Carnon Downs Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

As good as it gets

Stayed here in early June.A large site divided into distinct areas. Our grass pitch was enormous with a lawn area the size of a tennis court to one side and shrubs behind. The nearest facilities were a little dated but a short walk took me to another that was utterly luxurious with huge cubicles (rooms really!) each with basin toilet and shower. OK so the wifi does not extend across the whole site so you may need to walk to get within range but its FREE. Ideally placed and with friendly and helpful staff, what more could you want.

MartinPauc

Reviewed on 31/08/2016 08:50

13 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Loved Loe Beach

The site is clean and tidy wardens keep grass and hedges in perfect condition, dog walks above average, toilet and shower blocks best layout of all the sites we have used, caravan club officials should take a visit and implement across the club sites, our only grip was the new part of the park we stayed in, the roads are all covered with sharp stones, no tarmac so when you need to empty and refill water for the caravan it makes it very noisy and bumpy rolling over the stones, I ended up walking on the grass every time to keep the noise down as trying to not disturb anyone, and pegging on the hardstanding areas, take long pegs because when you get them threw the stones the sub base underneath is very soft almost sandy, not great for holding down your awning. Location is perfect for exploring Cornwall, and found a gem of a beach called Loe beach, get there early on sunny days as parking is limited, dogs are allowed, great cafe next to beach and the lads who hire the boats and kayaks are really helpful, prices very reasonable,we ended up spending two days at the beach great laid back atmosphere very friendly place, everywhere is in easy reach of this site, I would recommend this site dispite our little grips.

Sipool

Caravanner from Kent

Reviewed on 28/08/2016 19:55

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Top site

Wow top site facilities beautifully laid out and well kept. Thai take away on site was lovely - staff really considerate and care about their customers so professional wonderful.  Our pup loved the large field escaped us and ran straight back to the motorhome door not good but safe - (new harness) ?? Good location to tour Falmouth an St Mawes and over to St Agnes and  Perranporth. Well done Carnon Downs and thank you for a lovely few days 

Cooke Apache

Motorhomer from Cheshire

Reviewed on 21/08/2016 19:34

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

23RD JULY TO 6TH AUGUST 2016

We have just returned from two weeks in Cornwall where we stayed at Carnon Downs site. What a superb site this is!! We could not fault anything about the site and facilities. The set up and layout is excellent. The staff were all very helpful and pleasant. The shower blocks are by far the best we have ever used. Credit to all the staff including the very hard working cleaning team who kept all the blocks superbly clean. The games room with the TV, library and table tennis was brill for the kids. We would recommend this site to everyone. If you want a beautiful, peaceful, very clean and tidy site plum bang in the middle of Cornwall......this is the one to stay at. We did not want to leave. The only slight little criticism my son would say is that the WIFI is not too good!! But that allowed us to actually talk to him...........(That is something families used to do before WIFI & phones!!) The dog walks and 7 acre field are brilliant for the dogs and the walks directly from the site are great. We did 1-3 and enjoyed them all. The access to and from the site is really easy and well sign posted. Thanks to everyone involved at Carnon Downs. Don, Debbie and Joel Martin & Tucker the westie!!

donm4490

Caravanner from Leicestershire

Reviewed on 10/08/2016 20:06

2 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Taylor June/July holiday

I would say that thiere is not a better site and location than this one. And the staff and owners are also top notch.

The site is exceptionally clean and tidy. Facilities 2nd to none.

The location means that all of Cornwall within easy reach. So many fantastic walks from the site itself, too. Great for us and the dog and always a nice pub lunch along the way. The onsite dog walk also the best I have known. My early morning walk being a good half hour before the day even started.

This year, our 3rd time, was sad that my mother-in-law passed away whilst we were there and we had to leave early. I only mention this as the response from the owners and staff was exceptional and quite emotional. We will be eternally grateful for this.

If there is a downside to the site, it is that it is hard to get a pitch. You have to book well in advance (a year etc). And they are genuinely booked (with a deposit) not just grabbed by people who might want it. The price the owners have to pay for being so great.

RonnieAndJoyce

Caravanner

Reviewed on 11/07/2016 16:46

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

One of the best

This site must rank as one of the top sites. Ideally situated for exploring, and even if you don't have or don't want to use a car, the bus service from outside the site offers many possibilities. If touring by bus [and you don't have a Concessionary Pass] I recommend buying a 3,5,or 7 day pass, excellent value. The site washrooms and showers are excellent and clean, and although there isn't a shop the village Spar is only a short walk away and is very well stocked. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Some reviews mention traffic noise and whilst there is some we found it very unobtrusive. A site we will certainly come back to.

Davmil

Motorhomer from Mid Glamorgan

Reviewed on 15/06/2016 16:56

16 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A week stay late April

A good friendly Cornish site with a warm welcome. The facilities were second to none, wash rooms were spotless, warm and private. Well placed for touring Cornwall both by car and local transport. Truro within easy reach. Falmouth, Padstow and Eden project all within easy reach. Many local eating houses nearby, advice ready available from the very friendly and courteous staff.

Mayesderek

Caravanner from Lancashire

Reviewed on 26/05/2016 12:03

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Carnon Downs affiliated site

As this is a Caravan Club affiliated site, £20 deposit per week is required upon booking.  We spent 10 nights here from 18th March. Impressed with the top class facilities - exceptionally clean and modern. Not just shower cubicles but rooms with loos, vanity mirrors, wash basins and shower cubicles all centrally heated.  All staff were very friendly; large roomy pitches...even if this site was full I don't think it would feel crowded. Several empty units on seasonal pitches. Picnic tables also on many pitches.  Superb dog walks in wooded area around perimeter of site. Football field for children and a play area with various equipment.  Lots of good walks from site..ask at reception for free copies of various routes.  If I had to think of any negative points..yes, some road noise from nearby A39 as others have already said...particularly if sited in the area by reception or the yellow field. Secondly, we were allocated a pitch on arrival which we were very pleased with, but would prefer to chose our own from a selection available as is usually the case on Caravan Club sites.  Would certainly use this site again and recommend it. 

Jood

Caravanner from Wiltshire

Reviewed on 30/03/2016 20:30

11 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Excellent

Booked in for one night, stayed for 4. Easy to get to. Plenty of places to see within 30 minutes. Excellent facilities. Lots of effort going into getting the site ready for Easter. I would guess it would be very busy in peak season. Pitches large and well laid out. There is a high level of road noise but this can be tuned out after a while. For such a large site, it is very well maintained indeed. Definitely going to be a return visit.

dep

Reviewed on 17/03/2016 10:09

17 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Spotlessly Clean

I stayed here for 2 nights from the 9th January 2016. The site is impeccably clean and tidy. I've never seen anywhere so clean! The location is perfect to use as a base to discover lots of places in the south west. I drove over to Land's End and back easily. I would highly recommend this site.

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer