Crystal Palace Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Excellent on all fronts

Have just stayed for 3 nights. Wardens were all very friendly and helpful. Good Covid rules, only 4 people allowed in the toilet/shower block at any 1 time. Showers not in use. Hand sanitising stations dotted around the site. Site very clean, and rural considering it is so close to Central London. Will be sorry to see it closed next year.

tstaff

Caravanner

Reviewed on 05/05/2021 18:50

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

A Gem of Tranquility

What a lovely little site! Set in a busy part of London, nestling in woodland right beneath the massive BBC mast, you’d be forgiven for thinking you were in a rural part of Dorset. I was originally booked in for two nights but liked it so much that I stayed for a further night and would have stayed longer if I could. The facilities are excellent and it must be one of the quietest sites I have ever stayed on with no intrusion form London traffic. Of course location is key and here it scores highly on all fronts. The Crystal Palace Park is excellent, albeit rather busy when I was there thanks to the late September heatwave and there is no end of cycling and even walking opportunities. The lovely Dulwich Village is only about 2 miles away and there is an excellent park there. I didn’t use any public transport but I understand that a bus goes from just outside the camp all the way to the centre of London. The only slight downside of the site, which is not the fault of the site owners is that access is a little tricky, towing a caravan through busy London streets being a bit daunting. I had a much better return journey though, as I ignored Google’s attempts to save journey time by using side streets (invariably having enormous road humps and 20 mph speed limits) and kept to main roads a safer as possible. The icing on the cake is that the site fees are extremely reasonable. I only paid £16 a night which must make it the cheapest overnight accommodation anywhere in London!

Alanicus

Caravanner

Reviewed on 24/09/2020 07:12

6 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great couple

Stayed at the site drove up from centenary site new forest impressed with location and site its self but what made it for us was the couple running the site always friendly always smiling always helpful if all the other members of staff at the other sites were like this pair it would be a great improvement for the club well done you two

sean cobley

Reviewed on 19/09/2020 16:05

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Check your Registration Number for Low Emission Zone Charges before you Book

We stayed over the bank holiday weekend in our Mobilvetta Motorhome. The site was lovely. Considering it was in London, it was quiet and well landscaped. We walked into Central London, about 7.5 miles and discovered some lovely places because of this. The only thing that spoiled our stay was that we were charged £100 per day Low Emission Charge by the Mayor of London and it runs midnight to midnight. Depending on vehicle size the charge can be up to £250 per day. We weren't aware of this before we arrived as it is not prominently displayed on the website. You can check your motorhome registration prior to booking to see if you qualify at... https://tfl.gov.uk/modes/driving/low-emission-zone/check-if-your-vehicle-is-affected Because of this unexpected expense we will not be staying again. This is an unfortunate downside for the site and must effect their business. In reflection, it would have been cheaper for us to book into a hotel in the centre. We live and learn

MahcE

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 07/09/2020 11:35

1 review

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Excellent for post-lockdown stay

Stayed at Crystal Palace for 5 nights immediately following re-opening on July 4th. Usual warm welcome, the contactless check in worked fine. Really pleased to see that appropriate distancing measures have been implemented in the facilities block - and all guests appeared to be keeping to the simple rules as explained verbally and in writing. Absolutely no worries about visiting again during the Virus restrictions. Thanks again to the CP Staff for a job well done.

boxerjack

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 17/07/2020 19:48

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Good location, great site staff with lots to do.

Good location, great site staff with lots to do. As well as the obvious central London attractions we enjoyed the following which are not too far from the site:- - Bridge House Theatre, High Street, Penge - The Poodle Comedy Club, Sydenham Road Check their websites, we all have different tastes when it comes to theatre and comedy, but we enjoyed both. Thanks to all the jolly site staff for keeping the place clean and organised, particularly all the information on how to get to places in London.

ukfamilyrobinson

Caravanner

Reviewed on 30/10/2019 10:04

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Under the Mast

Our first experience of a Caravan Club site left us highly impressed. We needed somewhere accessible to the Tower of London where we were involved in a Tudor Recreation. The site was perfect. Good transport links, excellent shower and toilet block, friendly and helpful staff. The mast in the park lit up at night was stunning. Would urge Lewisham Council to reconsider its plans and allow this site to continue. London needs facilities like this to cater for campers and caravanners.

TomDiccon

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 04/10/2019 15:18

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Fantastic staff

Just stayed for a few nights and sadly clashed with music festival in the park. Noisy!! However, I must praise the 4 wardens who work incredibly well under extreme circumstances with little or no support. All credit to them as should have be paid danger money. Great job PS we are assured this was a one off event so great base for central London

simonwilsonjersey

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 03/09/2019 18:54

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

What a trip!!!

Had a great time in London Took the train in daily to London Bridge and saw the sites. We walked our feet off! Busy site, met lots of people from around Europe. Crystal Palace park good for cycling Shops nearby, and some ice places to eat. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

craigndi

Reviewed on 30/08/2019 18:18

14 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellent Stay

A really pleasant two night stay at the Crystal Palace Site.

MikePQC

Caravanner

Reviewed on 13/08/2019 17:03

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer