Crystal Palace Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Great place to stay

I recently stayed here, having visited last year. It is brilliant The reception team are polite, helpful, full of good humour and go the extra mile to accommodate requests The site is quiet, litter free, very well maintained, has green areas and is surrounded by trees. The pitches are of a good size. The toilet and shower block is really clean, well looked after with great water pressure and lovely hot water and the facilities for grey and chemical waste as well as fresh water are easily .accessible To be so close to all that London has to offer, but have a quiet, green space to return to, is brilliant.

ScreenNameB0D20EAF92

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 04/10/2021 09:55

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Blink and you’ll miss it!

Although the directions are easy to follow and lead you straight to the site, if you didn’t know it was there, you could walk past it and not see it. It is so well hidden and, certainly when we were there, was very quiet and peaceful. There is easy access to everything the park has to offer and it is minutes away from several bus stops and train stations so is the ideal base for visiting central London and other attractions. The staff are friendly, the facilities are clean, the pitches level. We were very impressed and will definitely return.

ScreenName70D584A052

Campervanner

Reviewed on 23/09/2021 21:15

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Amazing Peaceful retreat in London

As I compile this,I have just read on the forum another year has been granted by whoever owns this site.First of all I this was my first visit,used for a dance evening and the nearby Rivoli ballroom,but the site just did not have or looked to have a closure notice hanging over its head. All pitches neat and tidy and well run by the site managers.Pitches are allocated here and you can see why with the layout of the site.It does have the same sort of feeling as Baltic Wharf,where building land just seem to override prime recreational use. Obviously London is the main attraction here,but we spent one day walking the park and especially around the the dinosaur end on the park. The Hornimans museum again set in inner London parkland was unique in it difference to other museums,with the actual museum free but other parts such as Aquarium. Monkey Land and Butterfly section requiring a fee to enter. The site itself is wooded and so peaceful at night,amazing when you think of the area.Driving form the A2 was ok with just a couple of pinch points just be careful of the lengthy section of 20mph speed limits with speed camera's to boot. One pub which was nice in the September sunshine was the Woodman (or Wood something) about a 15 - 20m mins walk from the site.Its on the road directly opposite the run down looking hotel.Now why don't they build on that!

Fozzie

from Kent

Reviewed on 22/09/2021 23:39

38 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

A tired looking site

I'll start with the negatives as it's better to finish with a plus. Firstly, this site is starting to look tired. The fencing behind my pitch was falling over and some or the wood around the pitches was going rotten. I don't blame the club for not sorting these things out as we seem to be constantly losing the site, the latest being the end of December I believe, but this is an observation. Secondly, I think the site must be being used as a base for people working in London. The people on the pitch next to us were up and around at 6am, slamming doors etc, and a pitch opposite was occupied by a converted old horse box who's occupant went to the toilet block on a scooter. There was certainly no usual camp site feel. Thirdly, this is the first site we've visited where our pitch was allocated, so we had no choice. Some of the pitches further up the site got satellite but we didn't and there's no facility for aerial connection. Lastly, the reception has a counter to ceiling perspex screen, which separates the two sides of the counter from each other, the only point of contact being a hole about 6 inches in diameter. When I checked in I picked up my mask from the van but forgot to put it on as I walked in. The lady in the reception asked me if I would please put my mask on, something I thought a little unnecessary as I was the only person occupying the space. I did so and asked her if she would do the same, to which replied 'No, I don't have to'. She wasn't impolite in any way but she seemed to be convinced that her wearing a mask was not required. So, and I'd like a response to this if you would: is it Caravan Club policy that the wearing of masks in reception is compulsory for members but optional for employees when they are both sharing the same air, or should the lady have been sympathetic to my request? Ok, that's the whingeing over: this site is in a great location, close to really cheap public transport. Central London was 45 minutes away and we did Kew Gardens in an hour by train for £5.40 return. There are many good pubs and restaurants in Crystal Palace and they're only about 15 minutes walk. The site's not as good as some but the great location means I'd go back again

JohnW58

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 13/09/2021 18:02

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Great location but that's it

I've stayed here many times over the last few years. The atmosphere seemed different this summer. Lots of people living on the site, driving to the washblock, speeding on site. The guy on the pitch next door to me woke me up when he drove his van into the site at 2am, when there are meant to be no vehicles moving after 11pm. As a solo female I was actually a bit wary on site in the evenings this time, something I've never experienced on any club site before.

Sarahv84

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 19/08/2021 21:12

1 review

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Amazing site!!

We stayed here recently for 6 nights and were very impressed! The site is beautiful with lots of small sections and loads of trees. Our motorhome was parked right under an enormous tree was was wonderfully shady in the heatwave. Although it is a fairly big site it doesn’t seem so as it is broken up into the different area, unlike some big field type of sites so was very attractive. The atmosphere on site is very friendly and the site wardens were absolutely lovely. We were made to feel very welcome on arrival and our dog was given the best welcome you could hope for, including lots of strokes and gift of a ball. They were always around keeping an eye on everything and always happy to chat and answer any questions. They recommended a lovely dog friendly pub, the Faber Fox which has a fab outdoor sitting area and a massive welcome for Chip our dog - they even lend out dog beds! We had a lovely meal there. The adjacent park is also fantastic for dog walks and is only a few minutes walk away. The Showers were also fantastic - the only ones we have come across where you can adjust the temperature and volume of the water, so I was able to finish with a cold shower which I love - I know not many will agree!! We can here to visit family in south London , we normally prefer small CL type sites so were not expecting it to bee so lovely, we will definitely stay again. I just hope the council decide to extend the lease as the site is under threat and has already been given a couple of reprieves, it would be such a loss

Anne Docherty

Reviewed on 30/07/2021 19:07

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Welcoming Site

We have been staying at the Crystal Palace site each week for a couple of months as my wife is on a trial at King’s College Hospital. We normally arrive Sunday leaving late Tuesday evening. It’s a short four mile walk each way to the hospital which our dog Peanut, my wife and I really enjoy. Maria, one of the managers at the site really helped us at the start of treatment booking all our visits for us and making us feel very welcome. Maria and her husband John are very knowledgable of the area and always looking for recommendations from other customers to pass on to others. Even better they keep the fridge stocked with mint choc chip ice creams. We have this week for the first time tried a grass pitch on the recommendation of Maria. Our VW T2 Camper and awning worked brilliantly and in fact it was the best setup we have had so far, before this we have always stayed on hard-standing. By having this site and our three day stopover it has made our visits not just about the hospital. We could stay in a hotel but who wants to do that when we have been made to feel so welcome. Ian and Lisa

IanBailey

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 29/06/2021 21:56

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Exceptional Site

We stayed at the Crystal Palace site for a week from 11/06/21 and were so pleased we finally made it to the site after having to cancel previous years due to health issues and then the lockdown. The location of the site is perfect for visiting London attractions either by bus not far from the site entrance or train from Crystal Palace Park. The site itself is lovely, peaceful and tranquil and well maintained by the Wardens who were always helpful and cheerful. Covid rules were in place and worked well in the shower/toilet blocks, with plenty of hand sinister units around the site. We spent nearly a full day exploring Crystal Palace Park which is easily accessible from the site and were surprised at the size of the park where there always seems to be lots of activity. The dinosaurs are also worth seeing. We are hoping that the C&MC will be fortunate enough to be granted a further extension on the site as we would love to go back for another stay.

aspire

Reviewed on 27/06/2021 20:43

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Charming site reasonably close to central London

We had one night only here but will return. In a grove of trees, birdsong++.. Very peaceful. We were received warmly and the facilities were open, clean and well maintained. To have a site as c;ose as this to Central London is great. It is a very pleasant walk down to Dulwich Village and the shops cafés and railway station there. The Dulwich Picture Gallery is well worth a visit although a little pricey. It often has very high quality special exhibitions. From there we walked on to visit our son in Peckham. Altogether a very successful 24 hours. I very much hope that the car will be able to extend the lease again into 2022

ScreenNameDE64858434

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 28/05/2021 12:21

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer