Crystal Palace Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

London on a budget

Crystal Palace is an excellent site with the wardens providing a host of information to make your visit to London worthwhile.  There are many pubs and restaurants in the vicinity and bus communications with the rest of London are excellent.  If I have a gripe it is the hardness of the hard standing but that is not confined to this site.  All in all an excellent site for visiting LOndon, especially if on a budget.

mroliver

Caravanner

Reviewed on 01/08/2015 09:18

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

London visit

An excellent stay as usual.  I am a woman travelling alone in my motorhome, and always feel completely safe at this site although I am in the middle of a city. Hop on a bus right by the site and you can be anywhere in the city.  The park abuts the site and is a great place to spend a day if you just want to chill out. perfect for dog owners.  Lovely to have big space for dogs to run in. 

Elizabeth Jones

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 25/07/2015 19:50

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

One of the best!

We stay on this site with our motorhome at least 3 or 4 times a year and think it is fantastic. The location, for a visit to central London is perfect, with easy access to the city via bus or train. The site is very well looked after and the washrooms are always immaculate. The wardens are always very pleasant and helpful, and on this visit they excelled. We were unfortunate to have a slow puncture, and the warden couldn't have been more helpful -  likewise the guy at the garage where the problem was eventually sorted ( we left details with the warden for future reference ). Can't praise this site highly enough!

JoMac Mclelland

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 22/07/2015 20:35

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

An oasis in london

Had a weeks stay there in june,a lovely little site within the hustle and bustle of outer london.good helpfull wardens nicely laid out ,good clean facilities.Acess into london very easy no 3 bus just outside of the site,or a gentle 15 minute walk through crystal palace park gets you to the station,5 or 6 stops to victoria mainline.Most prefer the bus at only£1.50 all the way into central london,if we visit london again will definately stay here again . Doreen and Paul.

broughty333

Reviewed on 28/06/2015 20:19

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Very handy for a visit to London

We received a very warm welcome and all the facilities and travel options were explained very clearly.  We stayed for 4 nights on a non-awning pitch but there was plenty of space to use our wind-out awning on our MH. A great location, you hardly realise you are just a short distance from central London.

JimE

Motorhomer from Suffolk

Reviewed on 21/04/2015 17:24

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great site-even better location

Well looked after site in the best possible location to explore a world treasure-London of course! Always pleased not to live in London but to visit and avail yourself of the fantastic attractions is unparalleled. As others have said just take a contactless card per person-including children for stress free travel it works very well and is cheap. The bus is convenient but unsurprisingly a little slow however the train from C Palace is clean and quick. Speaking of clean-I've never seen London so tidy-well done to all involved. Visited the Shard which was bit pricey at £25 ea. with advanced booking, but the view.....wonderful and no rush while you are up there. Hope this site continues and doesn't get developed into a housing estate as is possible.

southwold

Caravanner

Reviewed on 16/04/2015 20:22

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Good location

We are in the 'fortunate' position of being of an age where we have the benefit of free bus travel. There last week and the weather was pretty good. Sited at the base of the BBC transmitter mast and could get all channels apart from BBC! Used the car for trips to the National Archives,Windsor Castle and Runneymede. Then buses daily for trips to City Centre, Science Museum, Kew Steam Museum, London Transport Museum and Cutty Sark, Greenwich. You can make 12mph in the car (but where to park?) or 8mph on the bus and see the sights from the upper deck. Useful apps for your iPad or Android have bus routes, street maps and Tube services. Crystal Palace is a great caravan club site with helpful wardens. That's worrying news about redevelopment.(Bristol, Baltic Wharf too apparently). DaveK. Wirral.

DaveKWirral

Caravanner

Reviewed on 02/04/2015 10:03

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A perfect site for London, DO NOT USE OYSTER CARDS

This site was perfect for a trip to London. We have been to London on lots of occasions in hotels and though we would try this, and we will not be using hotels anymore. This site was perfect for our days out, the No 3 bus just outside was brilliant, a regular service all through the day and evening, it travels all the way to Piccadilly Circus, Regents St, so perfect for the heart of London. It stops by the Oval underground station, and Lambeth North at the Imperial War Museum, which opens you up for the rest of the underground services. NOW THE IMPORTANT PART. The staff where brilliant with the information on travelling around London,  to that end I would highly recommend NOT buying an Oyster card, as this will cost you £5 per card before you even consider loading it up with credit. The question is how much do you load it up with, the dilemma my wife and I had. A very easy solution.....If you have a contactless debit or credit card then just use that. We did and we flew threw all stations and on and off the buses. I checked my account when we got home and the most we got charged for a day of travelling was £6:40. They debited my account with a total of the day rather than each individual trip. This information isn't mentioned on this sites web page and it should be!!!!!! We will definitly be stopping here again and using our contactless debit cards, we had a brilliant week. We did here a rumour, that this site is closing..............We hope it doesn't............. 

Mikekarolwafu

Motorhomer from Devon

Reviewed on 28/03/2015 15:10

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Crystal Palace

Wonderful Site Location for London Traveling to the city by Bus ( Bus Pass ) Great Weekend. Very helpful staff Good facilities.

Pengwerne

Reviewed on 26/03/2015 10:24

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

A Superb site for seeing London and not having to use your own vehicle

Once again had the pleasure of staying on this delightful site and so close and so easy to get into central London Leave the site cross the road and catch the No 3 Bus, what could be better. Also would like to say what marvellous wardens together with there assistants, could not help and assist you enough, in fact We had to have a new battery whilst on site, they not only took delivery for us but fitted it onto our caravan, what a team they are. Hope to stay on this delightful site again later in the year

maxdec17

Caravanner

Reviewed on 25/03/2015 19:28

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer