Totteridge Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Brilliant CL, does not get better than this.

Well where do we start, we are almost loathed to write this as everyone will want to go but that would not be fair to Caroline and Anthony, who run this place to the highest standard possible. Nothing is too much trouble and we felt in very safe hands whilst staying here. Caroline is very interesting, sound, knowledgeable and professional and we observed her handle a tricky situation perfectly. We were very grateful and felt most comfortable on the site knowing Caroline has such high standards, whilst still maintaining a calm and relaxed atmosphere and ensuring privacy. Caroline takes time to talk to you if you wish but does not intrude. The views are stunning, the peace is wonderful, we have never slept so well in years. The pitches are not laid out but there is ample space and lots of hook ups and water points so no need trek over the whole field to fill up. Don't bring eggs, the farm eggs are always on sale and are top quality. There is also wine for sale should you wish. We plan to try it next time. It is a working farm but does not intrude and everyone coming and going gives a wave. You are made to feel most welcome. The walks around the canal are lovely and we highly recommend going to the locks in Devizes. Caroline supplies a folder for each van full of up to date information on the site and area you can use for your stay and return to the hut for the next caravan/motor-home. We could go one and on about this site and cannot wait to go back. The only issue we had was we did not want to leave and cannot wait to go back.

PatrickW

Reviewed on 27/08/2019 17:11

3 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A Timeless and Beautiful Rural Setting

We and our Sproodle (Woof! Woof!) have just returned from spending ten days at Totteridge Farm. Despite being a working farm, our hosts, Caroline and Anthony, were warm, friendly and welcoming. Caroline kept in touch throughout our stay and we got the impression that nothing would be too much trouble. The fresh farm eggs were a lovely touch and we even learnt which mushrooms were safe to eat for breakfast! The purple file for personal use was a great idea. It contained tourist information and some lovely walks, including one or two easy circular routes for oldies like us. There was also safe dog walking around field edges owned by the farm and a five minute walk led to the beautiful canal ... more dog walking ... to Wooton Rivers and the lovely pub there, that seems to be open all day. Our van is only a two berth and we managed the last mile or so of narrow lanes easily. The views across the valley were lovely: all golden wheat and green hills with the sun setting in the west. There is a train, out of sight, down in the valley but, for us, it just added to the charm of the place. The area itself is gorgeous. Pewsey is delightful and has most things you would need (including a supplier of bottled gas). Wilton and Wilton Windmill is worth a visit but aim for Sunday as it's run by volunteers. The location was also great for travelling to Avebury, Stonehenge and Old Sarum. Thankyou for a wonderful stay. Totteridge Farm has joined our list of special CLs. Hopefully, we'll be back before too long.

Reviewed on 17/08/2019 15:32

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Wonderful weekend

We are just back from a wonderful weekend on this beautiful site. We were made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble for our hosts Caroline and Anthony even though they were in the middle of a very busy Harvest. The directions to the site were very clear and the site itself was very well maintained overlooking stunning views. Caroline checked in on us regularly and there were always fresh eggs available. The village of Pewsey was just down the road where we had a lovely meal at the Waterfront Pub overlooking the Kennet and Avon Canal. Thanks again Caroline - we’ll definitely be back.

kerryt

Caravanner from Dorset

Reviewed on 05/08/2019 17:00

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Rural England At It's Best.

We spent 2 nights here this week where the views from all 5 pitches were magnificent, each pitch had a picnic table, water & electric point, & the site is level & firm. Caroline was extremely helpful with plenty of information about the local area.I would recommend this Cl to anyone wanting a central point to explore this beautiful part of Wiltshire. Thanks Tony & Sylvia Williams

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautiful CL set in lovely countryside with plenty of space

Caroline could not have been more helpful during our two night stay even getting some shopping for us! The flat site is positioned with good views across the downs. There is a picnic table available for each of the five visiting outfits and you are basically able to pitch where you like so a long electric cable can be an advantage! Well kept grass with daily fresh eggs on sale. The walking from the site is excellent and it is possible to walk into Pewsey along the Kennet and Avon canal.Definitely on our return visit list, this time with bikes.

HitchinPhil

Reviewed on 08/07/2019 12:44

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautiful place to unwind

Booked this site after asking for recommendations for an adult only, peaceful site (our dog isn’t keen on traffic etc). It is a gem of Site! Postcard view of fields and the hillside from the pitches, beautiful sunsets and most of all..... you can’t hear any major roads. It is a working farm so the private road that runs through the site gets its fair share of slow moving vehicles but it goes silent in the evening and the noisiest thing on the campsite are the guinea fowl (they are noisy and they are inquisitive little things!) Plenty of walking to be done from the site, the canal is about 5 mins or so down a very quiet country road. There’s a pub within walking distance in the other direction but we didn’t venture that way as it was a scorching few days, so short dog walks only. Caroline and her husband are fabulous hosts and will do whatever they can to make you feel at home and we look forward to returning soon! Ferg and Matt

Ferg77

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 04/07/2019 20:27

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Just right.

Nearly cancelling due to the very poor weather June 2019, Caroline said that cancelling would not be a problem, but that the site was very firm and should not be a problem. We decided to check the site out and I am so glad we did. It was indeed very dry and firm, but what a view. The valley before us was just brilliant. Within 500 yards was the canal, walks left and right, footpaths around the farm, what more could you want. We tried Martinset hill and managed to get halfway up, but then I am in my seventies. Caroline was just lovely, full of useful information...often stopped for a chat. Wildlife was as good as I hoped, not going to list it, others have done so. Managed to get the last box of eggs, can't believe how brown they were. Caroline has installed Camping Pods...so friends who do not have a van, can get accommodation very near you. I really hope we get back that way soon. 'Caroline', we were the guests who had the Border Terrier.

greylag

Reviewed on 22/06/2019 19:17

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfection

Totteridge Farm is the best CL Site I have found in 35 years of Caravanning. Caroline was an excellent host who offers a site which catered for all our needs. The fresh farm eggs were awesome. Just loved the place, great.

Oldfield54

Caravanner from West Yorkshire

Reviewed on 14/06/2019 06:51

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Thank you

Stayed for 6 nights leading up to first May Bank Holiday and found the site to be very easily accessible, a good choice of pitches and when Caroline returned from her weekend away she stopped to make sure we were settled and to pass on her wealth of local knowledge regarding places to visit. The site is very peaceful only being woken by the Cuckoo (perfect) and a good base to explore the local towns, villages and canals. We have found a little gem and will definitely be back.

CJ50

Reviewed on 12/05/2019 17:49

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

easter weekend 2019

Lovely site warm welcome on our from caroline wells we were given an information pack about local attractions in the area which we visited the bird song was lovely in the morning to hear I would recommend this site nice views so 10 out 10 for a good weekend I would be back. we had a nice bike ride along the canal very peaseful just seeing barges going along. Paul Rogers

PaulsDen

Caravanner from Dorset

Reviewed on 23/04/2019 09:16

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer