South Port o'Spittal

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Just Beautiful

We were a little apprehensive about staying here after some of the reviews, but we were very pleasantly surprised. Fantastic location, amazing views, what more could you ask for? John met us upon arrival, as he was helping out as the owner, Ian, was away. John was very friendly and offered us a choice of pitches. I wanted to be selfish and not put a review down, as I didn’t want it booked up when we wanted to come again!, but felt I should do as it just blew me away. Thank you Ian for allowing us to share your little piece of heaven😀

ScreenNameCA848F9E44

Campervanner

Reviewed on 03/06/2022 16:41

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Coastal delight

Excellent site tucked away in the south west corner of Scotland. Warm welcome from extremely laid back owner Ian, had total choice of pitch as only one other van on site when we arrived. Stunning views from the site across to Ireland almost parallel with Belfast where we saw a cruise ship leave through the evening haze. Well placed for touring the isle of Whithorn, the coastal route is stunning. Can thoroughly recommend this site for a warm welcome and peaceful stay. Will certainly return. Jim & Nancy & wee Bailey

jimcnanc

Caravanner from Ayrshire

Reviewed on 13/07/2021 09:03

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Views Across the Irish Sea

We found the site after travelling along progressively smaller roads, but there are passing places. We didn't meet the owner until our last day when we contacted him about payment so it all seemed a bit laissez faire about where to park. The site seemed to be divided into two parts with hardstanding where we first drove in and then grass further down. The grass has the better views so we parked there and used our chocks. There was a laundry room which had a sign on saying it was closed although after I'd done 3 lots of handwashing I discovered it was in fact open and in use! There was also a shower room, although only one shower seemed to be in use but we used our own facilities. One of the things missing from this otherwise beautiful site, was useful and up to date signage. The owner was very friendly, when we met him. There are three wind turbines which can be quite noisy when they get going in the wind. They create a background swish a bit like helicopter rotary blades (but without the engine noise!). It wasn't too obtrusive but some people may be particularly susceptible to that kind of noise. On our second day the wind dropped so they were still, which was when we realised how much noise they'd made. From the site it is a short drive/walk/cycle to Portpatrick, Ardwell Bay and Stranraer.

mossypossy

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 27/06/2021 17:04

16 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Wonderful Place

If you’re looking to relax then this is the place for you but with easy access to Portpatrick where several pubs serving food can be found. All pitches had a water tap which for us is the icing on the cake. Lovely views over to Ireland and the sight of the sun shining on the sea will have you reaching for your camera. Ian the owner was friendly and helpful, the pitches were well kept and spacious. Cannot comment on facilities as didn’t use but can thoroughly recommend this little gem of a site.

DJTJ

Caravanner

Reviewed on 16/05/2021 19:23

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Blown away

We spent 6 nights here, a fantastic site. The header refers to the weather which to be honest was bloody awful for the whole of the time we were there. Should have realised that as there are two turbines on the site there might have been an occasional bit of wind. Saying that we picked one of the hardstandings, the grass pitches were waterlogged on arrival and even more so when we left. Sat Nav took us straight to the site, the owner was away collecting sheep but called the next day to sort things out. We had the site to ourselves. Good access to all the local attractions. Covid did put a damper on things. Imagine going into a pub and not allowed a drink. Only outside by Ms Sturgeons rules. Great site, nice owners we will return.

peatman

Reviewed on 04/11/2020 14:53

35 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Stunning views

Visited beginning of September. As mentioned narrow approach but wasn’t a problem. Ian was welcoming and very helpful. Grass kept well mown. Choice of hard standing or grass pitches, all with views to N Ireland. Covid precautions well thought out. We didn’t use the facilities but they were in use. Hand sanitisers provided at communal points eg water taps. Excellent value for money.

Wirral Wanderer

Caravanner

Reviewed on 07/10/2020 17:35

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely site in a great location

We spent 3 nights here and really enjoyed our stay. The site is well laid out with fantastic views, within walking distance of the nearby beach (15 minutes or so) and within driving distance of all the local places of interest. The access roads are quite narrow but it is not too far to the nearest main road, Friendly welcome from Ian, and all very relaxing. Would recommend and hope to return.

Dogsbody55

Reviewed on 30/09/2020 16:27

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Stunning and quiet location

Just back from 4 nights at South Port o Spittal over a stunning September weekend. Road to the site is narrow but easily found using the instructions in the CAMC book. We had phoned ahead and were told to take any empty pitch and bagged a grass pitch with stunning views over the Irish sea to Larne. Hard standing pitches were also available. Surprising give the shortage of site during these strange times the pitches were never all full. Due to COVID only one loo/shower was open but that was fine. This is not a site for those that want to walk to the pub or a shop as Portpatrick is about 4 miles away. There is a quaint hotel about a mile away next to a lovely wee cove but be warned and take a very bendy credit card if you want a refreshment! Brilliant for site for walkers or cyclists

Robin Waddell

Caravanner

Reviewed on 22/09/2020 21:00

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Enjoyable visit

We have just spent 3 nights on this very pleasant cl. Pitches are grass or hardstanding and all have lovely views across the sea to Ireland. We enjoyed the 15minute walk down to the local beach which took slightly longer coming back. Loved watching the sheep in the field next to the cl. There is a combined toilet and shower room available. It was windy as we expected but it didn’t rain! The approach roads are very narrow with very few passing places plus the signage approaching cl could be improved.

macpherson1

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 12/09/2020 17:05

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Stunning location where you can either explore or just relax and unwind

We have recently returned from the most wonderful stay at South Port O’Spittal. It was easy to find and the road was absolutely fine if you follow the directions provided by Ian. You can call him on: 07808 860393 We were given a warm welcome and nothing was too much trouble for Ian and Kaye. The site is immaculate, it’s like a beautiful garden and the views are nothing less than stunning. If you want to relax and unwind then look no further. I am a poor sleeper and can sleep as little as 3 hours a night at home but benefited from 8 hours + every night at South Port O’Spittal! There are hard standing and grass pitches which are nice and level so no messing around. I can’t believe we went all these years without knowing about this wonderful little site. The area has so much to offer, it would take me ages to go through them all but great for exploring. It’s not far from the town of portpatrick which is worth exploring, it’s so quaint with a lovely clean harbour and beach, coffee shops, pubs and cafes. The site is also just 15 minutes walk from a beautiful little beach, where you can sea fish or just enjoy. I am back home now but can’t help thinking that I can’t wait to go back!

jenfromek

Caravanner

Reviewed on 30/07/2020 21:23

1 review

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer