Hunter's Moon Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Another great stay - Thank you

Great site in the middle of Wareham Forest. Easy to access from any direction. Usual standards of cleanliness and pitch size. Well laid out with quiet areas and areas nearer the play park and tents etc. We stayed for 4 nights and enjoyed walks in the local area (Easy 1 hour walk to Wareham for a afternoon tea). Wifi and tv reception seemed fine. No disturbances at all from road noise etc. Definitely worth a visit if you are in the area.

Mike and Cheryl

Caravanner

Reviewed on 28/02/2024 11:55

25 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Patchy TV and Wi fi

Nice site and friendly welcome from wardens on arrival,visited early January so very quiet, Have been numerous times and stayed on the lower pitches near reception and everything was fine,this time we stayed on the higher pitches further away from reception and TV and Wi fi was very poor,even plugging aerial cable into bollard did not help,i mentioned this to the Warden but i think they had heard this before,sugesting it could be my van but have stayed on 3 sights since with limited TV reception and all fine. Would stay again as it is in such a good location for Swanage and surrounding area,can't comment on the site next door as we were not even aware it was there.

ScreenName6EFF8552C0

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 23/02/2024 10:20

17 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Agree with previous reviewer, standards have dropped.

We stayed here for a few nights in Jan, after having previously visited this site about 4 years ago (albeit in the summer months). This time we chose a (hardstanding) pitch to the right hand side of the site if looking from the road. Firstly we thought the whole site was looking tired. There were weeds/moss on the pitches and we arrived just after a named storm so there were a lot of twigs and fallen branches all over the roads and not once did we see anyone come a clean them up. What we didn't realise was that being on that side of the site we were right next to the back of the travellers site and they have dogs left outside and they did bark all night long. We have got quite a large caravan (8m) and we also thought that the pitches were very much on the small side. As a lot of caravans and cars are rather large now this is definitely something that the CAMC need to address. We didn't end up using the toilets/showers as used our own so cant comment on them. However it is in a great location and we enjoyed walking our dog in Wareham forest but the footpaths to the Silent women are practically impassable due to floodwater (I would recommend just walking via the road instead) We also enjoyed a nice lunch in the Silent Women, which since we were last here has been taken over by a young family so I wish them well with that. We will probably not return to this site.

Clpr1

Caravanner

Reviewed on 11/02/2024 11:31

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Not up to standard

A good location for Wareham and the forest. Toilets not very clean just a cursory squirt of loo cleaner and some days not anything at all as the same stains were there the next day. Lots of noise from the traveller site next door, dogs barking all night. Sorry we won't be rushing back.

ClubMemberA752D19F92

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 13/01/2024 15:48

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Daisy: Hunter's Moon Stay November 2023

Our first time visiting Hunter's Moon and we were very impressed. The site was easy to find, following the directions given, and the roads were good. The wardens were very welcoming and helpful and Mick was very patient with us. We didn't realise we had to twist the electric plug on our pitch but he came to show us and, also, when we had lost our hose connector which they found for us in the shop. The shower facilities were warm and spotless. We tried to walk into Wareham along the footpath from the site, but it was flooded from the lake, but this must be due to the exceptional amount of rain we've had. It is a very busy road, too busy to walk along, so we called a taxi company and Debbie was great. (Purbeck Taxi Centre, 01929 556575). (The bus only runs in the summer months). Wareham is a lovely spot and The Old Granary pub was exceptional, in terms of ambience and food. We'll definitely be back when we can hopefully use the footpath, and do a boat trip from the quay in Wareham.

ClubMember3AEA50737A

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 14/11/2023 08:25

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Excellent service and pleasant overnight en route to Devon

We decided to stop over on the way to Devon, but wanted somewhere comfortable as we had not used our new motorhome much before. It was convenient to find from the main road, but far enough away to be reasonably quiet. There was a bit of noise from the adjacent site. but not enough to ruin the stay and it stopped at a reasonable time. Wardens were very welcoming and helpful. helping us select the best pitch for us. Shower and loo block was spotless, warm and spacious. The dog field was lovely and allowed a good run around before setting off in the morning. All in all, a good stopover for us.

tobysalt

Reviewed on 18/10/2023 12:14

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Did not enjoy this time

On arrival asked if we could have pitch 22 didn’t mind noise of dogs from travellers site but all pitches closed that end but next day Motorhome pitched there was told they had parked on there and could not ask them to more as already pitched Cable tv was not working on most pitches even though we was told all was repaired day we arrived always told could not hold a pitch but seen this done twice no all wardens helpful toilets very clean but no slip signs put up floor could been dry mopped an accident waiting to happen. As for wi fi it’s s..t free are even if you pay if you need to do things for work you have no chance we only live in Weymouth so handy for us but things need to improve

Charles Smith

Caravanner

Reviewed on 14/10/2023 19:30

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great Site

I often stay at this site and have never had a bad experience. All the facilities are in good condition and very clean. The landscaping of the site is always well kept. The wardens have always been very friendly and extremely helpful with their advice and dealing with any problems you may have. There is some noise from dogs at the site next door but my experience is that these are not as bad as some dogs on this site, who normally start the barking off. If I had any issues it is with dog owners that do not make any attempt to stop their dogs “yapping”, I say yapping as it is mainly smaller dogs not larger ones that “bark”. My other issue is the number of drivers cars and motorhomes that do not respect the site speed limits. Other than that WELL DONE HUNTERS MOON long May it continue.

Ashers

Caravanner from South Yorkshire

Reviewed on 21/09/2023 20:19

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great site!

We stayed here for the last 4 nights, what a great site this is, all the staff are very friendly and the site managers went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. The site is very clean, toilets and showers are impeccable. Beautiful location, very quiet which is what we wanted, we loved it! Thanks guys we will see you next time.

ClubMemberB8AB8C7922

Campervanner

Reviewed on 22/08/2023 21:16

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Could be a lot better

Arrived on site to very friendly wardens ,who we’re informative,and efficient . The facilities were as usual for club standard,very clean at all times . Unfortunately areas of the site are getting poor and neglected, ( which must be said this problem isn’t down to the wardens ) ,it’s the club ,especially the north side . Pitches are blanketed with massively huge trees, and hedges which are in desperate need of surgery . If you are unfortunate to be in this area you’re unit can be subject to tree sap ,bird droppings . These pitches are very poor for club standards, and needs to be addressed . So it wasn’t surprising the site wasn’t full ,for high season. It’s doubtful we will be returning.

7 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer