Crystal Palace Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Long Weekend in London

We stayed at Crystal Palace for a music gig in central London on Friday night and some weekend shopping and sightseeing. The welcome from the staff was friendly and helpful and included a comprehensive briefing on temporary changes to the bus service due to roadworks. The facilities were imaculate as always and the site overall was clean and tidy. We used both bus and trains to get into London both convenient to access from the site with a short walk. I recommend checking out the shops and cafes in Crystal Palace in the area known as The Triange, if you like carrot cake visit Colairo's in Westow St. for coffee and cake - the best I've had and a generous portion. I hope the Club can continue to keep this site open because it is an absolute gem.

Hutchmo

Motorhomer from Kent

Reviewed on 02/11/2023 15:29

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great site for London

Stayed last month - it's a great site and perfect for visiting London. Unfortunately Transport for London fined us as Google maps sent us off the South Circular into the ULEZ for 2 mins at Clapham and appeal unsuccessful .... so we'll be saving up before we come again! The ULEZ zone has now been extended but we all want cleaner air and we have no issue with that. It was still a great place to stay - would recommend.

RetiredandTravelling

Campervanner

Reviewed on 18/09/2023 14:51

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Good base for visiting London -BUT!

On arrival, after a difficult journey we were allocated a pitch which is fine. On trying to get the caravan into its correct position our Motor mover wouldn't work. So for nearly an extremely stressful hour of not really knowing what to do(the van was stuck in the middle of the access road to the pitches), I could see a warden gardening close by so I went to tell him our predicament -I don't know how he didn't notice us struggling. He immediately said, oh it's because of the tower- there was a BBC communications tower right next to the site-he said it can affect the remote control on the movers. So why on earth were we not forwarned of the when checking in?? After the extremely stressful journey, and then this, we were ready for heading off thinking the mover was broken. Luckily there was nothing pitched opposite so we managed to reverse the van to the pitch with the car. Had there been something there we would not have been able to do it. On reading the site information after , it mentions motor movers could be affected by the tower, but who reads that before getting pitched up? This is an extremely serious communication failure and should be addressed. ALL visitors should be advised on checking in and it should be noted on the site information big and bold! Besides all of this, it is a good base for visiting London.

Jcwood

Caravanner

Reviewed on 07/09/2023 08:02

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Excellent location and welcome but ….

Friendly welcome and was given some good tips getting to Kennington and London, that’s where the positives end. After reading some positive reviews I felt happy booking this site. On arrival we were greeted by loud ‘garage’ type music coming from a festival in the park. This in my opinion should have been highlighted on booking or in a follow up email? The site itself is tired and not as well kept as other sites we’ve used. Probably down to he fact it could be closing? Our pitch was near the toilet block which is very tired again probably don’t wish to spend the money. It had good hedging to hide to hide the toilet block but it didn’t mask the noise of the door slamming shut day and night. The showers were dirty, not from lack of cleaning by the wardens but people not cleaning up after themselves. On the final day they had to close the facilities as they had become blocked. The wardens had to unblock them, and I take my hat off to them. The wardens were lovely but as I said that’s the only positive.

Becky1969

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 01/08/2023 17:59

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great site Close to central London

Great site, very close to central London. I have stayed several times and although in Greater London the site is peaceful and quiet on the edge of a large park. Good facilities and helpful staff.

IDhenry

Reviewed on 17/07/2023 11:01

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

A gem of a site

This is a superb site with friendly helpful staff, good clean facilities and ideally situated for anyone wishing to visit central London. Situated among mature trees this site has a rural feel even though it's basically in an urban area and only a few miles from the capital. It is adjacent to Crystal Palace Park which can easily be explored on cycle or foot. The dinosaurs are not to be missed! Numerous bus routes pass close to the site providing easy access to central London and elsewhere. (Free travel if you have a senior bus pass).The staff were very helpful in providing maps as well as bus routes and times. When we explained we were going to Wimbledon for the tennis they provided us with a slip of paper showing the various routes and modes of transport for getting to Wimbledon - presumably something they had prepared specifically for Wimbledon fortnight. This site deserves to be around for a very long time. We will certainly be visiting again.

Camspire

Campervanner

Reviewed on 16/07/2023 17:09

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Sanctuary in the city

Amazing hideaway, great location for bus route into the city, pitches all very clean and tidy, facilities clean , everything has been carefully thought out. Welcomed by both wardens who work tirelessly to maintain this site. I read some negative reviews about this site but i didn't encounter any issues only help where it was needed.

ScreenName9B6D3343FB

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 16/07/2023 09:24

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Brilliant Location

We had a great stay here - being well connected by public transport to London as well as being handy for Crystal Palace Park. Facilities were absolutely fine and wardens friendly. We will certainly return!

Bramley 1966

Campervanner

Reviewed on 12/07/2023 15:58

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer