Roundoak

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 1 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 1 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Be Forewarned

Be forewarned. There are a few key points that are misleading or omitted on this website. Take care on the access road to Roundoak as it is pothole-ridden. Our fridge door was broken before we even entered the gates. Before arrival, we were asked to pay for our stay in full, 4 nights in cash only. Once inside, the turn to the CL pitch was too sharp for us and we were then led to a grassy tent pitch area instead and given a long extension cord to plug into. This is not a 5 touring caravan pitch site! Along with the tent pitches there are 15 to 20 caravans parked up with seasonal workers living onsite. Given a quick tour, we were told they would be extremely busy over the holiday weekend because of an event being hosted at their adjacent farm, tickets could be purchased for an extra fee. To me there was a quick wave at the water points which are not very accessible next to the cow barn. Bathroom/Shower room is through a covered barn area which is used for events and weddings, etc. Not exclusive, this is in a shared area for events, men and women, dishwashing and has a door to an office adjacent. Upon setting up at dusk, my husband filled our Aquaroll from a free standing container of clear liquid with a hose and nozzle attached. Thinking this was the water point, it was actually a diesel additive which then made its way into our caravan's water system. My husband could not see the water point from here because it is not visible behind a shed. The container itself has no eye level warning labels and is not fenced off. Being close to dark it was nearly impossible to see. Afterward, the rest of the evening was spent flushing out the water system by the owner and a worker which we greatly appreciated. But by 10pm our van was wet, full of mud and generally turned upside down, so we decided to go home without our van and return the next morning. As we were preparing to leave, the wife/owner would not make eye contact with me. I thought it was odd and dismissed it. Then it happened again the following morning when we went to retrieve our van. I was already quite shaken about the night before, but to be made to feel unwelcome was extremely unkind. When asked if we were staying, I asked if we could move our original CL designated pitch, the one we paid for, he said his wife had probably already given it to someone else. We were never offered a refund. We then spent the rest of the holiday weekend flushing out the caravan at our storage site. I realise this is a working farm and accidents can happen, but public safety should always be a priority. As CL members, this site was not what we were expecting.

ScreenNameD4F42484C2

Caravanner

Reviewed on 28/06/2022 13:19

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A lovely site but with some important reservations

This is a lovely quiet, well-maintained site with plenty of space and access to a small oak wood next to the site. It was lovely to see the rare breeds. It is well-situated for a variety of places of interest and National Trust properties. The village of Headcorn is nearby with shops and a local Sainsburys and cashpoint (payment at this site is cash/cheque). We had a very warm and helpful welcome from the owners who evidently care about the site and its surroundings. There are security gates which restrict access. However, we do have major reservations about the site. Firstly, the site is not as described on this webpage. There is currently no wifi available (and this was important to us). The very helpful site guidance given to us upon arrival the site indicated that it was available at a cost of £2.50 a day. But it was not available at all. Secondly, the wc/showers are not exclusive use. They comprise two shower cubicles, 3 toilet cubicles and two sinks. There are also an electric kettle and microwave. But these facilities are shared with a neighbouring office (which has direct door access). Sometimes this door is left open so that one’s comings and goings are open to view within the office. In addition, the wc/shower room is accessed through a yard ‘bar’ i.e. a barn with a bar (not in everyday use). The wc/shower room is situated at the back of this barn and, if there is a social taking place there, you have to walk through it to access the room. This happened once, and it was not a comfortable experience. In addition, it was evident that this wc/shower room was used by people other than those in the office or staying on the CL site. I have read an earlier review where there was a party in the oak wood adjacent to the site. It is evident that it is used for this purpose from time to time so, if you are staying at this site, it would be well to enquire first whether any socials are planned in the wood or the yard bar. Given the above reservations, £25 a night is expensive. We continued our holiday another CL in Kent with much better wc/shower/wifi facilities at a much lower price. Overall, this is a good site, in a lovely situation, with helpful and friendly owners but it is best to be aware of the above. Note: the access road is very tight and of poor quality (very uneven) with few passing places. Wifi access is available at the nearby Weald of Kent Golf Course and Hotel (open to public and a lovely bar adjacent to a lake).

Dawdler

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 30/05/2022 13:58

17 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Absolutely stunning !!

The title of our review says it all. Wonderful setting, peaceful and picturesque. Norman and Ruth are great hosts, generous to a fault. They are justly proud of this great site. Loved Steve the sheep, the Guinea fowl squadron and the Duck Squad. Lots of visiting wildlife, including Woody Woodpecker who was partial to a fat filled coconut shell. We would not hesitate to revisit this wonderful place. Oh, and the Beefburgers, heaven in a bun. Thank you Norman and Ruth, regards Brian and Vivien.

B V Player

Reviewed on 30/08/2021 12:25

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Adults only tranquil haven

We spent a few peaceful days enjoying watching the farm animals from our camper and the birds (especially the little owl) in the woods. Friendly and helpful hosts who find time for you even though it is a working farm. Always a sociable atmosphere, everyone was invited into an outbuilding to watch the Euro matches on a large screen. Showers, kitchen and toilets all very clean.

ScreenName87721CDC4E

Campervanner

Reviewed on 18/07/2021 20:36

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

cold wet January

Just got back from a weekend at this amazing site,the owners are two of the nicest people you will ever meet. Every where we walked we were saying that's a good idea or wow that's nice , the woods are wonderfully set out there's a hot tub and fire pits ,nicely placed benches to sit and watch the sun going down. The showers had a really good pressure on them and nice and hot. Yes the weather was cold but the warmth of the welcome soon warms you up. And WOW the sausages and burgers are really meaty and taste like a sausage should.

2hairydogs

Reviewed on 19/01/2020 16:53

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Tight access

Arrived at this site for a 2 night stay to a friendly welcome but to be told on that night there was a party in the woods and they hoped the noise would not be too bad, well it was and from 4pm to 10pm it was very loud and intrusive. This should not be the first time you find out about disruption of this type. We use cl’s because they are quiet. The access road is very tight and of poor quality with few passing places, so every time you go out you have to run the gauntlet with oncoming vehicles. The site itself is a good size with electric points well spread out, the all grass field is flat and is kept reasonably short but the clippings are left which means the caravan gets full of grass. The shower is first class but at £2.50 each per night it should be. Good security gates gives a reassuring feel.

spudlylight

Caravanner

Reviewed on 11/07/2019 20:13

44 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect 10 days

Just returned from our ten night stay at Roundoak cl. We enjoyed our stay immensely. Beautiful setting with lots to see and do in the area. Norman and Ruth were the perfect hosts, welcoming us when we arrived, being friendly and attentive whilst we were there. The site is completely secure with keypad gates. Facilities are first class. The sunsets from the site are breathtaking, as is the wildlife. Access road is fine if negotiated with care. All in all a great site with wonderful hosts. However, we shall miss 'Fin' the sheepdog the most. His enthusiasm for life made us smile. Thanks again Norman and Ruth and we shall return.

LuckyDog1

Caravanner from South Yorkshire

Reviewed on 29/10/2018 18:12

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great stay

We spent 2 weeks on this site to explore Kent and enjoyed it very much. Very welcoming owners who were happy to spend time giving advice on where to go/what to see. Great wood to walk around and bird spot. It was very interesting to be shown around the highland cows and sheep they keep on the farm. You can also buy some of the meat from the animals. There is a very short single trac road to get there, but there are passing places.

monkeyduck

Caravanner

Reviewed on 12/10/2018 19:59

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A wonerful enchanted peace of heaven

We have stayed here twice and cannot wait to return. From the second you arrive you are made to feel like one of the family. The farm is down a quiet lane and no passing traffic will disturb your relaxing stay. Our dog was recovering from and eye operation and she was in need of peace and quiet. We set up our caravan and took her for a small walk into the woods. My husband and I felt like children on an exploration into an enchanted forest, it was wonderful. In the middle of the small wooded area, are seats, swings, BBQ and hay to sit on and help you relax. What I love about the farm is the fact its adults only. Its wonderful. Everyone camping is very respectful of each others peace and quiet. I highly recommend a stay here, you leave feeling relaxed and full charged.

MrMrsWebber

Caravanner from Dyfed

Reviewed on 02/08/2018 15:14

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautiful peacfull farm site

We have recently returned home from another wonderful stay at this peaceful farm site which we have used on many occasions. As usual the owners Ruth and Norman made us most welcome as did their staff. The security on this site is first class. This working farm has Highland cattle, sheep and chickens that roam around., especially the grey one that wanted to come into our awning. They sell eggs and their own produce. So good to know where it has come from. In the wood there is a bbq area with seating, benches on which to sit and ponder, fire pits and in the evening it is lit up with fairy lights. Such a fairytale sight. This is a little gem of a site in the country with wonderful surroundings and plenty to do in the area. Leeds Castle and many National Trust properties are within easy reach and then you have the beautiful Kent countryside. We highly recommend this site and will be returning on many occasions. Thank you Ruth and Norman for another lovely stay. We will be back before too long.

lizanne46

Reviewed on 26/07/2018 15:13

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer