Crystal Palace Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

This site must be saved.

This site is unique being one of only 2 in london within easy distance of the city The staff are the most helpfull you can want for. Somthing must be done in the next year to save this site from being built on. London needs this amazing asset not more sad eyesore flats or homes for the rich.

paul and heidi

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 28/11/2018 18:59

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Gem for London

Booked this site for 2 nights as we had an appointment in London. What a diamond of a site. The staff are very welcoming and friendly. The site is well laid out, clean and surprisingly quiet considering this is the suburbs of London. Most of the faq's are on a sheet provided when you book in ( well organised or what?).Pitches are fairly level. Getting into London was easy using Crystal Palace station. Shops and takeaways were only a short walk away. Crystal Palace park was only a few minutes walk away, and you could see the stone dinosaurs. Driving to the site through London was slightly nerve racking. Something to watch out for is that the site is in a low emission zone, which affects older motorhomes, and not cars/ caravans. On 8th April 2019 this will be changing to an ultra low emission zone, which will affect cars, so do check before you travel to avoid the rather heavy fine. This will catch out lots of caravanners, if you are not used to coming to London. Otherwise a perfect site for visiting London.

Maudie57

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 24/11/2018 03:12

10 reviews

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Always a pleasure to stay at Crystal Palace

I went to Crystal Palace for a last, pre-closure visit only to find when I read the C&MC magazine, a stay of executions had been granted. Good! The site is popular, well located and is an excellent choice of venue foir visiting London. It's not perfect though.....the approach from the major arteries is tortuous, tedious and at times very, very frustrating. The South Circular Road is a joke and sign posting is sometimes confusing; also it is invariably choked with traffic and there is more pressure on drivers to keep up with the flow of traffic. Generally the site is reasonably quiet given its position but there is inevitably some background noise, such as wailing sirens in the early hours of the morning and on this occasion - as during other visits - I have been disturbed by workmen staying on the site and going to work very early in the morning/returning late at night. On this visit I was awakened at 3.30am by the sliding door on a VW camper being opened and closed several times. There was another worker who rode off on a noisy moped very early and returned late. I was a bit frustrated by the inability to obtain gas on site because the wardens were due to change over because it is not easy in London to pop along to a nearby garden centre with all the attendant problems of finding it, parking and so on. Despite my misgivings, I like the site and as I have no family with me to please, the convenience, location and price suit me when making one of my periodic visits to catch up with old friends. The shower blocks are well overdue for refurbishment but obviously with its uncertain future this will never happen and as I am an early riser I always beat the rush, however, the pipework was making alarming noises when the hot tap was turned on, so prepare to be startled.

quicksilver15

Reviewed on 20/11/2018 08:43

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellent stay

A very comfortable and enjoyable stay at Crystal Palace. Friendly, informative greeting on arrival and cheerful stay throughout our stay. Facilities clean and warm; pitch hardstanding with ample space and pleasant outlook. Lovely situation surrounded by trees and surprisingly quiet, lacking traffic noise, at night. Number 3 bus into the centre of London couldn't have been more convenient from outside the site and the train from CP station about 20 minutes walk away. 10-15 minute walk into Crystal Palace centre with many shops and places to eat and drink. Wonderful walks in Crystal Palace park and further into local areas. Very much enjoyed and will definitely return.

SnB Everett

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 19/11/2018 16:48

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Great site for visiting London.

Very handy ,(especially if you have Bus Pass;) for all the major attractions. No 3 bus direct to Trafalgar Sq for Theatres, Covent Garden etc. Second visit and will come again.

delboy84

Reviewed on 15/11/2018 17:46

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great Weekend

Had a great stay on this site. Staff very helpful and friendly. Perfect for visiting London on the bus with our bus passes!!

IT trainer

Caravanner

Reviewed on 04/11/2018 20:56

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Another excellent stay at Crystal Palace

This is the 4th or 5th time we have stayed here. Friendly welcome from both the wardens in the office. Very informative too and eager to tell us that the lease on the site has been extended to next December. Long may it go on as it is an excellent site for visiting and exploring London. This time we also went to Richmond for the day using the rail network (Crystal Palace to Richmond via Clapham Junction). All facilities very clean although dated. We have already booked two visits for 2019

pault

Motorhomer from Dorset

Reviewed on 23/10/2018 12:06

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Very tight

Arrived on time and having read a previous reviewer- that the reception staff were hostile and rude, I asked with trepidation about the disabled facilities. I could not have been more wrong. Without asking the lovely lady warden changed my allocated pitch to ensure that we were by the sanitaire. Was warm and welcoming and faultless. I can understand why some might have found her ‘blunt’ but that was her way. Very lovely couple running the sight and couldn’t have been more helpful. The site itself seemed really cramped but I guess, with land being a premium, it’s going to be. Great travel advice & Great location and will definitely come again.

artyboo

Motorhomer from Kent

Reviewed on 19/10/2018 17:34

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great site for visiting London

Visited: October 2nd-8th. This was our second visit to Crystal Palace. We had so enjoyed our visit in September 2016 that we wanted to get another visit in before the site closed. We arrived on a Tuesday and stayed until the following Monday. The main reason for our visit was to see more of the sights of London. We were very pleased to see that the envelopes of public transport details were still in the information room and we took full advantage of them, travelling out each day using our bus passes. This time we were so busy travelling into London that we didn't visit Crystal Palace Park, a short walk from the site. We did last time and the place where the Crystal Palace once stood is most impressive. The site was just as we remembered it and we enjoyed waking up each morning to see the television mast looming over us - except when it was foggy. As always the site was very well kept and the wardens very pleasant and helpful. We are very pleased that this site has had a twelve month reprieve and have already booked a fortnight for this time next year,

Odette2000

Caravanner from Wiltshire

Reviewed on 16/10/2018 17:53

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Had better days

We have just got back from four days her the reception staff although efficient came across very abrupt, the site looked very tired with weeds growing on most pitches. The showers where not at there best would benefit a deep clean. On the up side good position to get in to central London and plenty of wildlife around be careful of the fox always on the look out for left out rubbish bags.

twem81

from Lancashire

Reviewed on 04/09/2018 18:34

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer