Wymondham Windmill

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely quiet site

Just back from a 2 night stop, lovely quiet site, did need wood blocks to level but nothing too bad(stayed on worse) access to tea rooms, windmill, play area, nice 5min walk to the local pub, R2 Rutland flyer bus ride to Melton Mowbray, which is about 15min walk to the bus stop from the site. Paid in the tea room upon arrival and was shown where to pitch,

The Naylors

Caravanner

Reviewed on 30/07/2023 16:48

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 2 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 2 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Very disappointed

We had heard a lot of positives about this site, however the reality is that currently there are development works taking place which caused some noise, when we arrived the roofers had radio blaring out and singing along in a rather loud and not so tuneful manner. The pitches are very uneven so if visiting bring plenty of blocks, there was also a strong smell of sewerage on the edge of the touring site. The toilet facilities are shared with the visitors centre and cafe which can lead to long waits. At £20 per night and then £5 a night for electric we felt this site is very overpriced for what is on offer for the tourers. One positive experience was The Millers Breakfast in the cafe it was great with good service

DDWEBB46

Reviewed on 30/05/2023 11:04

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Free access to windmill and small area

Shortish grass in good condition, slightly sloping site. A hardstanding pitch is available but access is limited due to overhanging tree. Site is seperate to public area that has small playground, cycle shop, antiques and tearoom. Windmill has no sails but is free to view. Site advertised on their website at £15 but was £20 (+£5 EHU if required) - can pay in tearoom with credit card. Site entrance is sharp left immediately in to public entrance, so if towing and approaching up from the village a wide sweep is advisable. We did have a smell of drains on our pitch adjacent the hardstanding, the other pitches seemed ok.

curlytail

Reviewed on 21/05/2023 13:21

12 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Going Downhill Fast

Bit of a mixed bag with this CL, The site itself is lovely with great views of the Windmill in one direction and the valley in the opposite. BUT the biggest let down seems to be the lack of management and customer communication with regards to the CL. With the new ceremony venue building project now underway the peace and tranquility are far gone. From 8am until 1730 the constant banging, sawing and circular saw noise is enough to drive anybody mad everyday including Sunday. We hoped for just one days peace before leaving. With regards to the staff in the cafe, not sure if I walked in on a conversation not mean't for customers but all huddled and whispering didn't quite portray the professionalism experienced on this CL pre Covid. The CL itself has 3 pitches on a flat section with 2 on a slightly sloping section. Caravans are pushed towards the slope whilst motorhomes are kept level. The flat seems to be regularly mowed whilst the sloping pitches are left slightly longer. There is only one EHU which is nowhere near centralised. The sloping pitches have to hook up using CL supplied extension cables. To be honest, if I had known about the pending noise and lack of care towards the CL customers then I would have cancelled and found somewhere else more relaxing. It's a real shame as this was an excellent CL prior to 2020/1

Stewie

Caravanner

Reviewed on 23/08/2021 13:18

3 reviews

5 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent site

Absolutely fantastic site, really peaceful and in a beautiful area with the added bonus of being able to climb to the top of the windmill!!! The food in the cafe looked brilliant with clearly many happy customers and it's nice to think that by paying for the campsite you are helping to preserve the windmill for generations to come. Fabulous place, highly recommend, you won't be disappointed!¬

DoctorAndy

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 19/07/2021 16:55

8 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A splendid Bank Holiday weekend

Friendly welcome from the owner. Fabulous far-reaching views due South over Rutland. Great play area for children, excellent coffee takeaways, perfectly peaceful at night, an altogether super weekend.

ScreenName23368B4E32

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 12/05/2021 18:12

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Wonderful Stay in the caravan

We just spent a long bank holiday weekend with our caravan, it was very relaxing and dog friendly place. Easy excess to the site and each pitch was spaced out with plenty of room. The staff was very friendly and welcoming, the tearoom was offering takeaway after my long drive from Devon they went above and beyond. Well worth another visit.

ScreenName5C791B7E5E

Caravanner

Reviewed on 04/05/2021 20:51

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 2 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 2 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Another unwelcome welcome

Arrived on site and pulled straight onto field as signposted..parked my motorhome in accordance with camc rules (peg just to the right of my vehicle)..to be met by rude lady saying you should have come to the cafe first to see me ( nothing mentioned on website )and you've parked in a way your stealing space off the next pitch..I did ask if she would like me to move which was responded with a curt NO This site states open all year but it is a grass field and was very wet and I struggled to keep traction thats in early oct SO BEWARE.

PineTreeStud

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 11/10/2020 15:54

2 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Unwelcome welcome!

Booked this campsite for 2 nights, informing the proprietor that it would likely be 1800-1830 that we would be able to arrive. No problem was the answer, just call in at the tea-room on arrival and there will be someone there. Duly arrived 1810hrs - to be met by an appallingly frosty woman! Brusque instructions were given of where to pitch. Our arrival was obviously an irritant to her - whether she was the main proprietor, or not, I didn't ascertain as her curt and dismissive nature didn't encourage further conversation. I wonder why we have the occasional 'bad apple' like this - we all know that the vast, vast majority of site owners are wonderfully pleasant and welcoming people, who enjoy responsible campers visiting and enjoying their site. The site has a tea room and several other small retail outlets, and the campsite is obviously viewed as just another commercial commodity within this concern. Another reviewer described the cesspit region as foul-smelling - this has not been rectified. This review was over 2 years ago, so one can only deduce that the lack of action in this area further reinforces the contempt with which us commodity - the campers - are held. The good points - the quiet lanes around the area are peaceful and picturesque. The windmill on site is an interesting historical artefact and is free to look around, asking only for voluntary contributions. The young Saturday cashier in the tea-room with whom we paid our balance of remittance was perfectly polite and efficient - an example to her employer of what good customer service should be. In conclusion, if a pleasant (or at least non-dismissive) welcome and non-foul smelling sanitary disposal facilities are important to you, then avoid! There are so many better options out there.  

Dan and Sharon

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 07/09/2020 08:05

2 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Relaxing stay in campervan

We spent two nights here in early August 2020 and had a very relaxing time. It was very easy to access the site and the caravans and campervans were well spaced out which made us feel very safe. The views are spectacular and, because it was very hot during our stay, we just sat and relaxed most of the time. There are one or two shops on site, and a lovely tearoom with lots of outdoor seating available. The windmill is also very interesting to look inside. We booked an evening meal at the Berkeley Arms pub which is just a short walk down the hill in Wymondham itself and enjoyed it so much that we booked again for the following evening. We felt quite comfortable as the pub had put a range ofCovid secure measures in place and we ate outside . After our meals we walked around the village which has a lot of old buildings and cottages. Altogether a lovely stay and a great break. Hopefully we will be able to stay again soon.

campingcar367

Caravanner

Reviewed on 21/08/2020 14:19

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer