Tideslow Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A perfect off grid spot!

This is a fab off grid CL! Under the trees or out in the open; the choice is yours. Yes it's a bit lumpy in places but it was easy to find flat spots and plenty of space to ensure privacy. There were three other vans on site when we were there this time, but it felt like we were on our own. The Tideswell Rake (the site of a medievil lead mine) runs through the site and makes for very interesting topography. We used the site as a starting point for a 9ish mile circular walk and there are plenty available. TA great place to explore the peaks away from the hotspots; uncrowded, peaceful and perfect. Buxton isn't far if that's your thing and the Anchor pub, a mile stroll down the road was friendly and welcoming. We recieved an informative friendly email after we'd booked and the owners daughter checked in with us after our arrival, with lots more local info. We've only ever stayed in autumn but will definitely visit in the Spring for a different perspective.

DDandCo

Campervanner from East Yorkshire

Reviewed on 22/11/2021 20:35

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Very scenic and peaceful

This off-grid site is lovely and allows you to choose from a variety of 'pitches' either in the open or under trees. We pitched up and were soon enjoying the peace and quiet which was only interrupted by the pair of nesting sparrow hawks as they looked after their young. Ajoining the site are some leads mines and these are great from both a historical point of view, and because of the wild-life (especially insects) that now have colonised the area - a lovely area for macro photographers at the right time of year. We had some lovely walks directly from the site around the quiet lanes and along the footpaths, which are numerous. The one downside is that the grass was a tad too long, and we got wet feet early in the mornings, as well as dragged grass into the van. Other than that, this is a lovely site, and the owners were very welcoming - we will return very soon.

Fatboy09

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 03/08/2021 15:13

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Could be even better!

Great area and views, nice to have the trees in hot weather. "slight slope" I would add with moon type crater's or be warned you can bottom out your van trying to find a flat spot. Not the best value as I personally don't like charging systems that start at £10 reduced to £9 if staying more than 2 nights with extra £1 for awning £5 for battery charging and no facility for rubbish disposal. Interestingly I didn't put up my awning as I couldn't find a flat spot. Friendly but perceived the idea most people who book for several days only stay one night. This is a working sheep farm and I did experience the occasional swam of flies, kind of goes with the territory & time of year. Also unfortunately not as peaceful as it could have been due to M'home generator running for several hours and a late arrival after 10pm driving around trying to find a flat spot - perhaps more the issue with members consideration for others than fault with the owner or site.

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Oodles of Character and Charm

Plenty of different types of motorhome/caravan 'habitats' to choose from so there should be something for everyone here. We chose to park up by the drystone wall and watch the sheep when we were in our motorhome. From here it's a short walk/cycle to the village of Tideswell with its shops and pubs. We also walked to Eyam and cycled to Bakewell. You could catch the bus to Buxton from down the road although we didn't this time. Next time we're in the area, we would happily return here.

mossypossy

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 27/06/2021 16:22

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Another site in our top 10

What a lovely CL in the middle of the Peak District, breathtaking views with plenty of places to explore. The site is only a mile from the main road so access is not a problem, you don’t hear any traffic noise at all, just peace and quiet and the sound of nature. There’s plenty of room to spread out with pitches at different levels, there is also a hard standing by the gate at the end of the track onto the site. Peter and his daughter Pauline are very friendly and regularly visit the site. We had a lovely meal in the newly opened Blind Bull inn at Little Hucklow, definitely worth a visit, we’ll be booking in for a Sunday roast on our next stay as we’re already planning a return visit to Tideslow Farm.

Jane Forster

Motorhomer from Merseyside

Reviewed on 25/09/2020 12:01

8 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great site

The is a truly excellent site. The view is great whether you drive up into the trees or stay in the open field below. The facilities are all that you need and are adequate for the purpose. Set in one of the loveliest parts of the dales there is so much to do in the area you might miss the wonders of the ancient lead mines running adjacent to the site. They present a fascinating walk full of history and wonderful views. One of the best sites we have ever stayed in.

FrankBOF

Reviewed on 23/08/2020 14:52

17 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fantastic!

I can see why this is such a loved and popular site. So easy to get to, the last mile or so takes you away from the main road and is down a single track lane, but loads of passing places, plus you can see well ahead of you so no nasty surprises. The site is away from the lane again down a gravel track. It's 4 acres with about 50% covered with trees, with mown tracks and areas between them, meaning that there is a pitch to suit all and you can really spread out. The site is undulating but plenty of flattish spaces. The owner arrived straight away and welcomed me, asking if I needed any help with the awning, he even popped in later to make sure that I had got it done okay. They called in most days to make sure all was well. During the first night we had a horrendous thunder storm and first thing in the morning the owner was on site making sure that everyone there were all okay, which was very kind and thoughtful. The views were different from each area of the site, and other than the odd vehicle down the lane (which you could hardly hear, the cyclists made more noise) it was total peace and quiet, stunning, relaxing and beautiful, I can see why it's so popular. There is so much to see and do in the area, from Moor-side walks to chilling out by one of the many reservoirs. Tideslow Farm is now one of my favorite places, and I will be going back there. FIVE STARS from Helen and Peanut (the Dog)

2 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Tideslow treasure

This CL is one that keeps drawing us back !! Large field with many options to pitch up,you can even go up into a wooded area and look down on the rest of the site Great walking from the gate,a little stroll up onto High Rake is a must-the view is heavenly Peter is a charming man,and always takes the trouble to visit you daily,and usually with a tale or two to tell ! Once you visit,be warned......you will feel compelled to return Thank you Peter

SHBJ

Reviewed on 06/09/2019 16:12

3 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely site, especially if you want somewhere quiet.

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this site. It's not hard to see why most people rate this site 5 stars. Lovely site in a very peaceful location. Great views on a clear day and the owners are extremely friendly. This is a working farm. Waking up in the morning to look out of the window and see sheep grazing on the grass literally just a few feet from my caravan was a nice touch! Facilities are extremely limited to say the least. Basically a hole in the ground to pour your chemical waste from the toilet, two water taps (one for drinking water & one for rinsing out the chemical toilet) & that's essentially it. There's no electricity on site, even the owners house several hundred yards down the road has no mains power (he runs his house on solar with a backup from a generator). If coming here you will need to be able to run your caravan or motor-home "off-grid", In other words you will need to have on-board toilet & shower facilities and be able to run everything off of gas and 12v electric from your leisure battery topped up with solar, but let's be honest, that's part of the fun of coming to a site like this!!! One other person commented about access being difficult with a tight turn and country lanes. I disagree. I didn't think it was that tight. Besides, what do you expect if you're going to a remote site in the middle of the countryside. There is a track from the road all the way to the middle of the field. It could possibly get a little soft underfoot (and easy to get stuck) in the winter months when you deviate from the track to park up, especially if you don't have a 4x4, but this would apply to most CL sites. Usual things apply when off-roading to park the caravan, keep the vehicle moving to keep the momentum up, don't stop in the dips, try not to let the wheels spin & don't stray too far from the track. I just got back from a short stay at the start of March and I had no problems with my front-wheel drive Vauxhall Zafira. 5 stars from me. I'd go again and happily recommend the site to anyone else looking for somewhere to stay.

dayjj

Campervanner

Reviewed on 05/03/2019 17:56

6 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely basic site

This is a lovely little site. Pauline and her father are friendly, welcoming and helpful without being obtrusive. They responded promptly to emails (amazing how many sites don't) with clear information and good directions. The site itself is a peaceful field surrounded by dry stone walls and beautiful countryside. There's almost nothing here. Nothing, that is, except beautiful views, excellent walks, and fantastic sunsets. What more could you want? There's plenty of space in the field for the number of units (I never felt cramped) and pitches are pretty flat. Access is good. Facilities are limited - a cold water tap and an elsan disposal point - so you do need to be prepared to use your own loo and shower. There's a good pub in the next village, about a mile away. If you're looking for a quiet, beautiful escape then I would recommend this site.

Peronel

Reviewed on 09/08/2018 21:49

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer