Coney Heath (formerly Pippin Heath)

Hunworth Road, Holt, Norfolk, NR25 6SS

View on map

Rated 5 of 5

Community rating

Read reviews

Ideal for ...

  • Adults
  • Beach stays
  • Peaceful stays

Why stay here ...

Having been caravanners, ourselves, for 42 years, we have tried to keep up with the needs of our caravanners by offering all hard standings, electric hook-ups, TV aerial, water and grey waste connections to each pitch, making a stay at our CL very enjoyable and easy for all. The site itself is a very well maintained lawned area of  0.75 of an acre surrounded by shrubs and trees and the pitches are all well spaced. Recycling is encouraged.

Holt, our nearest town is just a mile away and has a wide variety of individual shops, including 'Bakers and Larners' which some claim to be the 'Harrods' of Norfolk, numerous coffee shops and antique shops. The surrounding area boasts a number of very fine restaurants, and for those who like a bargain, weekly markets at neighbouring towns.

The site is on a bus route for Holt, Sheringham, Cromer, Fakenham, Norwich and King's Lynn. The 'Coast Hopper' can be accessed at Sheringham and follows the coast road to Cley, Blakeney, Wells next the Sea, Burnham Market, Hunstanton and King's Lynn (so bring your bus passes - should you be mature enough to have one!!)

We are fortunate to have numerous National Trust properties, plus Sandringham, within 20 miles, also the nature reserves of Cley, Blakeney and Titchwell and the beautiful sandy beaches of Holkham and Wells next the Sea, within 10 miles.

Roger and Marjorie look forward to welcoming you to their CL.

Would you please be kind enough to provide your own water hose and grey waste pipe.

Advanced booking advised. No dogs. Fully serviced pitches.

Bed and Breakfast available.

Facilities on site ...

  • Drive over waste disposal for motorhomes
  • Recycling facilities
  • TV reception: fair

Prices

Useful Info

Latest arrival time: 12:00 AM

Latest departure time: 11:00 AM

0.75 acres

Electric amperage: 16

Lawned site

Recycling Facilities

Nearby

Great savings on days out

Offers available to Club members

View all savings

Map

Directions

You need to be a Club member to view directions to this Certificated Location. Log in

Sites key: Certificated Location

Postcode:
NR25 6SS
Plan a route to this site
GPS:
Lat 52.884645 / Lon 1.080547
OS field ref:
TG074364
OS map ref:
133

Transport links

  • Bus stop within 1 mile
  • Buses go to: Holt, Sheringham, Cromer, Fakenham, Norwich and King's Lynn
  • Daily public transport within 1 mile
  • Nearest train station: Sheringham
  • Train station within 5 miles

Reviews

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Outstanding cl

This site is an amazing spot that we travel to at least twice a year. We simply do not recognise the site described by the person who complained about the deposit and the noise.. CL owners get let down so often by members who simply do not turn up or cancel at the last moment, that I wish more cl owners were less trusting of a membership card!!!!! At Coney Heath during the day there is some traffic noise from the B road at "going to work" and "coming home" time but it it not intrusive. Night time is totally silent and dark; no awful light pollution. The owls are the only things that you might be lucky enough to hear. Pitches are fully serviced hard standings; rare on cls and all work perfectly. The whole site is fantastically maintained by it caravanning owners who could not be more helpful and friendly. Simply the best value cl around and a dream site all round. We have introduced two groups of caravan friends to the site and they fell in love straight away.
Caravanner from Northamptonshire

Reviewed on

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Suited Us for a stay in NE Norfolk

Booking was easy. Can't understand previous reviewer stating he had to pay £50 deposit. We booked for 6 nights and paid £25, deposit and booking only made a week in advance of stay. Look out for CL if approaching from Holt just after the Wood Yard ( we never heard any work emanating from this during our stay). You can pull right up to the wooden entrance gate as it swings inwards. This will help larger outfits that might otherwise protrude into the road slightly. There are 5 Hardstanding pitches, 2 of which are accessed over grass. They each have their own fresh water tap and a waste water disposal drain. This is actually on the pitch and protected by a round piece of log. Be careful you don't drive over it or manoeuvre your outfit across it. Another user did mention that his was blocked but we found ours to work perfectly. EHU points seem to be shared between 2 outfits with one on its own. Road Noise? It's definitely not Brands Hatch. Just the sort of noise you get on a B road leading to 2 small villages. It quietens down to just the odd vehicle after 10 pm and didn't disturb my (easily disturbed) sleep. The resident Tawny Owls were noisier! We had trouble with our phone and wifi signal which came and went with regularity. The ground stood up well to a significant deluge. The Elsan point and bins, including recycling, are in the middle of the site. All are easily accessed. Cannot comment on TV signal or ease for erecting an awning except the member on the adjacent pitch had an awning up and didn't have any problems. Note that this is an Adult only and Dog Free site. All in all a pleasant stay at a conveniently placed CL.
Caravanner

Reviewed on

53 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautiful, well maintained site, a bit like

We book CL's based on their descriptions in the handbook and this site was, like every other site we have stayed at over the last 15 years, described as 'peaceful'! Unfortunately, the road. less than 30 yards from our pitch, seems to be used like a race track, with cars blasting past at 60 mph every couple of minutes! That is not my idea of a 'peaceful' site, so we left after one night and found a CL a short distance away that WAS quiet and peaceful. Yes, this site does have good facilities, although both the waste disposal points on our pitch were blocked. Yes, it is handy for Holt, but if you want peace and quiet, try the CL's near Wighton, they are much quieter. In the middle of this site, there is a notice board with a message telling people that, if you leave before the end of your booked period, you are liable to pay for the whole stay! This is the only CL I have ever stayed on which had a similar notice, so I can only assume that other members have also not agreed with the full description of this site. This is the only CL I have ever stayed on that required £50 deposit! When I informed the owners that we were leaving and told them our reasons, they became quite aggressive and demanded payment for the night we had stayed AND kept the deposit - this was a very expensive nights stay!

Comment from the Club

Thank you for leaving a review. The CL Owners have been in touch as they work really hard to ensure everyone has a wonderful time at their site and would like to address the concerns you have raised. They advised they find the word aggressive inaccurate and try to help guests wherever they can. The road does get busy for a couple of hours each morning and afternoon during rush hour but after that it quietens down considerably and they have never had anyone leave the site in 30 years of operation. If people ask when booking about road noise they are very honest about it.  As you had booked for a 2 week stay and they had held the booking for you for 9 months, they were £158 short for the 2 weeks and unlikely to resell the pitch at such short notice, this is why they charge a deposit which many CL sites do as they are small businesses and need to have some protection in order to be able to afford to continue operating. The notice on the board was actually from a fellow CL Owner on their advice as many CL Owners support each other and share information and advice.

Each individual pitch has their own waste disposal point and these are checked regularly. As with any concerns the CL Owners will do their utmost to help.

As you can see from previous reviews many members love this site and return year after year. We are sorry that you did not enjoy the site and that you were able to find one more suitable to your requirements.

 

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Brillant CL One of the BEST

What a brilliant CL (Fully Serviced) excellent pitches, the owners have put a lot of hard work into this CL making it so popular with members one member had been coming back for over 20yrs,so must be good. Owners Roger & Marjorie are really friendly & helpful , helped us out when our water pump did,nt work, lent us a water connection for the time we stayed ,Will be rebooking if we can get in .Richard & Patricia

Reviewed on

14 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Spring Break

We have used numerous cl's during our time caravanning and this definitely ranks as one of the best, it should be a cl winner of the year. As previously stated the owners are extremely helpful and friendly nothing is too much trouble for them. The pitches are all fully serviced hard standing and well spaced so everyone has the feeling of space around them. The site is well sheltered so when it is very windy like it was when we were there you will not have any worries about your caravan or awning. Whist there we ate at The Hunworth Bell in Hunworth which is just along the road from the site the food was excellent. We will certainly return and hopefully it will not be too long until we can do this. If you do decide to use this site we are sure you will not be disappointed.

Reviewed on

15 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer