Crystal Palace Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Sanctuary in the city

Amazing hideaway, great location for bus route into the city, pitches all very clean and tidy, facilities clean , everything has been carefully thought out. Welcomed by both wardens who work tirelessly to maintain this site. I read some negative reviews about this site but i didn't encounter any issues only help where it was needed.

ScreenName9B6D3343FB

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 16/07/2023 09:24

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Brilliant Location

We had a great stay here - being well connected by public transport to London as well as being handy for Crystal Palace Park. Facilities were absolutely fine and wardens friendly. We will certainly return!

Bramley 1966

Campervanner

Reviewed on 12/07/2023 15:58

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

nice site.... must have caught staff on a bad day....

Third time of staying at Crystal Palace and have been very happy with the experience. Facilities are good and the location is excellent for getting anywhere in London; this is especially useful for me as I regularly have to go for treatment at Kings College Hospital, which without fail always seems to coincide with industrial action on the railways (I live in Kent). It would be nice to have more availability to book pitches with an awning (never seems to be an available option when I've booked on line) but when I'm travelling without my wife it is not too much of an inconvenience. This being my third visit in as many months I was looking forward to setting up, putting the kettle on and relaxing. However this visit, despite being greeted by the same members of staff, there seemed to be a problem with my van.... I felt that the ensuing conversation was way less than congenial or helpful, bordering on hostile at times. The crux of the matter, after consulting rule books, was that my van did not have a vent, open windows not being appropriate, despite stating, after being asked, that cooking was done on a gas barbecue so clearly outside. Unless I had some form of lethal flatulence I couldn't see why open windows were not adequate. There were several other vans on site without vents so I like to think that there was consistency and they were "told off" too. I have stayed at other sites with the club and have never encountered this problem before, including my two previous visits to this site. I was left in no doubt that I would not be welcome at this site again. Perhaps I just had the misfortune to come on a 'bad day'. If so, my advice would be don't take it out on the customers; a couple of other campers I spoke to about this had said that they had found the reception , and I quote, "snotty" and "prickly" Anyway... love the club and the sites...

rossivanda

Campervanner

Reviewed on 12/06/2023 13:33

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Lovely site very close to London

This is a lovely site, only 15 mins on the train from London. The site is very green, and the parakeets that fly around are a joy, but quite noisy when they wake up first thing in the morning. There is a resident fox who is very confident walking between all the caravans, though I imagine he can be trouble if any bin bags are left exposed. The toilet block is clean and large enough that there were no queues at all. We walked to the train station at Sydenham Hill, which was a 15 min brisk walk (all down hill going, but all up hill coming back) and then caught the train to London, which was about 15 mins, so getting to the centre of London was about 30 mins in total. It is a shame this site might be closing next year as we really enjoyed the stay. The staff were incredibly helpful explaining the route to London and the local shops when needed.

JoBennett

Reviewed on 16/05/2023 10:22

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Brilliant access to London

We've stayed here before and find it an ideal starting off point for trips into Central London. The bus journey is about an hour each way, but the No 3 isn't generally too crowded and it's a good way to view the suburbs as well as unwinding at the end of a day in town. We haven't used the local shops, but they aren't far.... and we aren't able to judge whether this is a good site for families. During a "quiet day" we strolled to the Horniman Museum along the Green Chain walk and were surprised by the delightful path (and the chance to get a bus back up the hill!) The reception team were both welcoming and helpful with practical matters (there was a bus strike on during our visit). Our only regret is the uncertainty about the future of this site. It's a valuable assset for the club. We do hope the local council can be persuaded to continuue to make it available.

MandSExeter

Reviewed on 19/02/2023 19:31

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Snowy December stay

What a brilliant site! I cannot comprehend the rationale behind the Council/Crystal Palace Trust’s plans to close this site to build houses 😡. The site is an asset to the club and to London. There are so few opportunities to visit London with a motorhome or caravan, but Crystal Palace ticks every box. It is an excellent site, reasonably priced , extremely well managed and there are multiple options for transportation into the centre of town.The site itself has plenty of space, beautiful mature trees, and the historic Crystal Palace park and athletics’ stadium is just the other side of the fence, so no shortage of walks or runs and dogs are very welcome. There is also a lovely little fenced and gated dog walk area in the site itself. If you don’t want to head into town just turn left out of the site and there are shops, restos and bars within a few minutes walk. I would highly recommend a visit to Crystal Palace. And to the people who are deciding the future of the site- PLEASE consider how valuable it is to offer a city site to the growing numbers of caravanners and campervanners. Not everyone wants to stay in a hotel in central London. Thank you. Barbara

babsy6429

Reviewed on 18/12/2022 18:23

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Above and beyond

Just returned from a brilliant stay in London that began with a nightmare journey. We were due to arrive on Wednesday night and we left in plenty of time to arrive by the 8pm cut off time or so we thought. A fire closed the M1 and we were diverted onto the A14 and A1. A phone call from the site put us at ease when he told us that he would stay open longer. Then an accident on the A1 saw us stationary for two hours. Stressing, we rang the site and was told by Andy that we could ring the bell when we arrived and he would be there to sort us out which took all the stress out of it. We arrived at the site at 9.45pm and before our wheels had stopped turning Andy was there allowing us to pitch on the site as there were still people waiting to arrive! The no 3 bus was used to go into Central London dropping us off conveniently near the Houses of Parliament with visits to Buckingham Palace, St Paul's Cathedral and a West End Show. We used the car to visit Kew Gardens and Hampton Court Palace avoiding the ULEZ. Looking forward to using the site again if it remains open. A great few days after a nightmare start. made easier by the brilliant staff.

catty247

Caravanner

Reviewed on 29/08/2022 17:40

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Our third Visit

We love this site, not only because it gives great access to Central London, but also because it's a short bus ride to our son's house. The site occupies the top corner of the huge Crystal Palace Park with the remnants of the 1851 Great Exhibition and the Dinosaur Park. So it's great for walking the dog and just chilling. We were lucky to arrive on the night of the Festival and were treated to a fantastic live music concert (finished promptly at 10.30), playing below the site. Very welcoming and friendly staff and a brilliant floral display at Reception (I hope you won the competition!).

ScreenName5352FFC2B2

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 05/08/2022 19:03

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer