Alderstead Heath Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great location and was so quiet

We used to live in this area (Caterham) ,and as we wanted to visit friends we stayed here , first time we have stayed at Alderstead Heath, was a bit apprehensive due to some reviews but thought as we were only using it as a "base" it would be fine. It is easy to get to (we came via M25, A22 and Caterham) , arrived late at 7.30pm due to hold up on M25 but were seen in quickly by the helpful warden , we had pitch 12 which was a lovely pitch with hard standing , the electric post didn't work , but the warden came straight out and resolved it by letting us plug in to a nearby one. . The site was not very full when we were there as it is a really big site , but this suited us , it was soooooo quiet , you wouldn't think you were only a couple of miles from the M25 ! The facilities were very clean and as the site was empty so were the toilet blocks with no trouble getting showers etc . We took our Smart car so visiting close by towns was not a problem and had a few trips to Caterham and Croydon visiting friends . The barrier is closed between 11pm and 7am which is not a problem just leave the car in the car park at the entrance , this also stops early morning and late night vehicles waking you up . The site was great and we will definitely visit again , I would expect it could be different if full ? But for our visit in October it was perfect. Kept clean by the busy wardens who were constantly tending the grounds and cleaning the facilities whilst we were there

bisto36

Motorhomer from Cambridgeshire

Reviewed on 21/10/2021 19:26

13 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely site - great walks - helpful wardens

Been here a few times. Facilities all clean and in good working order. Layout of site is good. Although a big site you can choose a pitch to be tucked away and enjoy the nature around you. Lovely sunsets and lots of great walks nearby - north downs way, happy valley. Wardens are all friendly and helpful with good local knowledge. Handy to have a corner shop at village a short pleasant walk away. We will be back to our home away from home. Thank you to the team looking after us again and helping to make our stay pleasant.

ScreenName6C1EE131AE

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 20/10/2021 10:13

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Beautiful grounds

We recently stayed here for just over a week. Easy check in , lovely pitch , very friendly and helpful wardens. This site is visually lovely alot of work goes into maintaining the grounds . The facilities needed a little updating in places but overall good. Dog area was very small but we made use of the walks from the site which were very good .

sharonankarl

Campervanner

Reviewed on 18/10/2021 14:27

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 1 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Back again, what a difference a pitch makes

We returned last weekend and pitched our caravan in the lower part of the site this time and what a difference a pitch makes. Whilst our last trip over Aug BH was always going to be busier, last weekend we really enjoyed the tranquillity that Alderstead Heath has to offer. We didn't venture too far from site, only walking to the local shop (Aladdin's cave) in Netherne-on-the-Hill and having a coffee at the Cricket Pavilion café. The site was quite busy, the weather was amazing and we really enjoyed this trip, this time. I wanted to review the site, since our visit back in August was somewhat overshadowed by our neighbouring travellers but it hasn't put us off this site. The only thing we did notice when using the top toilet block was a dog freely running in and out of the toilets, it even tried to join my partner in his cubicle! This basic rule does need to be enforced a little more firmly by the management, otherwise it was a pleasure to be back.

NSum

Caravanner from West Sussex

Reviewed on 28/09/2021 15:02

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Beautiful site

This site is absolutely beautiful. Large spacious pitches .Lovely mature trees. Beautifully kept . Showers ect spotless . The other reviews mentioned travellers on site . We didn’t see or hear anything at all . It was quiet and peaceful. We will definitely be back soon .

lakeland6

Caravanner

Reviewed on 14/09/2021 20:18

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Excellent weekend great customer service

Excellent fast checkin great advice given about the area got to choose my own pitch which was clean and everything worked the toilets washrooms laundry and kitchen wash area was spotless the site was quiet and peaceful there was so no late nite noise lovely walks and local shop not far away I was helped a few times by the staff who where friendly and helpful I would defo recommend this site and will go back thank you for a lovely weekend

ScreenNameC18AC5209E

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 12/09/2021 19:11

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

What a shame!!!!

Beautiful site in fabulous location for us. But be warned - this site is used and abused by travellers! They stay there in droves, making noise and mess and disrupting the peace and quiet. Get rid of them permanently and the site would be full not over half empty in august!!!!! Will not return or recommend until they have permanently gone never to return!!

ScreenName9FFFBD37A0

Caravanner

Reviewed on 11/09/2021 17:51

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely peaceful site

We stayed here in a glamping pod in May and in our VW campervan in August with friends who have a caravan. Both visits were great. The pitch we had in August was on grass with ample space even with our awning. The hard standing pitches seemed more compact. We walked to The Fox pub twice during our stay and had a lovely Sunday lunch for 8 of us. The walk was all through beautiful countryside. The staff were always friendly and helpful and made a point of saying hello whenever they were around, despite their ongoing work.

CLMcC

Caravanner from Kent

Reviewed on 10/09/2021 22:03

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellent stay in a lovely rural setting

We had a very relaxed and enjoyable weekend (3-5 September) stay at this well laid out rural site. The wardens were very friendly and welcoming and made our stay relaxed and enjoyable. The facilities were spotless. We enjoyed the detailed walks that had been printed by the wardens and visited places we would not otherwise have found. We had been rather alarmed by some of the previous reviews but have to say we did not experience any behaviour of this type during our stay. We have no hesitation in suggesting a stay at the site and hope to return next year.

Seascape

Reviewed on 10/09/2021 16:14

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Will definitely return

Our first stay on this site and, despite reading some other not so favourable reviews from the same period we stayed, I must say we didn’t experience the same. I can only say that the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, the site was clean and well maintained. We had a lovely stay with our 5 year old granddaughter and the lower wooden play park was great for her. I don’t think we were pitched by the travellers so didn’t have any issues as detailed in other reviews. We were aware there were some travellers on site though. We really liked this site, the walks in the surrounding area were great. Particularly liked the one to ‘The Fox’. Will remember next time to book a table for dinner, the roast looked amazing. Lovely pub to visit, will def have a nice winter walk there. We will def be returning to the site, please don’t be put off xxx

TMGee

Reviewed on 03/09/2021 07:24

2 reviews

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer