Brighton Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Lovely site - Great location!

Lovely site in a great location - a short walk to the Marina Bars & Restaurants and a relaxed stroll to the Laines. We have been coming to this site for many years and have on occasion seen that it has been a little neglected. However this year we were pleasantly surprised that It seemed much tidier and looked after than the previous year. The wardens (Donna & Paul particularly) were working hard daily, cleaning, cutting the grass and general maintenance. They were extremely friendly and helpful. We shall be returning for the New Year and have already booked up for September 2022. Carry on the good work !!

sebd7569

Reviewed on 16/09/2021 08:20

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great Location

Ideal site for visiting the area, great friendly wardens . Great cycling on and off road .

taffingram

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 14/09/2021 11:25

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

In need of TLC

We have visited this site quite a few times over the the past few years and agree with previous comments that the site has gone untidy. (CARAVAN CLUB NEED TO BE MADE AWARE OF THIS AND ACT UPON IT). As you first enter the site it is well kept with grass cut and hedgerows tidy, as you go further around the site it becomes very untidy with lots weeds growing in the hardstanding pitches, grass not cut for a few weeks and hedges with huge spiky weeds sticking up. The toilet block is in need of refurbishment or a good clean but if it's been used by local travellers it is to be expected. The approach road can also be very tricky which is not the fault of the caravan club but the local council with abandoned caravans and Motorhomes lining all one side of the road and if a coach comes from the local sports field can lead to all sorts of issues as we witnessed over the week This use to be a lovely site in a great location and is still very popular but needs money ploughing back into it, the wardens seem more interested in making sure everyone is parked in line with the pitch number instead of maintaining the full site, this was commented on by numerous campers who had to move a few inches over after set up, we overheard a dispute with a warden and motorhomer about the state of the site and petty rules and he got told by the warden we can only do what we can. Don't think we will be returning for while

martyn stoke

Caravanner

Reviewed on 13/09/2021 21:12

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Large site with countryside views

The approach road to the site was a disaster. Gypsies were camped out on the road, coaches and motorhomes parked all down one side. This all made it extremely difficult to travel along the potholed road towing a caravan. Once you overcame that then the check-in was fine. The site is clean and the pitches are level. Plenty of facilities all modern and functional. The reception does not seem to sell anything like ice creams. The area offers 2 good size supermarkets close by (Lidl and Asda) Plenty to do and see in close proximity to the site. The wardens are friendly and helpful.

V5PRH

Reviewed on 13/09/2021 18:18

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Unwelcomed locals

We have visited this site for many years and enjoyed our stays in our motorhome, but of late the site has deteriorated weeds a sense of untidiness gravel everywhere tv reception still useless, the toilets untidy probably due to the staycations newbies used to having everything done for them, but the biggest gripe I had was the local hippies outside in there very dilapidated caravans coming in unchecked by the wardens using the facilities for FREE, I have to pay for the privilege of parking in a field, I certainly won't be returning very sad.

helenjoe1

Reviewed on 13/09/2021 14:47

13 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Shame about lack of weed/vegetation control

Seem to be following Brighton councils Green policy of letting weeds grow wild. Weeds and nettles growing up around the electric hook up bollards. Had to cut them down with a bread knife in order to connect up but still got nettled. Be aware some areas of the site has no or poor tv reception even if using the booster bollards. Should be made aware of this when telling reception what pitch you are on as they know which areas are affected. Make your own mind up about Brighton. Looking scruffy and run down with all the weeds and vegetation being allowed to grow wild. Brighton deserves better

csde

Reviewed on 02/09/2021 21:58

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Avoid some maybe all bank holidays if you want peace and quite due to motorbikes.

We decided to stay here for our last oven night stop before home after a lovely time in The New Forrest. The site was very clean and the staff were very helpful and polite. The location is great for a walk into Brighton (25Mins) to see the pier and nightlife but it's all downhill so for those with walking difficulties you'll need a taxi back. Our only issue was the amount of Lambretta's and Vespa's that were on-site due to Bank holiday annual meets. We didn't know this was happening and I'm not anti-bike as I've had a few in my time and they all looked amazing but being woken before around 7.45 am by quite a few starting them up and revving them up right outside your motorhome and then seeing some riding around without helmets is a bit inconsiderate to all the non-bikers and those who just want some peace and quiet. We would definitely come back, just not on any bike meetups.

us4bates

Reviewed on 29/08/2021 17:02

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Adequate site but….

This is a decent enough site however we found it quite a trek to Brighton Marina which is situated just outside of the campsite (at least a 20-30 min walk). Ok walking there downhill, however bear in mind the walk back is uphill. For someone with mobility problems, elderly or just not in peak condition this would be a problem. However if you want to take your car there is a free multi story car park adjacent to the Marina and an ASDA. A word of caution; eating/drinking at the Marina is expensive. An ‘attractions’ pack of places to go and of interest is available from reception, which was nice but a lot of the leaflets were for places further afield, so not that useful. Site itself was kept immaculately clean and there were men on grass cutters driving around the site quite regularly. I did not use the shower facilities but my husband did and he said people were not being considerate about how they left their shower cubicles. People are required to squeegee out the floor of their shower cubicles after use, ready for the next user. This was obviously not being done by all users. We didn’t have any children with us this time which we were glad about as something happened whilst we were there that could have been quite upsetting for them (but more about that later). Tbh, I don’t think this site is a site for children as it doesn’t have much to entertain them and there seemed to be lots of older campers (us amongst them!) and not too many with families. Saying that it is a nicely placed site for getting to Brighton itself (park at the multi story car park by the Marina and walk through - opposite side to the ASDA - the underpass along the front to the VOLKS electric railway (White building on the right, takes about 5 minutes) and get a lift along the seafront to Brighton Pier (£5 ish return per adult). One of the highlights of our trip! A walk around the LANES in the middle of Brighton town is nice and well worth it, although it can get pretty crowded. It seems Brighton is an expensive place! We took a trip out to a NT house (Bateman’s) which was fabulous (about an 1.5 hrs from the site). Wonderful house and very friendly and knowledgeable guides and great little tea room. Well worth the trip. Unfortunately there was some trouble on site one night (we actually thought the noise was from some rowdy teenagers) when a male guest decided that it would be appropriate to not only smash up his accommodation (not sure if it was his own caravan or one of the glamping pods) but to batter his wife/partner in front of their children. There was much shouting and disruption and the police were called by their immediate neighbours on either side of them. Possibly drink was involved but that is just my speculation. It was (is) the poor children I feel sorry for. The next day we heard more details that were shocking. These sort of things cannot be foreseen but having read previous reviews hasn’t there been another incident like this before?

travellertwo

Reviewed on 23/08/2021 19:48

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

CAMC southern racetrack

Great location with loads to do from site by car or bike or walk. Brighton is a lovely city with many interesting streets and food outlets. Site is great and facilities kept clean by friendly wardens. Have now moved to rookesbury where the 5mph speed limit is actually enforced 👍. Brighton however seems to have no speed restrictions in place making it an ideal site for those that need to get from the barrier to their residence in the shortest time possible. Mostly the members of the tent / pod field are the racing drivers, can put you off your relaxing drink / BBQ and not great for kids walking round the site. If there is a speed limit, how about enforcing it rather than a blind eye.

mrmike

Caravanner

Reviewed on 22/08/2021 15:05

7 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely site, staff super helpful

Stayed for a week in a camper with awning, a child, 2 dogs as a cat. Lovely site, close to lots of fun things to do. Site is lovely, spacious pitches and staff couldn't be more friendly or helpful. I would definitely recommend!

Clarag

Reviewed on 21/08/2021 18:21

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer