Hunter's Moon Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

End of season blues

We were greeted by a pleasant warden who gave us information about pitch availability and location. The pitch was noisy due to the neighbouring site, not the club's fault. The general state of the site was tired and unkempt; grass hadn't been cut, leaves not swept up, lots of weeds established on hardstanding pitches, over grown tree branches.I know the season is drawing to a close, but late season holiday makers are entitled to same level of service as early season. The soap dispenser was not refilled during our stay.

mcshuey

Reviewed on 27/09/2021 17:30

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Nice site but has issues

We were greeted by a miserable receptionist who converserd with the absolute minimum and never asked for our membership cards. Really felt welcome after a 6 hour trip! We pitched on the grass pitches which were quite spacious and quiet. Facilities were good and clean. Security was very poor. We were given a key fob to enter the site and only used it twice in the 7 days we were there. The rest of the time the bar was raised, even at 05:30 on the morning we left. This meant access to anyone from the road and easy exit as it is an auto barrier when you exit. We thought it was quiet until two evenings about 9pm when WW3 broke out. Tank fire, machine gun fire and helicopter activity for 2 - 3 hours. No mention of that in the site details. We had seen a range near Durdle Door but didn't think it was that close. If you are going here and want a quiet stay I would suggest a phone call to see if they are aware of any army activity during your stay. Despite this I would stay here again.

washfowler

Caravanner

Reviewed on 16/09/2021 18:28

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Noisy Neighbours

Facilities and site grounds clean and well maintained and although close to road noise level was acceptable, however the constant barking and sometimes howling at all times of the day from adjacent site was not acceptable and perhaps a comment should be included in the clubs on site directory. Wifi was poor and phone signal almost non-existent, overwise the stay was acceptable.

Brumegem

Caravanner

Reviewed on 12/09/2021 17:03

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Shame about the neighbours

Site and pitch were great. Toilets and showers very clean. Such a shame about the noise from the next door travellers site. Looking at other reviews seems we got off lightly with dogs barking and howling and the cockerel crowing. There was no noise from people, but it certainly put us off another visit. Shame because it's nice otherwise and very well situated

ScreenNameD15319ACD4

Caravanner

Reviewed on 10/09/2021 20:10

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Fantastic

On arrival met by (presumably) husband & wife, very jolly and friendly. Made way to pitch and set up. Second trip as new member with new ( for me) motorhome. Very well laid out, very clean site. Very impressed. Good job morning Cockerell lived up to alarm clock or else could have carried on sleeping!! Busy road nearby but went quiet just after lights out, or maybe we were so relaxed and tired and didn't notice!! Overall loved it, and suitably impressed.

ScreenName32DEE686BB

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 01/09/2021 18:41

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Disappointed

We stayed here for 4 nights in August. Agree with previous review, when checking in, lady was very curt. When I asked for a recommendation for a peaceful, quiet spot she advised all spots were quiet. This was NOT the case. We stayed on pitch 21 and to the back is a Council Run Residential Caravan park. Dogs barking day and night, loud music and shouting. We were told by another warden that we could move if we wanted but felt on day 2 of our stay, this was a little late. I would not recommend parking anywhere along the back row - from pitch 25 down to pitch 14. Good points - very clean and well maintained shower blocks - lovely hot showers with continuous water flow. Nice little on site shop that sold fresh baked goods at the weekends. Bus stop right outside the gate taking you to Wareham, the train station and beyond. Direct access to the forest from the park - DONT forget to get the gate code to get back in!! Also, lovely dog exercise field on the park. It was such a shame about the noise at this park. If the lady at check in had of been honest with me, we could have parked on the grass area at the opposite side of the site which would have resulted in this review being much more positive.

ScreenNameED19367E81

Campervanner

Reviewed on 30/08/2021 13:05

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Dont pitch on 15 - 20

Busy on arrival, lady in office was a little curt with people. Not what you want after a 4.5 hr journey that should be 2.5 We found a pitch No19, set up sat down with a brew and started to hear kids over the hedge, we thought it was another campsite, then dogs started barking.. this went on for a couple of hrs and we asked a neighbour how long it went on, he said the kids go quiet of a night, the dogs are contstant. At this point we took the opportunity to move pitches. Fortunately we did have the awning. We found out that it is a permanent travellers site. Once set up we decided to head to the pub down the road, on the way out the main entrance we went to the office, I mentioned the noise and that it might be a good idea to mention to new arrivals that the noise can be an issue. I got a curt response. The warden was helpful and explained there was a walk from back of site through woods etc to pub which is safer than road walk, cars come down the road very fast (50-60mph) and there is no path. The walk takes an extra 10 mins (20mins total) and is very pleasant. Could be muddy after rain. The pub is lovely, food is pub food, limited menu but nice. Staff are lovely, honest & helpful. The site is ideally located for visiting the area Ifs a clean site as all CAMH sites we have visited. Rhere is NO telephone signal and wifi doesnt work. So be prepared. All in all its an ok site.

antf

Caravanner

Reviewed on 28/08/2021 09:18

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Sad about Wifi

Great site. Well managed. Good location. Tidy facilities. But phone reception next to nothing, and needed WiFi was non existent. Such a shame that such a small thing could ruin a weeks stay.

ScreenName20682EEF24

Reviewed on 27/08/2021 17:52

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Nice Dorset Break

We visited Hunters Moon in August 2021 for 7 nights. We wanted to visit Monkey World and the Dorset coast so this site was ideally placed. We really enjoyed our stay as the site was clean and well run, wardens were friendly and polite and there was plenty of walking options direct from the site. Nearby Wareham was very nice and as we had a small car with us other places of interest were within easy reach. Would definitely recommend this site and would stay again if we were touring in the area.

Campervan Jan

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 26/08/2021 10:45

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Disappointed

 

 

 

- This review was removed. We are so sorry you had a bad experience at our campsite but we do ask that reviews are not used as a means of complaint. If you have an issue on site please contact the relevant department by visiting the contact us page. We reserve the right to remove any reviews that we feel would be better dealt with as a complaint. Thank you for your understanding. -

debswms

Caravanner

Reviewed on 12/08/2021 18:01

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer