitude of the staff really let the site down. The member of staff on reception was unable to raise a smile when we arrived and just listed everything we weren't allowed to do. We were not issued with a barrier card and when we realised we couldn't re enter the site without it and phoned to request one (as reception was closed) we were dealt with in an off hand manner by two surly members of staff who acted like it was our fault. Perhaps the staff members need to be reminded that they are there to enhance the holiday experience of the guests and a smile and a friendly manner cost nothing! We won't be returning!

Response from the Club:

We are glad you found the site clean and tidy. The staff have been in touch as they work incredibly hard to ensure that our visitors to the site have a wonderful time. They are sorry that you did not take the barrier fob when you advised them of the pitch. Anyone leaving the site needs a fob to be let back into the campsite. When you returned in the evening the office was closed and the staff had finished for the day but they were more than happy to help you and let you in. They reopened the office to give you a fob so that this did not happen again. Please be assured our staff always do their utmost to assist members. 

Louise J Bowen

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 08/09/2020 20:12

1 review

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

First time

As this was my first time in a motorhome, I was very nervous as I had never set the motorhome up before but it all went very well, all of the staff at the site were wonderful and very helpful, the toilet block was spotless as was the site, although the site was next to the road the traffic noise wasn't a concern, we will definitely be visiting this site again.

tom1308

Campervanner

Reviewed on 19/08/2020 14:53

1 review

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer