Fowey CL

Lescrow House, Passage Lane, Fowey, Cornwall, PL23 1JS

View on map

Rated 5 of 5

Community rating

Read reviews

Ideal for ...

  • Beach stays
  • Dogs
  • Families
  • Peaceful stays

Why stay here ...

At 0.9 miles, Fowey CL is the closest caravan site to the picturesque, historic harbour town of Fowey. The CL is peaceful and quiet located away from the house in a secluded location screened by mature trees and shrubs. We are well back from the road minimising traffic noise and the road itself is the quietest route in and out of Fowey. To overcome the challenges of a sloping site, the ground has been terraced to provide level, well drained pitches.

All of our pitches are, more or less, level and accessed by a wide, surfaced track allowing plenty of room for turning and parking. We found that grass pitches were not durable enough so we have upgraded all our pitches with granite chippings. If you are planning on erecting an awning please ensure that your pegs are sufficiently robust. All pitches have a 16A electrical point and their own, very accessible water tap. I am happy to assist with parking if help is required.

The CL caravan site would make a great base for kayakers, canoeists and anglers. Access to the River Fowey is via the free public slipway only 1 mile away. Alternatively, Polkerris has an excellent water-sports centre hiring kayaks, dinghies, windsurfers etc.

This is excellent walking country with many interesting routes right on our doorstep. We would be happy to recommend our favourites.

Fowey is a charming, historic harbour town on the picturesque Fowey estuary. Fowey has all the amenities one would expect from a Cornish town dependent on tourism. There are numerous restaurants to cater to all tastes not to mention a choice of pubs and boutique shops to entertain all comers. Our nearest pub is 0.9 miles from the site and our nearest beach, Readymoney Cove, is 1.6m. Alternatively you could try quaint Polkerris 2.3 miles away. In addition to the beach, you could have a drink at The Rashleigh Inn (featured in The Guardian's top summer pubs list 2009) and watch the sunset over St. Austell Bay.

For those wishing to explore the surrounding area there are plenty of attractions on our doorstep. The iconic Eden Project is only 5.5 miles away and well worth a visit at any time of the year, especially in June when Eden host their Eden Sessions (advance booking required). Alternatively why not explore historic Charlestown only 6.8 miles away. The historic harbour was a location during the filming of the BBC's new adaptation of Poldark. Polperro nd Mevagissey and the Lost Gardens Of Heligan are 7.5 miles and 13.5 miles respectively and make a great day out. Or perhaps you would prefer to relax on one of Cornwall's many beaches, explore Cornwall's rich industrial heritage and evocative ruins, visit some of Cornwall's great gardens or maybe have a gastronomic holiday and sample the best seafood and local produce the county has to offer in many of our fine restaurants. Cornwall really does make a great holiday location for all tastes and budgets. Please click on the link to Fowey CL website for more information about our site.

We have just installed free WiFi. We look forward to welcoming you to our site.

Facilities on site ...

  • Recycling facilities
  • TV reception: fair
  • Wi-Fi

Prices

Useful Info

Latest arrival time: 8:00 PM

0.75 acres

Electric amperage: 16

Recycling Facilities

Nearby

Great savings on days out

Offers available to Club members

View all savings

Map

Directions

You need to be a Club member to view directions to this Certificated Location. Log in

Sites key: Certificated Location

Postcode:
PL23 1JS
Plan a route to this site
GPS:
Lat 50.341534 / Lon -4.64606
OS field ref:
SX116525
OS map ref:
200

Transport links

  • Bus stop within 1 mile
  • Buses go to: St Austell - Parr
  • Daily public transport within 1 mile
  • Nearest port: Plymouth (22 miles)
  • Nearest train station: Par
  • Train station within 5 miles

Reviews

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

PEACEFUL AND LOVELY SETTING

This was our second visit to Fowey CL, and its one of the best sites we have stayed in. Sarah and David are very welcoming lovely people.The site has 5 hardstanding pitches with water taps on each pitch. The waste disposal and chemical toilet disposal are easily accessible. It is just under a mile walk into Fowey, which is a lovely seaside town and well worth a visit.
Motorhomer

Reviewed on

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent site

This was my first club site and it was lovely. I needed somewhere for a few days in this area to catch up with an old friend but I motorhome on my own and have only been doing this for a few months. I need pitches that are relatively level and facilities to be accessible for someone who walks with the aid of a stick because of a few mobility problems. This site fitted the bill brilliantly and the owner was keen to make me welcome and to help if needed. Water was literally just behind me, a few feet away, hook up was a few feet further up a small incline next to the fence but easy enough even for me. The grey water drain was all of a foot away below the motorhome and cassette emptying was a short walk across from my pitch, perhaps 30m and was easy to use and keep everything clean. The site was peaceful and quiet and it is somewhere I will come back to if in this area in the future. I can recommend it unreservedly.
Motorhomer

Reviewed on

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Sheltered site

This is a very pretty site surrounded by trees giving fantastic shelter in a stormy week. It would be lovely in the summer too giving shade from the sun. Fowey is beautiful and there are some lovely walks and beaches close by. Really loved our stay.
Caravanner from Northamptonshire

Reviewed on

18 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Unimpressed

We really looked forward to visiting this CL and considered ourselves lucky to be able to get in, Sarah explained that the only pitch remaining was in the "shade" - we accepted that and arrived on a windy yet bright day expecting some light of day but were greeted with very little sun or light and the trees surrounding the pitch were being blown about causing the nuts and husks, leaves and twigs to rain down on the roof of our caravan and car which were literally covered in a very short time. When it rained whilst the trees were blown about we were hammered with heavy rain and tree debris due to the strong winds. Had we known just how "dark and dismal" our pitch was we would have declined the booking and gone elsewhere. Our advice to anyone who is offered or considering taking this "shaded pitch" is to steer clear of it and decline it. We are not landscape gardeners or pretend to be knowledgable about trees but we are long enough in the tooth enough to know that given any option we would avoid pitching under them wherever possible so would like to think that David and Sarah need to seriously consider cutting back the trees to let more light in and reduce the unnecessary battering which strong winds and heavy rain bring. The site itself and the amenities provided were very good but alas to quote the Dragons Den - "sorry but we won't be investing again - we're out". The Cozzies

Comment from the CL Owner:

I'm sorry that you regret choosing us for your autumn holiday. As you say, you were informed that the only pitch available was shady when you booked and we make it clear that the site is wooded. It was a shame that the weather was so atrocious during the week of your stay. A severe weather warning was given by the Met Office for gale force winds and heavy rain with risk of flooding. The trees are pruned every year but this winter, based on your review, I will raise the crown of the offending trees. Please understand that removing magnificent, mature trees and all the wildlife that live on, in and around them from an AONB, for the benefit of temporary visitors, is not a viable option. You might find the north coast more to your liking; there are few trees but it is exposed in strong winds.

Caravanner from Nottinghamshire

Reviewed on

11 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful with great location

The site is owned by a very nice couple who let you get on with your holiday but are there if needed. It is very well kept. We were lucky to have a pitch in the centre of the 4 on the top row as the end pitches and the one on its own would have been a little dark for me because of the trees. That’s just personal preference as I know lots of people who like to be in trees and it does show them on the photos. We hardly used our car as the site is in such a great spot for Fowey and great walks from the site. I would definitely recommend the site
Caravanner

Reviewed on

28 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer