Camping Iris Parc Le Ty Nadan (REF : B20)
Route D' Arzano, Locunole, 29310, FranceView on map
Why stay here ...
Set alongside the River Ellé, this lively campsite is geared for family stays, offering a huge array of activities for adults and children. Canoeing and fishing can be enjoyed in the river, while archery, rock climbing and a tree-top course all supplement the usual facilities that can be found for children on French sites.
The English-speaking staff are very accommodating and have a good knowledge of the local area. Public buses run in high season, the stop is 2km from the site. The public bus only departs at around 13:30 and comes back around 18:30, cost is €2 each way.
With the vast selection of activities on offer, many guests feel little need to leave the site. However, Concarneau has a fabulous fish market and pretty walled town, while the Festival Interceltique, which takes place in Lorient in early August, makes for a lively day out.
Around and About
Pont-Aven, Concarneau, Le Faouët, Doëlan, Quimper, Lorient, Golf, Horse riding, Cycling, Water sports.
Latest arrival time - low: 10:00 PM
Latest arrival time - high: 10:00 PM
Earliest departure time - low: 6:00 AM
Earliest departure time - high: 8:00 AM
Is there a set arrival day? No
4 miles north-east of Quimperlé. From the N165 take exit 46.1 (SP Quimperlé –Est) Turn right and take the D765 (SP Quimperlé). Continue for 2miles/3.2km then turn right on to the D22 (SP Pontivy/Arzano), after 5 miles/8km turn left onto the C3 (SP Locunolé). Site entrance will on the left in 1.8miles/3km
- Distance to Calais: (kms)
- Lat 47.90468 / Lon -3.47477
- Michelin map no.
- Daily public transport within 2 kms
- Nearest port: Roscoff (127 kms)
Log in to write a review
It is probably relevant to highlight the date of our visit, as it may have had some effect on what we encountered. We stayed on this site with our two young children in the first and second week of the English School summer holidays (before most of the French ones started). As already mentioned in one of the other reviews, the arrival at this place is somewhat interesting, as it has a lack of space in which to park your outfit when checking in. The entrance gate is quite tight and managed to claim two victims during my stay!! The site is very large and has three amenity blocks. The most modern block is very nice but situated at the end of the site without mains water / drainage, and accommodated mainly tents. The other two blocks are adequate, but one in particular is attached to the ‘School amenities’ (Which was sadly our closest block). This often resulted in the children using our facilities, and often left in quite a dirty state. The plots are smaller than you would expect to find at a Castels site. Upon arrival we were given a terrible plot, which we refused. The second was not much better, but it was all they had with the facilities we had booked. Almost everybody we spoke to had gone through the same process on arrival. Our second plot was not very nice, smaller than advertised and without any privacy. Our water supply was shared with a neighbour (thanks to him for providing the splitter) and the electric box was damaged. The facilities and activities for the older children were second to none, and I really must complement the owners for this. The Kids Club was also fantastic. Sadly the vast number of school children meant that it was almost impossible to book any activities without 3 or 4 days’ notice. The biggest issue for us was the noise! On 4 or 5 nights of the week there was a disco, which finished at 12:30am. This resulted in groups of teenagers wandering the site until about 1am, making so much noise that people struggled to sleep. I know that my review may paints a particularly awful picture of the site, but for somebody who has toured Europe a number of times we were annoyed by what we found. So much so that we left early and paid to stay elsewhere. This site will clearly please some. Those with teenagers and no desire for peace and quiet I guess! We really felt that the priority for the owners lay with those visitors staying in their tents and mobile homes. Those with caravans came second. Needless to say we will not be returning.
Reply from The Club:
We have received the following response from Le Ty Nadan campsite:-
“We are very sorry to hear that you will not visit our campsite again. We are taking in consideration all your remarks and we will improve and change things for you to come back. First of all the dates you had chosen are the busiest on our campsite, this is not an excuse, but it is just to explain that some things would not have occurred in low season. Your arrival for example, because it is really busy, some guests don’t park their car correctly as advised and this has the effect of narrowing the entrance of the campsite. We will alter our procedure of checking in for the high season to avoid this sort of problem in the future.
The shower block you were close to is used by groups on one side and in high season our cleaning team goes to the shower block every hour to clean as we are aware that children and adults can leave the facilities in a mess.
For the pitch allocation, we are really sad that you did not like the pitch that was allocated as we are really careful with members of The Caravan Club and always try to allocate some of our best pitches. As you mentioned, we offered you a new pitch and this one also offered the facilities you had booked. At this period, it is difficult for us to change allocation, but we did offer you an alternative and we were hoping that you would take this into consideration as the campsite was completely full. Choosing a pitch for a customer is not very easy, you had asked for a sunny pitch and this was certainly what was taken into consideration to allocate the first pitch, but you did not like it and we are sorry for this.
We thank you for your compliments concerning our kid’s club and entertainment programs, as for the activities, we never refuse a booking and always try to find a solution for our customers to get a space on our activity program.
And finally the noise, we are working very hard with our security guards to keep the campsite quiet after 10.30pm. We do ask the noisy customers that have been reported to us by the security team to come to the reception the following morning and we warn the people that they will be asked to leave the campsite if the noise continues.
We welcome all guests with caravans, tents, and motorhomes or those people staying in our accommodation and the well-being of all our guests remains our top priority. Thank you again for your feedback”
0 Helpful notesReport this reviewer