Winchester Morn Hill Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellent Site

Having read previous reviews we were almost put off going to this site. Thank goodness we decided to make up our own minds from our own experience. The staff are helpful, friendly and were quick to offer any help needed when we had a medical emergency. The ablutions are kept spotlessly clean with plenty of hot water at a very good pressure and the disabled shower room was kept lovely and warm. We can't fault the facilities. The site is next to a dual carriageway on a roundabout so you can hear the vehicles but we were situated on the third level down and did not find this intrusive but then again we didn't spend our time looking for problems!!  The aircraft noise is so minimal and lets face it, quick, that we had to really concentrate to notice the planes much to our disappointment being keen plane lovers. The site is kept clean with the usual caravan club attention to the pitches and the grass kept short. The site is ideally situated for visiting Winchester and The Beaulieu Motor Museum. We will definitely be back as we never made it to the Steam Train. Don't let others put you off trying this site, give it a go and make up your own minds. Loved the fish and chip van on a Friday too. Thanks to all.

DippyHippy

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 16/04/2015 01:46

13 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Excellent stop over site on the way to the Isle of Wight

We stayed over one night on the way to the Isle of Wight. Excellent site, clean facilities and friendly staff. It is just off a roundabout and the signage could perhaps be a bit better as there are two roads close together and you need to pick the correct one. Also need to be aware that when you leave the site you join a road before you enter the roundabout. Unfortunately some of the road users seem to go very fast and so extra care is needed on the approach to the roundabout. With care access is OK.

TonyAndIzzy

Caravanner

Reviewed on 14/04/2015 10:21

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

One night only

We stayed here for only one night.   We had problems with our mover and the wardens were really helpful in recommending we use a choice of sites that we could drive straight on to.   Lovely cake from the reception.   Facilities very clean and welcoming.   Only problem, we had difficulty following the final directions and missed the turning.   Will definitely go again.

Yorkladandlass

Reviewed on 13/04/2015 21:35

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Morn Hill

The last time we visited Morn Hill was some 12 years ago, so on this visit it was a pleasant surprise to see the site had been spruced up from what we remembered. Being adjacent to the A31, A272 and M3 the site is in a good location to allow visits to the local attractions, but don't let that make you think the site is noisy. The road noise can be heard more on some pitches than others but all in all is not too intrusive. I suppose if I had any criticisms at all it would be the positioning of the motor-home waste emptying point behind the main reception block and the low water pressure at the drinking water taps.

Micksboy

Caravanner from Kent

Reviewed on 05/04/2015 21:45

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Our First Ever Trip

This was our first caravan outing ever and we had travelled just 15 miles to get the feel of things. We found the staff very helpful, the pitches firm and level and the toilet blocks clean and warm. We felt very comfortable here despite arriving on the windiest night of the year. Seems like an ideal site for visiting Winchester or a on the way to the South Coast.  It is true there is not a lot you can really walk to from the location but don`t let that put you off.

Stephen Wrighty

Caravanner

Reviewed on 04/04/2015 19:15

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Good base for visiting Winchester

A very pleasant grassy site on 3 levels near the top of a hill near to Winchester. The grass was firm and no problem for our motorhome in early March. Good facilities, tho' showers were a bit small with no seat, no mats. There is a regular (1/2 hourly) bus service to Winchester, takes 5 minutes, but last bus back is about 7pm. You could walk along the roadside path, or cycle, but it would be uphill nearly all the way back. The only place to eat in convenient walking distance is the Holiday Inn, the bar food was ok, but soulless atmosphere. Some reviewers found the site noisy, but we couldn’t hear the road or airplanes (windows were closed), but did find the nearby rookery noisy at dawn. Might be better at the far side of the site. Overall, an excellent site for exploring the fascinating city of Winchester.

MartinDF

Reviewed on 03/04/2015 23:55

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Pleasant, Friendly Site

We've been to this site before & like it for it's regular bus service into Winchester.  Had hoped the toilet block would've been upgraded by now but it is kept absolutely spotless & the water is piping hot. Unfortunately the showers in the top field were out of action on the first weekend of opening.  We also made the mistake of pitching close to the busy main road but other parts of the site are peaceful.  The Premier Inn across the road welcomes non residents to use their restaurants & bar, & the Science Park is just a 10 minute walk away & worth a visit.  We will be back again. 

SallyJean

Reviewed on 28/03/2015 18:54

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Morn Hill

Arrived 20/3/15 site clean and tidy, wordens helpful but the showers on the upper field not working ( only two shower units per sex in each shower block ) shower blocks need upgrading, otherwise a pleasant stay.

bristolpete

Caravanner

Reviewed on 25/03/2015 18:09

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Nice Site

We are just back from a weekend away at Morn Hill. The loo & shower block was spotless, good bin & washing up facilities and the hot water was quick and plentiful. We had a great stay and would definitely stay here again if we are in the area. I don't know what one reviewer was on about as we were unaware of aircraft noise. The nesting crows made a racket in the morning but we were unaware of the aircraft. Sorry we left our waste water container behind. Mr J packed up and he only remembered when approaching the A11 on the way home. The laundry room was a bonus. After spilling water over the duvet, it was a Godsend.

Raffington

Caravanner from Norfolk

Reviewed on 23/03/2015 12:39

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer