Herons Wood

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Very spacious site and beautifully kept

Plenty of space on this lovely site which is very well maintained. Friendly owners who explained everything and gave some recommendations of places to visit. Ideal location for visiting lots of places in the area - Lancaster (the castle is well worth a visit) Morecambe Bay, Blackpool, Lake District, Kirkby Lonsdale (very pretty). Can highly recommend

Mutineer

Caravanner

Reviewed on 25/06/2022 13:37

23 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent CL

Excellently managed CL. Warm welcome from Sarah and William, very well maintained, lots of room. Everything you would expect from a high quality CL site. Very impressed. A great base to visit Lancaster, Arnside and Silverdale, The Lake District and Yorkshire Dales. Plenty to do and see. Remote coastal walks at Cockerham Sands only two miles away and Wallings Ice Cream parlour is a must.

Craw4d

Caravanner

Reviewed on 13/06/2022 15:59

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely clean CL

Spacious, clean and peaceful though there was a bit of road noise during the day. Glad we had the hard standing for our motor home which was level as the grass pitches sloped a bit. There is a nice dog walk at the bottom of the field and we spotted hares on site. The facilities were spotless.

Mobilegirl

Reviewed on 01/06/2022 15:31

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Deers and Hares

Immaculately maintained CL, very good joining instructions sent in advance of travel so you know what to expect, (road closure from the southerly approach). Lovely views all round, 2 inquisitive deers visited within 20 yards of us in the adjacent field and several hares within the CL. If you like smoked food/fish visit the Lancashire Smoke house in Glasson Dock, a few minutes away, best meaty kippers and so much more, enjoy.This CL is on our list to stay again when in the area. Thank you Sara

Loulou

Caravanner

Reviewed on 19/05/2022 19:09

18 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Well kept, quiet and friendly

This is a very well kept CL site with basic facilities. There is an ehu on each pitch, water tap at one end and water disposal is down hill, which is a bonus. The hosts Sarah and William are friendly and happy to chat and help out. Worst part about getting there is if you come off the M6 at jct 33 do not follow the satnav and go down the B road Condor Green rd but carry on the A6 into Lancaster and return on the A588 and the site will be on the left just after the dog training place. the B road is a nasty narrow single track road that has frequent on coming traffic inc trucks. That said Herons Wood site is worth the extra couple of miles being just 5 mins from Lancaster and 20 from the coast and the peace you would expect from a CL. I include the what3words to the site entrance as this will make it easier to locate and I think CL hosts should start putting these on their site info for those using Google maps. what3words parent.accent.genius will get you there.

ScreenNameBAF351485F

Caravanner

Reviewed on 03/05/2022 22:59

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What a lovely site

Use the route from J33 of the M6 that skirts Lancaster to access the site as it’s easiest. A really lovely site in green countryside. We stayed for four nights.Very tranquil sight, although a little road noise from the B road during the day only. The site is a large gently sloping open paddock, with a hard access road, a single H/S pitch and the rest being grass. The EHU points are along the top edge of the field and have been upgraded to metered electric with a good daily allowance within the very reasonable pitch fee. Views are pleasant, across fields & woods with glimpses of the River Lune estuary through trees. There is a footpath across the fields just beyond the house. There are plenty of interesting places to visit close by such as Glasson Dock, Lancaster Smokery, Wallings Ice Cream Farm, Knott End and Lancaster itself, where there are the usual supermarkets etc. There are plenty of off road old railway tracks close by suitable for walking and cycling. The Stork Inn & The Mill at Condor Green would be easily walkable but due to the narrow road & no pavement we chose to drive & park near the Stork Inn which has recently been refurbished. A huge bonus was a really good information pack highlighting the many local places to visit, including some very good restaurants etc which the sight owner sent us before we arrived. Please note that care is required when approaching the site because the sign is set back slightly from the road and could well be missed. We will be returning to enjoy more of the local attractions this area has to offer .

ScreenNameAA61CA03B5

Caravanner

Reviewed on 25/04/2022 15:13

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 1 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

You need a car at this CL

The field was good and it is correct there is a pub and garden centre close by but you cannot safely walk or cycle along the road to leave the CL. The road is very busy with very fast cars and lorries. There is a request bus stop at the end of the drive but the buses are infrequent.Even the short walk to the public footpath is very dicey. The other issue we have is with the advice not to follow the satnav. The road that was suggested we follow was a busy narrow B road and we encountered a lorry ,a coach and a driver determined not to make passing easy and we ended up damaging our motorhome.The alternative from the M6 was in fact two A roads which we used on our return. We left two nights early

Comment from the Club

Many thanks for your review. The CL Owners have been in touch to advise that the road is busy at rush hour a couple of times a a day but for the majority of time the road is much quieter. Most people who visit find the site very peaceful and love the location.

Dides

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 22/08/2021 18:41

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely place with stunning walks nearby

Great little CL with very spacious pitches and electric hookup. We had a one night stopover on our way to Scotland, but would have enjoyed staying longer. Lovely walks down to Glasson Dock and marina, over the oxbow river and marshes - with lots more available if wanted. We also would have liked to use the Bay Cycleway into Lancaster but ran out of time. The pitches are in a field and most are slightly sloping. Not a major problem unless, in rainy weather, your tyres aren't great.

Stephen Rice

Caravanner

Reviewed on 25/07/2021 16:16

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Post lockdown visit

The site is a large gently sloping paddock, with a hard access road, a single H/S pitch and the rest being on the grass. The EHU points are along the top edge of the field and have been upgraded. Views are fairly restricted being across the A588 towards a wood. The road is fairly busy during the day but quiet during the evening and night. There is a dog walk on site and for a longer walk there's a footpath across the fields just beyond the house. There are plenty of interesting places to visit close by such as Glasson Dock, Knott End and Lancaster itself, where there are the usual supermarkets including Aldi and Sainsbury's. There are plenty of off road old railway tracks close by suitable for walking and cycling. The Stock Inn had recently suffered fire damage and was closed and under repair at the time of our visit. During our stay we had lots of rain so the ground was rather waterlogged but we had no problems getting off, although it well have been different trying to drive onto one's pitch. Please note that care is required when approaching the site as the sign is set back from the road and could well be missed. This is a CL that we would return to provided it had not been wet prior to our visit.

163 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Wonderful Site, wish all could be as nice.

Great greeting from Sarah when we arrived, quiet site with only a couple of vans due to social distancing. Nice dog walk trail within the site. Very friendly welcome from other members of Sarah’s family. Despite being next to the road, the site was very quiet.Beautiful scenery, clean and tidy site. So great we extended our stay. Sarah went out of her way to help with directions to the M6, local fuel stop and local grocery store. Will book again.

Cujoandpippin

Caravanner

Reviewed on 24/08/2020 17:12

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer