Longleat Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Well laid out with Longleat park on doorstep

We stayed here a few times last year and once again reminded us that though this is a big site, lots of thoughtful layouts means you're not always allocated to "caravan row". Longleat of course is on the doorstep and nearby shops in Frome or Warminster will suffice. Mobile reception is poor - a 3 signal can be found nearest to the dog walk. Wifi signal and speed is pitiful - probably there is no bandwidth to the site but it was so slow and sporadic I wouldn't advise unless you really really need it. Bathrooms spotless and surprisingly busy for the very first day of the season. Only thing we'd prefer is dog owners avoid their pets fouling on grassed areas around the site. We were positioned near enough to the dog walk where there is a big grass circle with trees that the kids play in and it seemed some dogs couldn't wait to get to the woods. I doubt even the most careful owner can pick up all parasites and nasties through a plastic bag and I guess if a dog's got to go, it's got to go but it seems quite commonplace to see dogs defecating around the site, not just at Longleat but other CC sites we've stayed at recently.

brownibay

Caravanner from Avon

Reviewed on 25/03/2015 20:00

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

wet week in longleat

had a fantastic week in longleat rained every day and every night but still had a fantastic time and would recommend this site to everyone great site great wardens clean and well looked after only down side is the access through the village it requires care and attention signs not the best the site could do with a bit more to do in the evenings bar or club house other than that perfect cant wait to return

DAVY46

Caravanner from Cleveland

Reviewed on 22/03/2015 21:47

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great site and steps from Longleat Safari Park

We had a great one-night stay at the Longleat site. Staff were very professional and friendly. Facilities, (toilets, showers and washing up rooms) were all very clean and well maintained. Steps away from the Longleat Safari Park which was really great, also a few minutes drive from supermarkets if you need anything.

rollerpolar

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 08/03/2015 23:38

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

First time but not last

Stayed for the first time over new year on our way to Devon. Wardens were great, very friendly and helpful despite the busy day they were having. Site was spotless with excellent facilities and well laid out so didn't feel crowded despite its size. Look forward to returning to take advantage of the discounted entry to park and to explore the area.

RosieB54

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 08/01/2015 16:50

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Weekend getaway

This was the third time we've stayed at Longleat and the site and the facilities on site are extremely good. The managers we really friendly and nice. Unfortunately we were unable to get into the Longleat House site and use the restaurants without having to pay the full admission price for each day. This was a problem as there are no other pubs or restaurants within walking distance so we had to drive to a pub on the main road just to get some food. Not sure we'd go again if this situation continues.

Ciao

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 08/01/2015 09:46

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great for four days at New Year

A lovely site and ideal for our short New Year break. The fireworks and Chinese lanterns at Longleat were very good. Site staff hosted a get together leading up to midnight in the family room which was a nice touch and better than sitting alone the van! The facilities were very clean and staff extremely helpful. We would happily return next year for NYE if Longleat have a suitable event.

MarkLauraH

Reviewed on 07/01/2015 22:06

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great getaway for any time of the year but magical at christmas

Having visited the site twice previously this time was no different. The wardens are very friendly and the facilities very clean. The hot showers and a warm wash room are a godsend when the temperature is minus 5.... The site was very clean and we often saw the wardens driving around in their little buggy checking bins etc....The funniest job we saw them doing was defrosting the drinking water pipe after an exceptionally cold night - this was after my husband had trundled over in his pj's to fill up the aquaroll only to Fi do he couldn't as the pipes were frozen. We spent 4 nights here over new year and took advantage of the 30% off tickets offered by the club for entrance to longleat. When we were not able to enter on 30th December it was explained to us by the wardens that although visitors to the site can usually just walk into longleat this is only a concession and that it can be withdrawn at any time. Whilst disappointing for us on our last night not to be able to take advantage of this I can understand why longleat made the decision to ensure all visitors had purchased tickets. That aside the Chinese light display was amazing. To see the creations come to light at dusk was very special. We had seen the displays being created when we were here in October so to see them again finished was magical. Previous comments about the entry to the site being very narrow and difficult for a twin axle van I don't agree with. Providing you arrive after the time stipulated by the club and leave at the right time you should not meet any other large vehicles coming the other way.  In the event you meet a tractor the farmers are more than likely happy to manovere out of your way as they know the area - it's also easier to reverse a tractor!!!!! Whilst visiting the site we also took advantage of a trip to bath. This is a beautiful city and a trip up the Abbey is definitely worth while even with 212 steps to climb along the way. Sadly we didn't have time to visit the roman baths or the therma spa but they will definitely be on the agenda when we next return.

tracy1310

Caravanner from Kent

Reviewed on 06/01/2015 21:35

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great family break for New Year

We stayed for 4 nights over the New Year period and had an amazing time. The site is perfectly located and walking into Longleat is quick and easy (exit the site, turn left and walk for 30m!). We were impressed with how family focussed Longleat is. You expect the animals but everything has the family in mind, such as the Chinese lantern display, early fireworks display (6.30pm) and even the house which has fairytale characters (real life actors) in each room to entertain the children. Our 3 year old son loved the Chinese lanterns and the considerable investment that Longleat had put into their inaugural display was definitely worth it. The safari park is also great fun even if our car left the monkey enclosure without the roof bar capping that it started with! Ticketing was under focus when we were there because there had been concerns about people abusing the ability to walk into the park and by-passing Guest Services to buy a ticket. Please don't spoil this privilege for the majority. The Longleat staff are very helpful and identified the cheapest way for us to buy the tickets we needed for an evening to see the lantern display and fireworks (note that twilight tickets are only available on certain days) and another day for the safari and other attractions. A short-term multi-day pass for Caravan clubbers would be a win-win for Longleat and the Caravan Club. In addition to the location, the site was well laid out with good facilities which are kept clean by the hard working staff. Our son also really enjoyed the play area. The wardens were always extremely helpful and I appreciated their assistance, particularly as this was our first time touring. We've already pencilled in a return trip with friends for next year!

Andy Simpson

Caravanner from Hampshire

Reviewed on 06/01/2015 13:46

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great for seeing in the New Year

My wife, our border collie and myself spent three nights on the site to see in the new year, not been away for new year before but it was great and we would definitely do it again. The firework display was amazing and we had a really good view from the site. Plus it was much quieter at midnight than ever is at home, with fireworks going off for hours, we didn't have that at the site as the display was early in the evening. The wardens were friendly and the site well laid out and kept clean and tidy. We would recommend this site to families and couples alike. We did find the dog walk very boggy though, and had a lack of space to exercise our dog, but everything else more than made up for that.

eighties

Reviewed on 05/01/2015 17:47

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Our third visit in 2014

An excellent site and fortunately for us, just 45 mins journey to the site. We were fortunate to see the beautiful Festival of Light during our first evening before the evening security staff were put in place as we approached New Year's Eve. We were treated to a great firework display as we had a birds' eye view from our pitch which also enjoyed the afternoon winter sun.  The site was immaculate as always and we would like to thank the wardens who had their work cut out as the site filled up for New Year. They did a sterling job and I am sure they would have welcomed more help as there are normally 3 pairs of wardens on site in main season.  We are looking forward to planning our next visit. 

madaboutmotorhoming

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 04/01/2015 21:02

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer