Moreton-in-Marsh Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Christmas Market

We haven't been here for a few years as we decided to try somewhere different for a year, then Covid happened so this was our first return following a few years. The downside was that we were only told that the market had been cancelled when we asked on arrival, it would have been nice to have been contacted to see if we wanted to change plans, they knew it was cancelled before 3pm. Although the weather was very cold and windy and we had some white stuff too! We ventured out for a walk into town and then to a garden centre about half a mile away which was very nice. In another review it says about road noise... yes there is some but it isn't bad enough to warrant a mention tbh. We will return next year hopefully the market will be here and if not a quick call would be appreciated.

Comment from the Club: 

Unfortunately, the market organisers did not advise the site team but the site team did contact the organisers as soon as this came to their attention, to confirm if the market had indeed been cancelled. Unfortunately, this site is very busy so it's not possible for the team to phone all new arrivals to advise them of situations/cancellations connected to events off site. They did however put up posters around the site as soon as this news was verified.

MP4

Reviewed on 27/11/2021 17:52

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Another Excellent Stay

We have used this site on several occasions over a number of years and have recently stayed for 6 nights. No problems with anything, reception staff very friendly and welcoming upon arrival, facilities clean and warm. My only grumble has nothing to do with the site staff but the other guests, the majority of which appear to need to go to Specsavers as they clearly could not read the signage on the facilities doors that asked them to wear masks whilst inside.

BigMomma

Reviewed on 09/11/2021 16:02

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Great 4 day winter beeak

We really enjoyed staying here. We arrived a little later than expected and the staff were really helpful and accommodating. Yes there is road noise but being so close to the lovely town and it’s shops and restaurants we couldn’t have expected anything else. If you want quiet then there are plenty of sites in the middle of nowhere to stay but then you have to travel to get to nice restaurants etc. We were in a motorhome and we had a great walk to the arboretum and then a short drive to Blenheim Palace. Great location and facilities. We will certainly be back in the spring.

Ronyag

Reviewed on 07/11/2021 11:51

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellent stay great location

Stayed 30/10 for 2 nights, I was really worried after reading recent posts about noise state of pitches staff being rude etc and I really had nothing to worry about. The site is in a fantastic location with easy walk into the village, all facilities are fantastic, staff couldn’t be more friendly or helpful, and the pitch we had (30) was large and flat with shingle. As for the noise I must be deaf because you couldn’t hear any noise from my pitch and I really tried to hear it. I definitely will be returning to visit more of this part of the country.

ScreenNameCA1D33DC38

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 03/11/2021 18:09

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Cracking weekend

I was a little worried about staying here after reading previous reviews but I can honestly say the staff were lovely & we certainly didn’t hear the road at night. We were on Pitch 3, which admittedly is away from the main road, this may be why we didn’t hear any traffic or perhaps we have very good soundproofing but my husband is a very light sleeper & tells me he slept like a baby. We did panic when we switched on the tv & couldn’t get any reception, the thought of having to talk to one another 😁.. The staff came to our rescue & soon sorted us out but fortunately for us, unfortunately for the guy opposite we had the last Coax cable… We did use the facilities & found them to be clean & acceptable… The only minor issue we had was the rain it absolutely threw it down which did cause a small flood, we did get our feet wet, (must remember the wellies next time)…. I’m so pleased we didn’t put the awing up unlike the guy next to… We definitely would return……

capturing memories

Caravanner

Reviewed on 03/11/2021 18:03

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Traffic noise is horrendous

The campsite is and nice clean with well kept modern facilities. A 10 minute walk into the very posh village of Moreton-in-Marsh which has good cafes, pubs and restaurants with quaint Cotswold stone buildings. Beware of the food venders that pitch for your custom at the entrance of the site; they charge an absolute fortune - £10 for a very underwhelming fish & chip supper! Finally, the road noise is horrendous and there is no escaping it regardless of you're pitched on the site. So if you want a relaxing break to de-stress, then I would avoid this site. In sum. This site is ideal for stopping off point if you're transiting through the area - thats my opinion anyway.

Happy as Larry

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 31/10/2021 17:45

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Definitely one to avoid if you want a peaceful stay and pleasant staff

I've just returned from a few days at this site and I must admit it's one I'll never return to if I can help it. Upon arrival I wasn't met with a pleasant welcome at all, the lady who checked me in was very sour faced and indeed quite rude, I was even 'thrown' a pen across the desk and forced to sign my membership card before I given a barrier key. What's the point in signing a card these days? Especially when the club doesn't even have a record of my signature!! I was then told my pitch number and informed how to find it via the maze of narrow roads and farcical one way systems on the site. I'd paid the premium for a serviced pitch only to find it right next to the services anyhow and really close to the main road. I was informed it was a new pitch, however clearly not designed very well at all. If you didn't have a motor mover there was absolutely no way you'd get a caravan on the pitch, even if you were an absolute expert at reversing, indeed the folks opposite would have had to have had their car facing the wrong way down the roadway in order to achieve pitching on their pitch. All around the pitch itself the grass was churned up and muddy as the roadways are so narrow it's very difficult to manoeuvre without clipping the grass. The pitches themselves were all very close together and the smaller ones where a car had to be left in front of the caravan, often meant the car was almost on the already narrow roadway. One pitched up I was very annoyed to find the bins were emptied each morning around 9.00am, using a very noisy tractor like vehicle with the wardens appearing to take as much effort as possible to make as much noise as possible when emptying the them. This isn't a 1950's Maplins style holiday camp where everyone is woken by a chirpy Gladys Pugh at some on-godly hour in the morning, I went away for some peace and quiet and perhaps even a nice quiet lay-in or two! In 2021 I don't think that's too much to ask. In all the time I was there I don't think I once saw a warden smile at anyone and upon departure, one of them just stood by and watched me struggle to put my barrier card in the required box. It really wouldn't have taken much thought for him to step over and help rather than just glare at me. So in summary, if you want a peaceful, well planned site with nice pitches and friendly staff then best avoid this one.

westieville

Reviewed on 26/10/2021 11:06

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

One club site to steer clear of

Is it me or are the standards dropping at many of the club sites, or maybe since covid and stay cations the clientele is playing a part too? We had someone with a big camp fire on the go last night who obviously is totally unaware of the clubs rules. Someone had done a number 2 in the ladies shower cubicle and people walking all over your pitch to get through gaps in the hedge. The site itself is generally shabby but obviously full and I guess if its full then why bother just take the money and run. Nice for the clubs executives but not great for its members and their holiday The glamping pods look like glorified plastic sheds surely they could have bought something a bit more pleasing to the eye. But I guess they have been full all season so happy days! Summing up I would really like to know what the clubs vision of a modern site is because I dont think its this one!

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Great location , busy site

Stayed for a week in October. The site was full the whole period of our stay, we were lucky to get a nice pitch, not refurbished but fine as weather dry. Due to the sites location being within walking distance of Moreton it’s popularity makes check in time a bit of a bun fight over pitches, and leaves little time for grass cutting ,we found the wardens very efficient. Pitches near the main road are somewhat affected by traffic noise. Would highly recommend the Mermaid Fish in Moreton

Chris Cart

Caravanner

Reviewed on 21/10/2021 21:06

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 2 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Never go again....

we stayed here in October 2021 for 6 nights. it was very enclosed , very close to the road which keeps you awake at night. and our last 2 nights we had a group of another 4 caravans around us which were outside drinking loud talking some words I would not like to repeat ....this went on every night till gone 01.00.am. No wardens came to tell them to be quiet. this was not like a CAMC Site. grass was long and wardens at reception the worst I have come across we could not wait to move on...not worth the money to stay here..

sharon89

Caravanner

Reviewed on 19/10/2021 22:52

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer