Moreton-in-Marsh Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Great Location but avoid the pitches by the main road

Second visit for us and generally love the site, but, we arrived late in the day and the only pitches left were by the road (we stayed on #76). If you stay in this area, you will probably hear the fairly constant traffic noise through the night, and we couldnt get any satellite or terrestrial TV due to the huge trees. A TV connection is provided on the service point, so if you dont mind a cable though your window, you can overcome that particular problem. We moved pitch the following morning, and found it really peaceful and quiet on the other side of the site, and got great TV reception too! Overall presentation of the site is improved from last time, facilities are generally clean and well maintained, and the other very negative reviews seem a little unfair to me. Staff were helpful and friendly in my experience. Not overkeen on the visiting curry van - moderate quality food, but expensive. Appreciate the offering, but a ten minute walk into town will find better alternatives.

PaulF1968

Motorhomer from Buckinghamshire

Reviewed on 04/01/2022 18:20

11 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

New year 2021

Having just returned from a wonderful week at this site. We have decided that we need to leave a review that is in contrast to the other review that has been left. Hopefully this will give a different perspective of the site at the same time. When we arrived we were made to feel very welcome by the wardens. We had an issue with our electric and they came and helped sort it straight away! The pitch we chose was not muddy or neglected at all. It rained more or less every night whilst we was there, and the pitch we was on was fine. Yes, if you went on the grass it was muddy due to all the rain, but given the time of year, this is not within the wardens control. There were Christmas lights on a lot of the vans and motorhomes with free standing sculptures - it was beautiful at night time to walk around it. On New Year’s Eve the wardens invited everyone to an outdoor, socially distanced, get together with mince pies, sweets, bubbles and wine. Those that attended all said that it was a great couple of hours and allowed them to meet other residents and exchange stories and knowledge. In fact the only down side to our trip was us witnessing a motorhome emptying its tanks directly onto the pitch rather than driving to the service area, but like everything in life there’s always 1 or 2 that let others down. We will be back again soon and highly recommend the site and it’s location. The town is a five minute walk from the site and nearly all shops and pubs are dog friendly :-)

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 1 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Run down shadow of a former beautiful favourite site. So sad.

We have been using this site for over 30 years. It was once a lovely site but is now a sad shadow of its former self. Pitches are run down with grass and mud over the most of the pitches. There are mud ruts either side of the roadway with no attempt to remedy them either. Some maintenance wouldn't go a miss. I feel that the site is so rundown pitch wise it is no longer worth the premiere rates charged by the club. Such a shame it's got to this but the club needs to buck it's ideas up with this this site. Our visit was also marred by a miserable warden who made us remove our Christmas lights from the fence at the rear of the van stating it was a fire risk. These are modern led lights that are low voltage and waterproof. The real Grinshill is alive and well here.

neilricho

Caravanner from Staffordshire

Reviewed on 31/12/2021 10:49

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Holiday

We recently stayed at this site for my husbands birthday. We had been before so knew we could walk into the town and it also has a great dog walk which our spaniel really enjoyed. The facilities were spotlessly clean and the great thing is both blocks are cleaned in the afternoon. Why can’t all sites do this. Makes much more sense. Some of the hard standing pitches really need to be sorted out. There was hardly any gravel on ours and as it rained most of the time we were there wasn’t great. The wardens we spoke to were really friendly and a lovely lady booked me in. We will definitely return

tazrustyrob

Caravanner

Reviewed on 13/12/2021 16:26

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Christmas Market

We haven't been here for a few years as we decided to try somewhere different for a year, then Covid happened so this was our first return following a few years. The downside was that we were only told that the market had been cancelled when we asked on arrival, it would have been nice to have been contacted to see if we wanted to change plans, they knew it was cancelled before 3pm. Although the weather was very cold and windy and we had some white stuff too! We ventured out for a walk into town and then to a garden centre about half a mile away which was very nice. In another review it says about road noise... yes there is some but it isn't bad enough to warrant a mention tbh. We will return next year hopefully the market will be here and if not a quick call would be appreciated.

Comment from the Club: 

Unfortunately, the market organisers did not advise the site team but the site team did contact the organisers as soon as this came to their attention, to confirm if the market had indeed been cancelled. Unfortunately, this site is very busy so it's not possible for the team to phone all new arrivals to advise them of situations/cancellations connected to events off site. They did however put up posters around the site as soon as this news was verified.

MP4

Reviewed on 27/11/2021 17:52

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Another Excellent Stay

We have used this site on several occasions over a number of years and have recently stayed for 6 nights. No problems with anything, reception staff very friendly and welcoming upon arrival, facilities clean and warm. My only grumble has nothing to do with the site staff but the other guests, the majority of which appear to need to go to Specsavers as they clearly could not read the signage on the facilities doors that asked them to wear masks whilst inside.

BigMomma

Reviewed on 09/11/2021 16:02

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Great 4 day winter beeak

We really enjoyed staying here. We arrived a little later than expected and the staff were really helpful and accommodating. Yes there is road noise but being so close to the lovely town and it’s shops and restaurants we couldn’t have expected anything else. If you want quiet then there are plenty of sites in the middle of nowhere to stay but then you have to travel to get to nice restaurants etc. We were in a motorhome and we had a great walk to the arboretum and then a short drive to Blenheim Palace. Great location and facilities. We will certainly be back in the spring.

Ronyag

Reviewed on 07/11/2021 11:51

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellent stay great location

Stayed 30/10 for 2 nights, I was really worried after reading recent posts about noise state of pitches staff being rude etc and I really had nothing to worry about. The site is in a fantastic location with easy walk into the village, all facilities are fantastic, staff couldn’t be more friendly or helpful, and the pitch we had (30) was large and flat with shingle. As for the noise I must be deaf because you couldn’t hear any noise from my pitch and I really tried to hear it. I definitely will be returning to visit more of this part of the country.

ScreenNameCA1D33DC38

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 03/11/2021 18:09

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Cracking weekend

I was a little worried about staying here after reading previous reviews but I can honestly say the staff were lovely & we certainly didn’t hear the road at night. We were on Pitch 3, which admittedly is away from the main road, this may be why we didn’t hear any traffic or perhaps we have very good soundproofing but my husband is a very light sleeper & tells me he slept like a baby. We did panic when we switched on the tv & couldn’t get any reception, the thought of having to talk to one another 😁.. The staff came to our rescue & soon sorted us out but fortunately for us, unfortunately for the guy opposite we had the last Coax cable… We did use the facilities & found them to be clean & acceptable… The only minor issue we had was the rain it absolutely threw it down which did cause a small flood, we did get our feet wet, (must remember the wellies next time)…. I’m so pleased we didn’t put the awing up unlike the guy next to… We definitely would return……

capturing memories

Caravanner

Reviewed on 03/11/2021 18:03

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Traffic noise is horrendous

The campsite is and nice clean with well kept modern facilities. A 10 minute walk into the very posh village of Moreton-in-Marsh which has good cafes, pubs and restaurants with quaint Cotswold stone buildings. Beware of the food venders that pitch for your custom at the entrance of the site; they charge an absolute fortune - £10 for a very underwhelming fish & chip supper! Finally, the road noise is horrendous and there is no escaping it regardless of you're pitched on the site. So if you want a relaxing break to de-stress, then I would avoid this site. In sum. This site is ideal for stopping off point if you're transiting through the area - thats my opinion anyway.

Happy as Larry

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 31/10/2021 17:45

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer