Edinburgh Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

ONE OF THE GREAT SITES

Unasumingly looking for a trip over the Xmas period so a couple weeks before managed to get booked in here for 31st December 2023 1st & 2nd Jan 24. Planned trip as setting off on the 28th December from Hull going up A1 then accros to Keilder Castle , then up to Pebbles and the to Edinburgh. The welcome we recieved was one of the best all the staff so friendly and helpfull, with it being new Years Eve, we asked about transport into Edinburgh , way and behold they had already organised in antisipation mini buses to ferry anyone there from 5pm onwards and rerturns from 1am onward to 3am , just wasn't expecting such organisation what stars. The next two days we found the site to be quite and relaxing with everyone staff and other guests being so friendly. Will be looking at a return during the warmer months. Just great keep it up SLANGEVAR!

JD742LD

Motorhomer from East Yorkshire

Reviewed on 22/02/2024 17:33

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Edinburgh exploring

This was our second visit to the Edinburgh Club Campsite - so I suppose that says a lot! The site is clean and well laid out and the staff are friendly. The facilities are maintained well. The site is under the flight path for Edinburgh Airport but this didn't cause us any problems. There are simple bus links into Edinburgh (a short walk) - we have now identified the 16, 27 and the 9 - or you can take advantage of the minibus service which goes from reception. On this visit we also walked up the coast on the cycle/footpath to Cramond and then followed the River Almond path - we noted that there are lots more walking / cycling opportunities than first thought. We will return next year.

ScreenName4A2236C15F

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 16/12/2023 17:15

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Edinburgh laughing all the way!

You don’t need to dig deep into your sporran to stay in wonderful Edinburgh. The Caravan and Motorhome Club site has all the first class fascilities we are accustomed to and is in an idyllic position on the Firth of Forth yet only a short bus ride out of the city or a personal taxi service from the campsite morning and evening for only £4 per trip with the friendliest Scotsman North of the Border, a stand up comic in his spare time, makes for a very entertaining journey with fellow passengers, plus the drop off point is only round the corner from the first ministers mansion! How cool is that?

Young2

Reviewed on 27/11/2023 14:45

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

A site for exploring Edinburgh

We stayed 3 nights to attend events in Edinburgh. Our pitch was level, the facilities were clean and everything worked. On arrival we were told about the path to the bus stop but found it very muddy and swampy in places, best walked in wellies or boots. After traversing it once we decided the better option was to continue along the pavement to Pennywell Cottages bus stop - a slightly longer walk of about 15 minutes. A torch is essential for either route as there are no street lights along most of Marine Drive. We enjoyed our visit to the Royal Yacht Britannia and hope to be back next year. I would say this is a good site for exploring Edinburgh, despite being under the flight path for Edinburgh airport.

LindaET

Reviewed on 22/11/2023 16:52

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

A lovely stay!

A lovely site where the staff were all very friendly and helpful. The site is in the perfect location for Edinburgh with an easy bus route but, even better, a taxi ride away, direct from the site with the lovely Graham! Well worth the extra pennies as, not only do you get collected from the caravan site, but you also get a tourist guide on your journey into the city! It's quicker and the dogs can go in the taxi with you too! Thank you Graham, we loved it! The site could, like a lot of others in the club, do with an upgrade, especially in the toilet blocks which, at times, were left in a real state! It is on a flight path to the airport but that didn't bother us at all. We enjoyed a lovely walk along the promenade, just outside the site, yes there was litter in the woods but that isn't the fault of the site managers! Thank you, we'd definitely return!

Steve Critchley

Caravanner

Reviewed on 26/10/2023 10:38

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Perfect location for exploring Edinburgh

Arrived here after some dreadful rain & floods. Despite half the site being closed due to this and other caravan sites directing caravans to the Edinburgh site we had one of the warmest welcomes ever from the warden. She was so helpful and happy. The site itself was fine but a bit noisy overnight due to aircraft. In the morning we had an excellent minibus service (with George) into Edinburgh. Dropped us near Princes St and agreed a time for the return journey. All for £8 return per person. Well worth it for the convenience and also the chat. Would definitely return to this site if wanting to visit Edinburgh.

Baggers4

Campervanner

Reviewed on 13/10/2023 15:39

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Good site in excellent location

Great location for the sights of Edinburgh. The local mini bus service into the city centre was really useful. Any negative reviews need to consider that this is a suburban location, so people, traffic and noise are inevitable. The whole point of this site is it location. Pitches and facilities perfectly good. Found the staff really helpful and gave lots of good advice and tips.

Paul and Nat

Campervanner

Reviewed on 11/10/2023 14:36

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellent Site for the city

An excellent site for visiting Edinburgh. We've stopped here 3 times previously once being when we joined the club. We've found the site clean and tidy and the staff friendly and welcoming. I'm a little annoyed at some of the reviews which are quite unfair - I cannot understand why folf don't research the areas they are staying in before making a booking and then moan. Edinburgh is an international city and therefore will have a major airport; it is quite easy to find out the flight path and expect aircraft noise!!! We stayed for 3 nights at end of Sept in our campervan. You quickly get used to the aircraft noise and it didn't bother us; ok there are some late flights but visit campsite in any other major city and you'll find the same. It's the same with the local children and football - Google maps shows football academy and playing fileds. While we stayed the noise stopped around 9 pm; far better than being on a site with a clubhouse pumping music out till late...................... not sure about the site being barron - makes no sense as it's full of well looed after boarders with a lovely mix of trees and lawned areas all incredibly well looked after by site staff. Ok the local area isn't the best but hopefully you're there to visit the city not the local housing and the site is well covered by numerous CCTV cameras; no site by nature can be fully secure from thieves but here added bonus is the site offers Police approved cycle lockers FOC for your expensive eBike or other; they are large enough to take 2 bikes, although we used 2 with one holding the cycle carrier and you have the keys to them. The facilites are spotlessly clean considering they get used by so many people; they are well maintained and i can assure you, being married to a nurse she'd be first to complain if below par. I'd like to see any hotel with facilities better than this for the money; why spent more club money to satisfy the few! Probably the same people complain of no TV reception - why take a TV on holiday with you.......... As for getting into the city it couldn't be simpler - why take the bus when you have the excellent Graham who has been running a minibus service for the last 18 years or so. An incredibly knowledgeable interesting chap who runs the service from the site reception into the city (Princes Street) every 30 mins from 9.30am - 12.00 with returns every 30 mins from 4.30pm to 7.00pm for the cost of £4 each way - just make sure you're at the front of the queue to get a seat. We'd planned a visit to the botanical gardens but but my wife had diffculty walking first thing due to a fall in the hills but Graham solved that and kindly dropped us off without being asked. We'll happily stay again and I'm happy to recommend to friends who we know would feel exaclty the same - if you want pampering hotel facilities find a hotel.

Norfolk JIm

Reviewed on 02/10/2023 16:25

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 1 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 1 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Couldn’t wait to move sites

Just visited this site after 3 days went to the wardens who was really helpful and transferred the remainder of my holiday break the site is Barron the surrounding area is awful just up from site is a refugee lodge full of rubbish drug use bottles cans all this goes into the woods the air craft path flights from 5am till 12 midnight I can sleep through most things but this was terrible also the toilets are in need of a upgrade these are far from CC standards and when now we are paying top prices for the pitches the toilet blocks and amenities should be the same there is a building site also down from the camp site which double parking off all the contractors on the grass verges just a shock site and will never return so took off on another 5hr drive to wharfdale one of my favourite sites but well worth the drive and nearer to home

twinkle1620

Caravanner from Cheshire

Reviewed on 01/10/2023 15:01

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Beware of the aircraft noise

The Edinburgh site is not far from the city but there is no convenient bus and it is in a pretty grotty part of the outskirts with loads of empty beer cans lying around outside the site. The bigger issue is that it is right under the flight path of Edinburgh airport. We were there for 2 nights and had problems getting a decent night's sleep since the last aircraft to fly over the site was after midnight and the planes started flying over the site again at 5 am the next morning. Furthermore the smell of aviation fuel when you left your caravan/motorhome the next morning was dreadful - and no doubt not very good for ones health - especially for asthma sufferers. The showers were 'clean' but old and tired with black stains on the floor tiles and generally all in need of a thoroughly good refresh. I wouldn't stay here again.

Mark Ommanney

Reviewed on 18/09/2023 11:52

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer