Coney Heath (formerly Pippin Heath)
Hunworth Road, Holt, Norfolk, NR25 6SSView on map
Why stay here ...
Having been caravanners, ourselves, for 42 years, we have tried to keep up with the needs of our caravanners by offering all hard standings, electric hook-ups, TV aerial, water and grey waste connections to each pitch, making a stay at our CL very enjoyable and easy for all. The site itself is a very well maintained lawned area of 0.75 of an acre surrounded by shrubs and trees and the pitches are all well spaced. Recycling is encouraged.
Holt, our nearest town is just a mile away and has a wide variety of individual shops, including 'Bakers and Larners' which some claim to be the 'Harrods' of Norfolk, numerous coffee shops and antique shops. The surrounding area boasts a number of very fine restaurants, and for those who like a bargain, weekly markets at neighbouring towns.
The site is on a bus route for Holt, Sheringham, Cromer, Fakenham, Norwich and King's Lynn. The 'Coast Hopper' can be accessed at Sheringham and follows the coast road to Cley, Blakeney, Wells next the Sea, Burnham Market, Hunstanton and King's Lynn (so bring your bus passes - should you be mature enough to have one!!)
We are fortunate to have numerous National Trust properties, plus Sandringham, within 20 miles, also the nature reserves of Cley, Blakeney and Titchwell and the beautiful sandy beaches of Holkham and Wells next the Sea, within 10 miles.
Roger and Marjorie look forward to welcoming you to their CL.
Would you please be kind enough to provide your own water hose and grey waste pipe.
Advanced booking advised. No dogs. Fully serviced pitches.
Bed and Breakfast available.
Latest arrival time: 12:00 AM
Latest departure time: 11:00 AM
Electric amperage: 16
You need to be a Club member to view directions to this Certificated Location. Log in
- NR25 6SS
- Lat 52.884645 / Lon 1.080547
- OS field ref:
- OS map ref:
- Bus stop within 1 mile
- Buses go to: Holt, Sheringham, Cromer, Fakenham, Norwich and King's Lynn
- Daily public transport within 1 mile
- Nearest train station: Sheringham
- Train station within 5 miles
Log in to write a review
We looked for somewhere to visit during the storms of Feb 2020. The solution was to visit a site where the weather had been driest with hard standings. This meant that we chose Coney Heath, based on descriptions and photos, the photos are a true likeness of (unlike some we have seen in favourable conditions). It has to be said that this is one of the better 'basic sites' (no wi-fi, toilets etc) we have visited in our time (over 60 in all), and that the hard standings are of a high standard. The grass did not cut up between standings as we had to drive over it to reach the caravan standing - this shows how well the site drains. There is a minor road next to it, but don't most sites have one - otherwise how do you get to visit them. I have to admit that we didn't notice the road, nor did we notice the owls except on one occasion, but that is likely due to the high winds experienced at the time. The price £17 (winter rates), would seem reasonable to me, as there has been some investment to the upkeep of the site to make this a a very nice overall location. North Norfolk is not a usual destination for us, but I am certainly glad we made the visit and it was better than sitting at home. Would I consider it again, definitely.
We book CL's based on their descriptions in the handbook and this site was, like every other site we have stayed at over the last 15 years, described as 'peaceful'! Unfortunately, the road. less than 30 yards from our pitch, seems to be used like a race track, with cars blasting past at 60 mph every couple of minutes! That is not my idea of a 'peaceful' site, so we left after one night and found a CL a short distance away that WAS quiet and peaceful. Yes, this site does have good facilities, although both the waste disposal points on our pitch were blocked. Yes, it is handy for Holt, but if you want peace and quiet, try the CL's near Wighton, they are much quieter. In the middle of this site, there is a notice board with a message telling people that, if you leave before the end of your booked period, you are liable to pay for the whole stay! This is the only CL I have ever stayed on which had a similar notice, so I can only assume that other members have also not agreed with the full description of this site. This is the only CL I have ever stayed on that required £50 deposit! When I informed the owners that we were leaving and told them our reasons, they became quite aggressive and demanded payment for the night we had stayed AND kept the deposit - this was a very expensive nights stay!
Comment from the Club
Thank you for leaving a review. The CL Owners have been in touch as they work really hard to ensure everyone has a wonderful time at their site and would like to address the concerns you have raised. They advised they find the word aggressive inaccurate and try to help guests wherever they can. The road does get busy for a couple of hours each morning and afternoon during rush hour but after that it quietens down considerably and they have never had anyone leave the site in 30 years of operation. If people ask when booking about road noise they are very honest about it. As you had booked for a 2 week stay and they had held the booking for you for 9 months, they were £158 short for the 2 weeks and unlikely to resell the pitch at such short notice, this is why they charge a deposit which many CL sites do as they are small businesses and need to have some protection in order to be able to afford to continue operating. The notice on the board was actually from a fellow CL Owner on their advice as many CL Owners support each other and share information and advice.
Each individual pitch has their own waste disposal point and these are checked regularly. As with any concerns the CL Owners will do their utmost to help.
As you can see from previous reviews many members love this site and return year after year. We are sorry that you did not enjoy the site and that you were able to find one more suitable to your requirements.