Fowey CL

Lescrow House, Passage Lane, Fowey, Cornwall, PL23 1JS

View on map

Ideal for ...

  • Beach stays
  • Dogs
  • Peaceful stays

Why stay here ...

At 0.9 miles, Fowey CL is the closest caravan site to the picturesque, historic harbour town of Fowey. The CL is peaceful and quiet located away from the house in a secluded location screened by mature trees and shrubs. We are well back from the road minimising traffic noise and the road itself is the quietest route in and out of Fowey. To overcome the challenges of a sloping site, the ground has been terraced to provide level, well drained pitches.

All of our pitches are, more or less, level and accessed by a wide, surfaced track allowing plenty of room for turning and parking. We found that grass pitches were not durable enough so we have upgraded all our pitches with granite chippings. If you are planning on erecting an awning please ensure that your pegs are sufficiently robust. All pitches have a 16A electrical point and their own, very accessible water tap. I am happy to assist with parking if help is required.

The CL caravan site would make a great base for kayakers, canoeists and anglers. Access to the River Fowey is via the free public slipway only 1 mile away. Alternatively, Polkerris has an excellent water-sports centre hiring kayaks, dinghies, windsurfers etc.

This is excellent walking country with many interesting routes right on our doorstep. We would be happy to recommend our favourites.

Fowey is a charming, historic harbour town on the picturesque Fowey estuary. Fowey has all the amenities one would expect from a Cornish town dependent on tourism. There are numerous restaurants to cater to all tastes not to mention a choice of pubs and boutique shops to entertain all comers. Our nearest pub is 0.9 miles from the site and our nearest beach, Readymoney Cove, is 1.6m. Alternatively you could try quaint Polkerris 2.3 miles away. In addition to the beach, you could have a drink at The Rashleigh Inn (featured in The Guardian's top summer pubs list 2009) and watch the sunset over St. Austell Bay.

For those wishing to explore the surrounding area there are plenty of attractions on our doorstep. The iconic Eden Project is only 5.5 miles away and well worth a visit at any time of the year, especially in June when Eden host their Eden Sessions (advance booking required). Alternatively why not explore historic Charlestown only 6.8 miles away. The historic harbour was a location during the filming of the BBC's new adaptation of Poldark. Polperro nd Mevagissey and the Lost Gardens Of Heligan are 7.5 miles and 13.5 miles respectively and make a great day out. Or perhaps you would prefer to relax on one of Cornwall's many beaches, explore Cornwall's rich industrial heritage and evocative ruins, visit some of Cornwall's great gardens or maybe have a gastronomic holiday and sample the best seafood and local produce the county has to offer in many of our fine restaurants. Cornwall really does make a great holiday location for all tastes and budgets. Please click on the link to Fowey CL website for more information about our site.

We have just installed free WiFi. We look forward to welcoming you to our site.

Facilities on site ...

  • Drive over waste disposal for motorhomes
  • Recycling facilities
  • TV reception: good
  • Wi-Fi

Prices

Useful Info

Latest arrival time: 8:00 PM

0.75 acres

Electric amperage: 16

Lawned site

Recycling Facilities

Nearby

Great savings on days out

Offers available to Club members

Offer image for: Bodmin Railway - 10% discount
Offer image for: Camel Creek Adventure Park - £2 discount
Offer image for: The Vale of Avalon/Arthurian Centre - 50% discount
Offer image for: Treguddick Distillery and Café - 25% discount
View all savings

Map

Directions

You need to be a Club member to view directions to this Certificated Location. Log in

Sites key: Certificated Location

Postcode:
PL23 1JS
Plan a route to this site
GPS:
Lat 50.341534 / Lon -4.64606
OS field ref:
SX116525
OS map ref:
200

Transport links

  • Bus stop within 1 mile
  • Buses go to: St Austell - Parr
  • Daily public transport within 1 mile
  • Nearest port: Plymouth (22 miles)
  • Nearest train station: Par
  • Train station within 5 miles

Reviews

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great Location and CL

Fowey CL
This CL is a hidden Gem. Its hard standing pitches, electric, water, and grey water services make staying so much easier than some places. Great location for Fowey and the surrounding area. Well done Sarah & David keep up the hard work as it is paying off.

ScreenNameB72E532351

Reviewed on 04/08/2023 09:50

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

peaceful, secluded site

Fowey CL
great service from Sarah from point of booking to our arrival & greeting from her & her delightful pup Cookie. When we booked last October for our June tour, Sarah explained about the exorbitant hike in her electricity tariff from her supplier, and how they were working with a metered electric system but we would only pay for what we used. Sarah did also point out at time of booking that it was a somewhat shady site, the sunniest pitches were already booked but she had some availability on the semi shaded pitch so we opted for some of the dates left as we could then use the gas & solar panel, at £18 per night for a large, fully serviced pitch and free wifi, an absolute bargain!! Sarah explained the 2 ways to walk into Fowey, what a delightful place, and we took the ferry over to Boddinick to do the Hall Walk down to Polruan, stunning views, and the little passenger ferry takes you back over to Fowey. Very quiet CL, with no road noise, I can see why its a popular site with repeat customers, of which im sure we will be one

lms0110

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 17/07/2023 20:02

24 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A slightly disappointing stay.

Fowey CL

The CL offers water, drainage, EHU and satellite television connection and the welcome by Sarah was great. As has already been mentioned elsewhere, the site is surrounded by trees. Unfortunately we were allocated pitch 1 which is also overhung by large trees. This made the pitch quite dark and gloomy, relatively cold and, when it rained there was a constant drip for several hours from the trees. This seemed to happen, invariably, during the night making sleep difficult. The pitch is also sloping unlike others on the site. What disappointed me was that the pitch next to us, which was vacant when we arrived, was sunny for most of the day and I would have liked to have been allocated that one, especially as we had booked in November last year for a 7 night stay. As it turned out, during the week there were four different outfits on that pitch, with none staying more than three nights. It would appear that we were relegated to the worst pitch because, according to one lady, “we told Sarah we wanted a sunny pitch because we have a solar panel on the roof”. So, if you have a booking, just hope that you are not on pitch 1.

Comment from the Club: 

Many thanks for your 4 star review. The CL Owner has been in touch as they are sorry you weren’t entirely happy with your pitch and they would like to address some of the points you raised. 

Firstly, they would like to address your disappointment that you could not occupy the neighbouring pitch. They allocate pitches according to the date the booking was made and the number of nights booked.  In this case, not only was the neighbouring pitch booked before you made your booking, the guests had specifically requested that pitch.  Some of their repeat guests reserve their favourite pitch a year or more in advance. 

In the eight years the CL owners have been running the site they have acquired a number of repeat guests who specifically request pitch number 1 over any of the other pitches. It is also one of the the largest on the site so they are sorry to hear you were not happy with the allocation. 

As you mention pitch 1 is the least level on the site. This is deliberate to avoid damaging tree roots.  The slope can be an issue for large motorhomes and the CL Owners have ramps if people require them. The slope is less of a problem for caravans, being easier to level. They also have a number of wooden levelling blocks if people need them and recommend parking your van perpendicular to the slope to simplify levelling.

As you stated in your review, the CL website makes it clear that the site is surrounded by trees and all of the pitches will be shaded at some point in the day.  They believe that the trees give the site it’s character. However, some years have passed since the trees were last pruned so they are sorry that dripping from trees interrupted your sleep. They will address this as soon as the leaves drop this autumn and thank you for bringing this to their attention.

They do hope that you will return in the future and advise that as they are a very popular site please book as early as possible if you want to reserve a specific pitch.

 

JohnM20

Caravanner from Derbyshire

Reviewed on 28/06/2023 10:42

15 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent value

Fowey CL
Really enjoyed our short stay on this small quite site. Friendly welcome from Sarah, who always responded to emails promptly. For what we paid per night thought excellent value for money, serviced EHU pitch and could even have connected to satellite dish if we'd wished. Walked down hill into the very nice town of Fowey a couple of times, Also walked up hill to catch the bus for a day in Charlestown.

Derek Atkins

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 19/06/2023 21:14

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect Holiday in Every Way

Fowey CL
Perfect site, location and very friendly hosts. The site is quiet and set amongst trees, with spacious fully serviced pitches. We stayed for 22 nights during April/May and really didn't want to go home. Fowey is a charming riverside town which oozes character being only a short walk down the lane from the site. There's an abundance of walks direct from the site ( which Sarah the owner provides) in particular we loved the walks around Polruan, Polridmouth Cove, Polkerris beach and Golant where there is a fantastic pub (Fishermans Arms), serving delicious lunches, with Creekside views. Many a day was spent mooching round the town, people and boat watching, grabbing the odd coffee at Captain Hanks Shack or sitting on the many verandas overlooking the river having a cheeky glass of wine. There are lovely shops, cafes and restaurants too and a small supermarket to grab any essentials. We particularly enjoyed an Indian meal at Sunny Spice, delicious! There's plenty to do from the site, we hardly used the car but visited Mevagissey, Charlestown and Par Market and Foodhall. Booked again for next year, can't wait! Thanks Sarah, David, Emily and not forgetting Cookie

Howardp

Caravanner

Reviewed on 08/06/2023 14:18

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer