Brecon Beacons Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Great Site

Great site. Within walking distance of Brecon along a canal. Good dog walks around. A great pub just up the road serving food. Excellent facilities and very clean.

Lynneallan

Caravanner from West Glamorgan

Reviewed on 24/07/2015 12:10

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great site, but better in term time

We have visited this site on numerous occasions, but not in school holidays. Unsupervised children racing up and down, often the wrong way, on bikes and across pitches spoiled this visit. Otherwise great site with easy access to superb walking and good facilities.

Bozeatsal

Reviewed on 23/07/2015 09:52

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Odd distribution of Standard & Serviced Pitches

First visit to this site last week, 6 nights. We loved the area, fabulous hill walking, lovely quiet walk along the canal into Brecon (once you've managed to survive the A40/A470 roundabout), terrific pub 10 minutes out of the back of the site. There are a couple of downsides; the quieter side of the site, furthest from the A40, has all the white pegs and tent pitches but the smallest toilet block. The side of the site with all the serviced pitches (red pegs) has a bigger toilet block yet less people using it. There were frequent queues for WCs and Showers in the "quiet side" block, the one next to the shop. It also seemed to me that the ratio of standard to serviced pitches is wrong, too many of the latter and not enough of the former. Overall we very much enjoyed our stay at Brecon but I must finish with a gripe, not about the site or the wardens or even the Club but about the parents and grandparents who do not supervise children. Within 24hrs of the schools breaking up on the Friday there was a stark decrease in the cleanliness of the WCs & Showers and an equivalent increase in the amount of dog poo not being picked up in the dog walking area. This applies to every site every school holiday despite appeals from the Club for children to be supervised.

HowieT

Caravanner from Cheshire

Reviewed on 22/07/2015 18:23

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Fabulous Site

Just returned to caravanning after 20 years. This was our first site selection as we love the Brecon Beacons. Site was very clean and and well attended,toilets were spotless and staff were very helpfull. Small downside there is some traffic noise from the nearby road. Let's look at the good points the site has a good dog walking area and is well within reach of the Monmouth and Brecon canal which provides a good towpath for a walk into Brecon which takes about 30 minutes. We will return to the site.

Finglenook

Caravanner from Avon

Reviewed on 21/07/2015 19:42

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Best CC site We have stayed at

This site was pristine, within walking distance along the canal to Brecon, within 15 minutes walk of a local food serving pubs which welcomes dogs. The site staff were extremely helpful we had to call the RAC out and they should them where we were on site. Toilets and showers are immaculate with background music playing. The shop has everything you would need. Even has a dog wash for when my water happy spaniel bounded into the river. The dog walk was brilliant and even satisfied my bundle of energy.

Tweed1

Motorhomer from Cheshire

Reviewed on 21/07/2015 16:44

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Excellent site

Just returned from an 11 night stay at this site, we received a very friendly and informative welcome on arrival, all the wardens were always very friendly and the site is spotlessly clean both toilet blocks are new and large, yes there is some road noise but we didn't find it intrusive.The canal path walk into Brecon is easy and worth the effort although two busy roads have to be crossed with care, we didn't feel our lives were at risk. Contrary to other reviews we didn't hear any gunshots from military base whether it just depends on what training is taking place. Only downside, we have an omni-directional aerial and couldn't always receive bbc channels but a small price to pay given the quality of the site. Good dog walk, shop useful sells essentials and basic spares. 

pitchedup

Caravanner from Derbyshire

Reviewed on 20/07/2015 22:33

13 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

One of the Best sites we've stayed on

Stayed on this site at the end of a two week tour of Wales and so glad we did! Wonderful welcome from the wardens all of them so friendly and helpful. The site is very clean and has an excellent toilet and shower block of which there are two on site. The shop alongside reception had a great selection of food and other items you might need. Newspapers and magazines and hot croissants for breakfast delicious !  Location is great for the town, once you carefully cross the nearby main road the walk alongside the canal into Brecon is lovely no need to rush just stroll and watch the occasional boat go by. it's a lovely town too. Lots of shops and eateries. Would recommend to anyone visiting the area.

malankaff

Motorhomer from Essex

Reviewed on 20/07/2015 17:54

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great site

We have just got back from the Club site at Brecon and would recommend it to everyone. Wardens very pleasant and helpful facilities very clean and the pitches well kept. Thank you for a great weekend

MERANN

Caravanner from Wiltshire

Reviewed on 19/07/2015 16:00

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

3 Night Stay

The wardens were very helpful on our arrival and there was plenty of pitch choices although the site filled up at the weekend. Toilet facilities etc were excellent and, even with a full site, we never had to queue. Pitches are spacious, and well spaced so no feeling of being cramped. Good walking along the nearby canal but you take you life in your hands crossing the roundabout to get to it. Excellent food at the local pub (walking distance) if a little expensive. Only negatives were the road noise from the adjacent roads and the wedding reception held in a building adjacent the site although the disco was short lived and did not go on late.

DaveG

Caravanner from Essex

Reviewed on 11/07/2015 19:37

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great site shame about the noise.

This was our first visit to the site and we were greeted on a Friday evening by very friendly wardens even though we were quite late after being held up on the M4 for 3 hours. We chose one of the many fully serviced pitches within easy reach of the amenity block (which as you would come to expect from the CC were excellent). We set up and settled in for the night, we expected a bit of road noise as I had Google Earthed the location prior to travelling and was aware of the close proximity to the A40. But what we didn't expect was to be next to  Donnington Park in the middle of a Super Bike meeting. It sounded like every wannabe racer was out on the A40 that night and a couple of other nights throughout our stay. The one thing we hadn't expected was to be woken on Saturday morning thinking that we were in the centre of Kandahar with the gun shots from the near by firing range of the infantry battle school. This was heard on and off until roughly midday every day except for Sunday. Now for the positives, once we got used to the noises (after a few days) we really enjoyed the stay. The site was very clean and well laid out with every warden we met being very friendly and helpful. The dog walking area was fantastic and well laid out. We walked the 10 minute path to the Three Horseshoes pub and enjoyed a fantastic meal, the savoury welsh cake starter was to die for. This site is well positioned for easy access to the beacons national park, and a trip to Big Pit is a must.  And if you are a fan of pizza then a visit to LaBelle pizza (http://www.labellepizza.co.uk/) in the town centre for one of the best pizza's you will ever eat.

CraigB4842

Caravanner from Suffolk

Reviewed on 23/06/2015 18:17

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer