Crystal Palace Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

A tired looking site

I'll start with the negatives as it's better to finish with a plus. Firstly, this site is starting to look tired. The fencing behind my pitch was falling over and some or the wood around the pitches was going rotten. I don't blame the club for not sorting these things out as we seem to be constantly losing the site, the latest being the end of December I believe, but this is an observation. Secondly, I think the site must be being used as a base for people working in London. The people on the pitch next to us were up and around at 6am, slamming doors etc, and a pitch opposite was occupied by a converted old horse box who's occupant went to the toilet block on a scooter. There was certainly no usual camp site feel. Thirdly, this is the first site we've visited where our pitch was allocated, so we had no choice. Some of the pitches further up the site got satellite but we didn't and there's no facility for aerial connection. Lastly, the reception has a counter to ceiling perspex screen, which separates the two sides of the counter from each other, the only point of contact being a hole about 6 inches in diameter. When I checked in I picked up my mask from the van but forgot to put it on as I walked in. The lady in the reception asked me if I would please put my mask on, something I thought a little unnecessary as I was the only person occupying the space. I did so and asked her if she would do the same, to which replied 'No, I don't have to'. She wasn't impolite in any way but she seemed to be convinced that her wearing a mask was not required. So, and I'd like a response to this if you would: is it Caravan Club policy that the wearing of masks in reception is compulsory for members but optional for employees when they are both sharing the same air, or should the lady have been sympathetic to my request? Ok, that's the whingeing over: this site is in a great location, close to really cheap public transport. Central London was 45 minutes away and we did Kew Gardens in an hour by train for £5.40 return. There are many good pubs and restaurants in Crystal Palace and they're only about 15 minutes walk. The site's not as good as some but the great location means I'd go back again

JohnW58

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 13/09/2021 18:02

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Great location but that's it

I've stayed here many times over the last few years. The atmosphere seemed different this summer. Lots of people living on the site, driving to the washblock, speeding on site. The guy on the pitch next door to me woke me up when he drove his van into the site at 2am, when there are meant to be no vehicles moving after 11pm. As a solo female I was actually a bit wary on site in the evenings this time, something I've never experienced on any club site before.

Sarahv84

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 19/08/2021 21:12

1 review

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Amazing site!!

We stayed here recently for 6 nights and were very impressed! The site is beautiful with lots of small sections and loads of trees. Our motorhome was parked right under an enormous tree was was wonderfully shady in the heatwave. Although it is a fairly big site it doesn’t seem so as it is broken up into the different area, unlike some big field type of sites so was very attractive. The atmosphere on site is very friendly and the site wardens were absolutely lovely. We were made to feel very welcome on arrival and our dog was given the best welcome you could hope for, including lots of strokes and gift of a ball. They were always around keeping an eye on everything and always happy to chat and answer any questions. They recommended a lovely dog friendly pub, the Faber Fox which has a fab outdoor sitting area and a massive welcome for Chip our dog - they even lend out dog beds! We had a lovely meal there. The adjacent park is also fantastic for dog walks and is only a few minutes walk away. The Showers were also fantastic - the only ones we have come across where you can adjust the temperature and volume of the water, so I was able to finish with a cold shower which I love - I know not many will agree!! We can here to visit family in south London , we normally prefer small CL type sites so were not expecting it to bee so lovely, we will definitely stay again. I just hope the council decide to extend the lease as the site is under threat and has already been given a couple of reprieves, it would be such a loss

Anne Docherty

Reviewed on 30/07/2021 19:07

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Welcoming Site

We have been staying at the Crystal Palace site each week for a couple of months as my wife is on a trial at King’s College Hospital. We normally arrive Sunday leaving late Tuesday evening. It’s a short four mile walk each way to the hospital which our dog Peanut, my wife and I really enjoy. Maria, one of the managers at the site really helped us at the start of treatment booking all our visits for us and making us feel very welcome. Maria and her husband John are very knowledgable of the area and always looking for recommendations from other customers to pass on to others. Even better they keep the fridge stocked with mint choc chip ice creams. We have this week for the first time tried a grass pitch on the recommendation of Maria. Our VW T2 Camper and awning worked brilliantly and in fact it was the best setup we have had so far, before this we have always stayed on hard-standing. By having this site and our three day stopover it has made our visits not just about the hospital. We could stay in a hotel but who wants to do that when we have been made to feel so welcome. Ian and Lisa

IanBailey

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 29/06/2021 21:56

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Exceptional Site

We stayed at the Crystal Palace site for a week from 11/06/21 and were so pleased we finally made it to the site after having to cancel previous years due to health issues and then the lockdown. The location of the site is perfect for visiting London attractions either by bus not far from the site entrance or train from Crystal Palace Park. The site itself is lovely, peaceful and tranquil and well maintained by the Wardens who were always helpful and cheerful. Covid rules were in place and worked well in the shower/toilet blocks, with plenty of hand sinister units around the site. We spent nearly a full day exploring Crystal Palace Park which is easily accessible from the site and were surprised at the size of the park where there always seems to be lots of activity. The dinosaurs are also worth seeing. We are hoping that the C&MC will be fortunate enough to be granted a further extension on the site as we would love to go back for another stay.

aspire

Reviewed on 27/06/2021 20:43

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Charming site reasonably close to central London

We had one night only here but will return. In a grove of trees, birdsong++.. Very peaceful. We were received warmly and the facilities were open, clean and well maintained. To have a site as c;ose as this to Central London is great. It is a very pleasant walk down to Dulwich Village and the shops cafés and railway station there. The Dulwich Picture Gallery is well worth a visit although a little pricey. It often has very high quality special exhibitions. From there we walked on to visit our son in Peckham. Altogether a very successful 24 hours. I very much hope that the car will be able to extend the lease again into 2022

ScreenNameDE64858434

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 28/05/2021 12:21

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Excellent on all fronts

Have just stayed for 3 nights. Wardens were all very friendly and helpful. Good Covid rules, only 4 people allowed in the toilet/shower block at any 1 time. Showers not in use. Hand sanitising stations dotted around the site. Site very clean, and rural considering it is so close to Central London. Will be sorry to see it closed next year.

tstaff

Caravanner

Reviewed on 05/05/2021 18:50

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

A Gem of Tranquility

What a lovely little site! Set in a busy part of London, nestling in woodland right beneath the massive BBC mast, you’d be forgiven for thinking you were in a rural part of Dorset. I was originally booked in for two nights but liked it so much that I stayed for a further night and would have stayed longer if I could. The facilities are excellent and it must be one of the quietest sites I have ever stayed on with no intrusion form London traffic. Of course location is key and here it scores highly on all fronts. The Crystal Palace Park is excellent, albeit rather busy when I was there thanks to the late September heatwave and there is no end of cycling and even walking opportunities. The lovely Dulwich Village is only about 2 miles away and there is an excellent park there. I didn’t use any public transport but I understand that a bus goes from just outside the camp all the way to the centre of London. The only slight downside of the site, which is not the fault of the site owners is that access is a little tricky, towing a caravan through busy London streets being a bit daunting. I had a much better return journey though, as I ignored Google’s attempts to save journey time by using side streets (invariably having enormous road humps and 20 mph speed limits) and kept to main roads a safer as possible. The icing on the cake is that the site fees are extremely reasonable. I only paid £16 a night which must make it the cheapest overnight accommodation anywhere in London!

Alanicus

Caravanner

Reviewed on 24/09/2020 07:12

4 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great couple

Stayed at the site drove up from centenary site new forest impressed with location and site its self but what made it for us was the couple running the site always friendly always smiling always helpful if all the other members of staff at the other sites were like this pair it would be a great improvement for the club well done you two

sean cobley

Reviewed on 19/09/2020 16:05

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer