Crystal Palace Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Convenient for London

very friendly and helpful staff. We stayed just 1 night on the grass pitch. They have hard standing too. Large site but quite private. A 10-12 minute walk through the crystal palace park get you to the overground trains. To Covent garden is a 55 min journey. Uber to the campsite is £30-35. Hopefully this site stays open for longer

menon

Reviewed on 05/06/2019 10:33

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Half Term Break

We've recently returned from an 8-night stay at the site and thoroughly recommend it. We last stayed some 6-7 years ago and the site is as beautiful as ever with friendly, helpful wardens to guide you on your way. It's an ideal base for exploring London with the No.3 bus on the doorstep taking you directly to Trafalgar Square, with other bus and train services enabling you to easily access other parts of the capital - day and night. Whilst we there, we took the opportunity to visit every location on the London Monopoly board to see the hidden side of the capital, as well as experience the sights and sounds of Greenwich, Primrose Hill and Camden, Spitalfield and Borough markets and a West End show! Returning back to the site on an evening, you escape from the hussle and bussle of the city to a mini oasis, patrolled by a local urban fox and on our pitch, a equally confident raven. It's a real shame the site is currently under threat of closure and trust this decision can be reversed so that it can be enjoyed by many more people in future years. Crystal Palace site is a real gem in the CMC site portfolio and credit to the wardens for keeping it in such great shape. Steve R

GlampersRUs

Reviewed on 05/06/2019 10:07

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

A good site suiting its purpose

I enjoyed a five night stay here taking in the spring bank holiday weekend. The wardens were lovely and very kind in giving assistance and information, including good advice about a problem I had with my motorhome engine, which thankfully was resolved after a call to the AA. The site is pleasant enough if somewhat dark and confined and a bit cramped in parts – but one would expect that for a site inside Greater London. It is of an age that gives it a somewhat careworn appearance, but, as continually under threat, one cannot criticise the club for being careful about money spent here. The toilet block was perfectly sound but, once or twice, mid-afternoon, it was unusually dirty and messy, no doubt due to thoughtless users rather than any negligence over cleaning. Indeed, the conduct of some patrons here left a bit to be desired. Loud music, late night chatting, and more than the usual comings and goings, at all hours! An urban site – convenient as a place to stay rather than being there for the site’s sake – is possibly the reason or perhaps I was just unlucky. There are lots of sources of noise apart from people! Traffic, obviously; aircraft circling overhead before going into Heathrow; a shrill morning chorus in the large and abundant trees around the site. None of this much of a bother to me – if anything the birds were the most intrusive (but that’s not a complaint)! Those easily upset by traffic need to get as far down the site from reception as possible. However, this can be tricky as pitches are allocated here - not sure why, but maybe as the site is confined and a long queue could be an issue. There are good pitches and not so good pitches on any site and that is certainly true here; so, if I arrived when there was a choice, I would be unhappy with a duff pitch. Anyway, as it happened, I had a good pitch, so I was alright Jack! The site is good for access to London; the recommended No. 3 bus is an interesting, if tedious, journey. I preferred the train (even though I have a bus pass) and it is an easy walk to Crystal Palace station – or a bit further to Penge West. Comparisons are often made with Abbey Wood; Crystal Palace has the benefit of the park, and is nearer to central London, but otherwise my vote is for Abbey Wood which is a much bigger less claustrophobic place to be, has quick access to London from Abbey Wood station, just ten minutes walk, is quieter, despite the proximity of London City Airport, is much less stressful to reach from the M25 and has plenty of places to visit in the area apart from central London itself. For Crystal Palace I left the M25 at the M4 and then the south circular from Chiswick and this took two hours from leaving the M25 (at about 11 am)! Still, an enjoyable and happy stay.

Graydjames

Motorhomer from Leicestershire

Reviewed on 29/05/2019 11:03

40 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Cracking site

Yes the facilities are older, but beautifully clean. Staff all work very hard around the site, but always with a willing smile and cheery chat. It’s perfect to visit London and also Greenwich. Super walk round the Crystal Palace Park behind site too. Thanks everyone for a great stay.

Burtie Bassett

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 28/05/2019 17:40

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Avoid grass pitches adjacent reception area, because 24 noise from busy roads

Just spent 2 nights on Pitch 13. Little sleep because 24 hours main road noise. Also have cars/vans arriving and leaving either side of this pitch area (pitches 7-16). In a VW campervan, the club needs to recognise that occupants essentially sleep in a canvas tent in the roof area, so no sound insulation....probably better to park caravans or motorhomes here instead because they will have some sound insulation. Otherwise, site staff are very friendly and helpful, site is clean and tidy, and location is perfect for ventures in to London. Yes will stay here again, but will need to be assured of being allocated a pitch away from reception and the road.

StaffsAl

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 12/05/2019 10:34

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Wonderful Stay

We have just returned from a wonderful stay at this site, it has one of the best locations in the club, as well as the best Wardens, being so close to the center of London. The site is up to and beyond the club expectations being spotlessly clean in all areas and despite being in the middle of London it is strangely very quiet when you need it to be at night. With the buses right on your doorstep you can virtually get to any London sightseeing area within an hour. The adjacent park is a must for a visit and if you happen to be on site when the little museum is open that is well worth a visit. If you are like us, retired, the bus passes will certainly save you loads of money and you will find a very well stocked information office next to reception. If you intend to eat out, as we did, and live on a budget, as we do, the local Wetherspoons will not disappoint and there a quite a few about just check on the website for one in the area you are visiting that day. We shall be returning to the site quite a few times in the future as we also enjoy going to the theater (See the ticket office in Leicester Square) and are looking forward to going round the various museums. All in all a very good weeks holiday and where else can you have a week in London for 2 at the price of the site fees.?? Lets hope the local council and the club can come to future agreements so the site can remain open Looking forward to the next visit.

Bumblebee53

Reviewed on 02/04/2019 14:30

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Another excellent stay at Crystal Palace

We have stayed here many times. As mentioned by other people it is an excellent site from which to visit London. The number 3 bus leaves from a stop 100 yards from the site entrance and that takes you straight to Trafalgar Square passing Brixton and the Imperial War Museum. We use our bus passes for the buses and this time we also used our Oyster Cards to go to Chiswick on the train via Clapham Junction. Very friendly staff and the site and facilities are very clean and tidy. Hopefully an extension to the lease will be given. An enjoyable stay!

pault

Motorhomer from Dorset

Reviewed on 13/03/2019 08:59

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Simple site for visiting London

This is a difficult site to review as it has a whole different reason for existing. This site is all about its close proximity to central London and the ease of visiting everything that the great city holds. Transport links are fantastic with a Bus Station a few minutes walk away and a Train Station about 15 minutes walk. From those two you can get to all corners of London with regularity that any other City would love to have. Crystal Palace park is great for wandering and the Prehistoric monsters are unique. Facilities in the park are great for all. There are good shops nearby for stocking up. The site itself is best described as basic. It has all of the facilities that are required, EHU, Toilet/Shower block along with the essential water/waste facilities. There is no grass and awning erection would be difficult. Pitches are smaller than average. None of this is important as not about relaxing holidays. I just hope that the Club manage to get a decent extension to their lease (A trick missed years ago when it was offered.

GerryDavey

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 03/03/2019 18:28

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

City site

This is an ideal site for visiting London. Whilst i have only given it 3 stars for families, it is an ideal base for families visiting London. It is situated adjacent to Crystal Palace Park and is within walking distance of Crystal Palace triangle (with wonderful views over the city from Gipsy Hill). It is a very peaceful site considering the close proximity of the busy roads. There is a Shell petrol station 100yds from site, 2 railway stations relatively close by (Crystal Palace and Sydenham) and very regular bus services. For people who like to explore on foot, there is good signage for the Green Chain route.

Jean1103

Reviewed on 07/01/2019 08:55

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Please work hard to keep this site open

Brilliant Site for visiting London, little noisy from the Crystal Palace Transmitter. But good location, Local council clearly do not appreciate amount of money put into local economy.

Gadget47

Caravanner from Gloucestershire

Reviewed on 12/12/2018 16:41

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer