Wymondham Windmill

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent site

Absolutely fantastic site, really peaceful and in a beautiful area with the added bonus of being able to climb to the top of the windmill!!! The food in the cafe looked brilliant with clearly many happy customers and it's nice to think that by paying for the campsite you are helping to preserve the windmill for generations to come. Fabulous place, highly recommend, you won't be disappointed!¬

DoctorAndy

Motorhomer from Cumberland

Reviewed on 19/07/2021 16:55

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A splendid Bank Holiday weekend

Friendly welcome from the owner. Fabulous far-reaching views due South over Rutland. Great play area for children, excellent coffee takeaways, perfectly peaceful at night, an altogether super weekend.

ScreenName23368B4E32

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 12/05/2021 18:12

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Wonderful Stay in the caravan

We just spent a long bank holiday weekend with our caravan, it was very relaxing and dog friendly place. Easy excess to the site and each pitch was spaced out with plenty of room. The staff was very friendly and welcoming, the tearoom was offering takeaway after my long drive from Devon they went above and beyond. Well worth another visit.

ScreenName5C791B7E5E

Caravanner

Reviewed on 04/05/2021 20:51

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 2 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 2 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Another unwelcome welcome

Arrived on site and pulled straight onto field as signposted..parked my motorhome in accordance with camc rules (peg just to the right of my vehicle)..to be met by rude lady saying you should have come to the cafe first to see me ( nothing mentioned on website )and you've parked in a way your stealing space off the next pitch..I did ask if she would like me to move which was responded with a curt NO This site states open all year but it is a grass field and was very wet and I struggled to keep traction thats in early oct SO BEWARE.

PineTreeStud

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 11/10/2020 15:54

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Unwelcome welcome!

Booked this campsite for 2 nights, informing the proprietor that it would likely be 1800-1830 that we would be able to arrive. No problem was the answer, just call in at the tea-room on arrival and there will be someone there. Duly arrived 1810hrs - to be met by an appallingly frosty woman! Brusque instructions were given of where to pitch. Our arrival was obviously an irritant to her - whether she was the main proprietor, or not, I didn't ascertain as her curt and dismissive nature didn't encourage further conversation. I wonder why we have the occasional 'bad apple' like this - we all know that the vast, vast majority of site owners are wonderfully pleasant and welcoming people, who enjoy responsible campers visiting and enjoying their site. The site has a tea room and several other small retail outlets, and the campsite is obviously viewed as just another commercial commodity within this concern. Another reviewer described the cesspit region as foul-smelling - this has not been rectified. This review was over 2 years ago, so one can only deduce that the lack of action in this area further reinforces the contempt with which us commodity - the campers - are held. The good points - the quiet lanes around the area are peaceful and picturesque. The windmill on site is an interesting historical artefact and is free to look around, asking only for voluntary contributions. The young Saturday cashier in the tea-room with whom we paid our balance of remittance was perfectly polite and efficient - an example to her employer of what good customer service should be. In conclusion, if a pleasant (or at least non-dismissive) welcome and non-foul smelling sanitary disposal facilities are important to you, then avoid! There are so many better options out there.  

Dan and Sharon

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 07/09/2020 08:05

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Relaxing stay in campervan

We spent two nights here in early August 2020 and had a very relaxing time. It was very easy to access the site and the caravans and campervans were well spaced out which made us feel very safe. The views are spectacular and, because it was very hot during our stay, we just sat and relaxed most of the time. There are one or two shops on site, and a lovely tearoom with lots of outdoor seating available. The windmill is also very interesting to look inside. We booked an evening meal at the Berkeley Arms pub which is just a short walk down the hill in Wymondham itself and enjoyed it so much that we booked again for the following evening. We felt quite comfortable as the pub had put a range ofCovid secure measures in place and we ate outside . After our meals we walked around the village which has a lot of old buildings and cottages. Altogether a lovely stay and a great break. Hopefully we will be able to stay again soon.

campingcar367

Caravanner

Reviewed on 21/08/2020 14:19

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peace Perfect

What a lovely large site and such a welcome, the views are the first thing you notice and they are spectacular. If all you want to do is relax and look at the views as the ducks they quack and waddle back and forth to their ponds this place is for you. The site has everything you need and if you feel like treating yourself the Windmill Tearooms are a wonderful place for a cuppa and cake. There is a small woodland to walk which is perfect for getting out of the sun and relaxing. The local area has much industrial heritage with a railway and iron ore museum close by Link http://www.rocks-by-rail.org/history/ Nearby is the village of Colsterworth and Woolsthorpe Manor the famous home of Sir Issac Newton. Link https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/woolsthorpe-manor Only one small gripe the day we arrived the phone which was in the house and not the cafe was unanswered so we turned up on spec anyway and were lucky enough to find a pitch free. Thank goodness as we didn't want to have to leave a spot like this.

Meterman10

Caravanner

Reviewed on 03/01/2019 19:08

24 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Wonderful views

We have just spent one week at this site, we were welcomed immediately as we arrived with no problems, It is an interesting site with the old Windmill that is being restored and full of history. There is a lovely large tea shop with lovely food and helpful staff. There are 3 shops, a cycle shop, a ladies dress agency (lovely shop) and an interesting wood boutique with some lovely interesting pieces for sale. There is also a nice play area for the children and a small wood. There was unfortunately a bit of a down side for us in that during our stay there was an abundance of ducks with their babies and for most of our nights they woke and were squawking for what seemed like ages so sadly we lost our sleep and it wasn't as peaceful as we had hoped. Also we were fairly close to the cesspit which was quite smelly even though it was emptied on the day we arrived. Our neighbours also said they could smell it, it wasn't very nice. I imagine if you parked further along you might not be troubled by it. It is because of the last two paragraphs I am unable to give the site 5 stars. Sorry

France5754

Caravanner

Reviewed on 13/06/2018 21:53

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

an excellent site

This is a lovely, large and well kept site. The views from the van were wonderful and the owner was very pleasant and helpful. There is a quality cafe on site along with a couple of small individual shops and a bike repairers (handy for the cyclists) For birders - Red Kite circling over the site and Rutland water birding centre and nature reserve about 20 minutes away. You need south and west shores. All in all a lovely place, will definately go again.

BirderVal

Reviewed on 02/08/2017 17:05

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Melton market

This was our 2nd visit to the site. We stay here to visit the market at Melton Mowbray, with friends. Quiet location, very scenic. Nice to see the windmill being restored. Play area and toys next then............

Clive Proctor

Caravanner

Reviewed on 01/07/2017 10:09

43 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer