Brecon Beacons Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

A friendly site

This was a short notice change of plans for us, we had booked another site but at the last minute, things changed. So has the last-minute change we decided on this site and I read the reviews thought to give it a go close to home for us. When we arrived the wardens were very friendly and polite told us every we needed to know. During the stay, I use the camp shop and Kirsty the shop supervisor, was very customer service person/friendy. The site is clean and tidy as per usual with all the club site standards. No issues with any of the things on site. Road noise yes there is but the site is on high ground near to 3 main roads what do expect, if the site was lower than the roads then I expect there would be no ROAD Noise. Overall a well run and friendly place to stay in Beacon Beacons.

the family pru

Caravanner

Reviewed on 10/08/2019 10:48

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

First time visit

This is a lovely site with excellent pitches, clean and warm toilets and great showers. The staff made us feel very welcome and genuinely seemed happy for us to be here. We stayed for three nights in August and had a lovely walk into Breacon along the canal where many barges were moored. The village itself is interesting and well worth the visit. We also visited the country show which was great. If you are going to the Three Horseshoe Inn for a meal remember to book in advance as you can wait a couple of hours for a table especially at the weekends. It is on the expensive side so if it is pub grub you want Breacon is the better option. The noise from the adjacent motorway can be very loud at times especially from the numerous motorbikes which pass by but we did not find it spoiled our stay to this great site. The other visitors to site around us were very friendly (mostly Welsh) and me being Scottish talked for hours. Yes a very friendly site with great staff and good facilities. We will be back.

Domdart

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 09/08/2019 10:18

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great site, shame about the dogs.

We have visited this site on numerous occasions and have always been really pleased to see how well kept the site is and remark that the staff are always excellent.The site is ideally located for a nice walk into the town of Brecon which is a nice place to visit. I know some reviewers have mentioned the road noise ( it is adjacent to a main route) but there is nothing the site can do to influence that and we don;t find it a great issue. Recent trip in first week of August was excellent, good weather , Brecon show was on which we visited and time spent relaxing in town with a beer and a meal.It was also really nice to see the young children playing so happily on the site. The only downside to this trip was when trying to relax on site, spoilt only by the sound of barking dogs from all angles! Not the odd one but loads of them. And sorry to be miserable about it but it does appear to be an increasing issue on sites in general, some dog owners appear to enjoy the sound of their dogs barking, those dogs that I noticed tied up outside on a pitch whilst owners were inside the unit were left to continue without any apparent effort to quieten them. We appreciate it is a choice to be a dog lover and take them on holiday with you but please consider others around you who do not wish to hear dogs barking all day .

442 boy

Reviewed on 08/08/2019 07:26

2 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Best site of our summer tour!

A super site! As we pulled into the site it was clear to see just how immaculately and well kept the site was....grass neatly mowed and no stones trailing form the hard standings and flowers in full bloom! We entered reception to a very warm and friendly greeting from the staff. They checked us in and also offered advice on how to make them best of our stay. Just behind was a very well stocked site shop offering provisions, accessories and of course a very good selection of wine and beers! There is also a very good canal walk into Brecon which is a lovely little town with family run shops and also a few bigger high street names. A nice mix. Overall we had the most lovely stay and we would highly recommend.

Atbpefamily

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 07/08/2019 12:19

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great site

We stayed on this site for 3 nights & had a great time. The wardens were friendly & very helpful. The pitches are very spacious. The amenity blocks seemed quite new & were spotless. The Three Horseshoes pub is short walk away & the food is to die for. The walk along the canal to Brecon was very pleasant. We also walked to the aqueduct. We enjoyed our stay so much that we've booked to go back in a few weeks time!

RegnBean

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 04/08/2019 18:02

11 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellent caravan park

Stayed 6 nights on a fully serviced pitch at the beginning of July and enjoyed the whole experience. Staff war friendly, one warden had on started at Brecon only 4 days prior to our arrival was very knowledgeable and helpful. Would agree about the motorbike noise but this is outwith the site's control. Brecon and the surrounding district is well worth a visit and would recommend a visit to Penderyn Distillery. The road to it over the hills is well worth the trip - just be careful of the sheep! Also worth a visit is Trago at Merthyr.

Chris2512

Reviewed on 29/07/2019 16:16

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Spacious Site

Visited this site for 3 nights in our motorhome. Unfortunately on our arrival we were met with a very frosty female at reception, not a good start to our visit. Thankfully the other wardens were very friendly. The site has 2 very large toilet blocks that are kept spotless. Grounds of the site are well kept and tidy. We arrived on a Sunday and as others have said the noise of motorbikes on road outside the site site were very noisy but after that traffic seemed to quieten down. Our main problem was that we have a very sensitive dog who hates fireworks and there is an Infantry Firing Range close by. This started every week day at 830 and lasted a few hours. Wasn't great for our dog, obviously nothing the site can do but just a warning to others with dogs. Lovely walk along the canal to Brecon where there are various good walks. Plenty shops, cafes and pubs in Brecon. Some very dog friendly places. There is an Aldi and Morrisons for any supplies you might need.

Rickylongstone

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 20/07/2019 13:59

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Lovely site, but a couple of areas for improvement

Stayed for 2 nights in early July. The noise from motorbikes on the adjacent A40 is pervasive and annoying, and seems to be a feature of this road across Wales. This is out of control of the Club, but worth bearing in mind. Staff are at times quite institutionalised and could make the whole experience more friendly, remembering that it is intended to be a leisure facility! Washrooms clean and well maintained, good shop and good situation. Usual issue with dogs, extending leads, and also the evening cycle race round the path, but these are a feature of many club sites now, which can only be improved by more consideration for other site users.

westgarth

Reviewed on 17/07/2019 10:29

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Good pitches - Some road noise - Great canal path for walking/cycling

We stayed here for 3 nights at the start of July 2019. Having read previous reviews we were wary of a warden without interpersonal skills. However, in our experience either these reports are wrong or that person has left the site. The wardens were all good humoured and helpful. The site itself was very clean and tidy. The toilet/shower block looked brand new and sparkled. Location is very good, and access to an excellent canal path whilst not without issues is not difficult. You have to cross two dual carriageways which at peak periods will be busy, but at other times does not pose too much difficulty. Pitches are of a good size and well spaced. We did not need levelling ramps - always a bonus. Others have mentioned road noise, and it is clear that being on the junction of two main roads will cause some road noise to be present. This noise is not intrusive. However, a few of the local motor cycle enthusiasts do use the road as a racetrack in the evening and this noise can be annoying but never lasts long. There is nothing that the site can do about it. There is a well equipped shop on site, selling basic groceries, sweet, papers, magazines, ice cream, drinks and camping accessories. A short walk into Brecon will give you access to several pubs and a few eateries. A great stay, helped by good weather.

Scilly Boy

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 10/07/2019 18:07

6 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Lovely Site in a Lovely Location

We had a three night stay in our Motorhome. It would have been a five night stay but Saturday was fully booked out. The staff were friendly and quite helpful but as they were only 'stand-in staff' they couldn't tell us if there was any mobile catering due to come on site during our stay. The pitches offered were grass or hardstanding. The whole area is extremely well maintained and all public buildings (eg shower blocks) were clean, well maintained and excellently appointed. There is a nice, one and a half mile, canal tow-path walk into brecon town. There is also a lovely pub (The Three Horseshoes), serving nice food, just a 10/15 mins walk from the site. There is a small, unavoidable, irritation: because the site is so green and lush, with loads of hedges marking internal and external boundaries the maintenance of this greenery results in the frequent use of very noisy petrol hedge trimmers, leaf blowers, tractor grass mowers etc.

BTB

Caravanner

Reviewed on 09/07/2019 13:14

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer