Edinburgh Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Site great, but…

We have used this club site for years to visit Edinburgh where we lived and worked before retirement. The site itself is immaculate, very well kept. Unfortunately, the surrounding area has become a bit of a nightmare. Day and night the road outside is a race track for cars and bikes. As a single woman, I felt very vulnerable walking to the prom and beach as there were drunks and groups of people fighting. There is access down steps opposite the site to the prom but they are long and very steep. Also it was clear that homeless people were sleeping in the woods opposite as there tents and bags of possessions were lying around. The prom and walks/cycle tracks are lovely, but I would suggest if you want to walk your dog there to drive down. Also the street outside has no lights at night. The walk to the town buses is about half a mile. The fantastic dog walk on the site, known as “spoof wood” has been closed. This is so disappointing as it was a special place to walk the dog. Avery small enclosure under trees with brambles growing through underfoot has replaced it where you must keep dog on lead. In summary, the site itself is super, dog walk is poor and surrounding area is seedy.

liz6

Caravanner

Reviewed on 21/07/2021 08:34

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Lovely setting close to Edinburgh - but noisy

The staff are excellent, the location is very good and close enough to walk to the city centre in 90 minutes although there is a regular mini bus service and plenty of local buses within walking distance. Our major bugbear was the locals using the land behind the site for their off road trials motor bikes. Usually starting around 4.30pm and going on for a couple of hours at least. If you have no issues with noise it’s a a perfect location.

Les Rosbifs

Caravanner

Reviewed on 10/07/2021 16:53

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely costal site with excellent a minibus option to get into Edinburgh

Lovely site, with a beautiful costal location - not what we expected for Edinburgh! The mini bus into Edinburgh with fun and knowledgable drivers was an asset. (Could this be organised for other sites?!) Peaceful and spacious site.

Edwin Brewer

Reviewed on 08/07/2021 22:03

11 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Great site but.....

We have been to this site many years ago, the staff are very nice and they do a great job of keeping it all running. Many reviews say a lot about people walking the road around the site, this is true, you can often hear people outside the site all hours and boy racers up and down the outside road, this is not the sites fault and the site is very very secure with CCTV. The site is great for if you are visiting Edinburgh. Only one thing I would like to see change due to the recent Covid19 secure procedures this site has put in place and that is they open up at least 1 male urinal in the toilet to eliminate the problem of walking in to a cubicle to find urine all over the seats and floor, we gave been to sites with less urinals than this site and they at least have one open!

Bunnyblue

Caravanner from Cumberland

Reviewed on 30/06/2021 12:22

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Great visit

We stayed at Edinburgh last weekend (17-21 June) and enjoyed yet another great stay on one of our favourite sites. Staff very friendly and efficient as usual and COVID procedures well signed and worked well.The weather was glorious for the majority of our stay which was an added bonus. Our pitch was mid site so no noticeable traffic or pedestrian noise. Due to road closures, the road adjacent to the site is now the only access vehicular route to a very popular beach area which has increased traffic but no issues for us. We certainly never saw any signs of excessive litter/alcohol tins etc mentioned by other reviewers from our daily walks along the beach- in fact we mentioned how well the area was kept given how busy the area was in the sunny weather. Absolutely no concerns regarding our personal safety when walking in the local area including late evening walks from bus stop- something I’m very aware of as a former Police Officer. Looking forward to our next visit in August.

Drummerboy7219

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 24/06/2021 10:23

4 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Peaceful beach location

Spent a few days at this site and wasn’t disappointed. Very quiet. Staff very friendly and helpful. Dog friendly. Showers and toilets very clean and Covid friendly. Best thing was a campsite minibus and driver named Graham who took guests from the site to Edinburgh town centre for £6 each return (CASH ONLY) he even allows dogs on board. Overall a very enjoyable break away. We did experience a little noise from the main road in the early hours of Saturday morning from a group of teenagers probably been on the beach as they walked from that direction but It didn’t spoil our time away.

ScreenName1719C208CE

Campervanner

Reviewed on 20/06/2021 22:16

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 1 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Lovely site shame about surrounding

Great wardens lovely clean site unfortunately outside very noisy and felt unsafe followed by group of men apparently the 2 property opposite are housing homeless people digagarded beer cans drug all over walk to beach

jan

Caravanner from Tyne & Wear

Reviewed on 15/06/2021 10:40

7 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great site and staff

We only stayed one night but the site is immaculate and beautifully kept. Also, there is local transport ready to whisk you into Edinburgh city (and back) directly from the site and runs every hour! We really enjoyed our brief stay and would recommend it.

ScreenNameC50BAD4642

Campervanner

Reviewed on 14/06/2021 15:50

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Recent stay

Lovely stay in the Edinburgh Caravan and Motorhome Club Site, close to Leith/Crammond, last weekend. Very friendly staff, extremely clean and tidy site with excellent shower/toilet facilities, with all COVID precautions in place. 10 minute walk to the beach/esplanade with Boardwalk Cafe and loads of benches, green space, view of the bridges and walks for dogs. Local bus service into Leith every 15 minutes, to sample the many restaurants and pubs. Also, a mini bus runs on a regular every day, from the site into the West End of Edinburgh, £6 return, which is great value (Graham and his drivers do a great job👍). Our first stay here, but won’t be our last.

ScreenName91B4D2071E

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 13/06/2021 17:29

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great site, easy access to Edinburgh

A superb site with spacious pitches. Well kept green spaces and the facilities are clean and tidy. Good access by bus into the city. Marine Drive is a disgrace. It's full of litter and is clearly abused by anti social types. Signs of deliberate fire setting, alcohol bottles everywhere, and noisy off road motorbikes each evening. The CAMHC urgently need to put pressure on Edinburgh City Council to try and resolve these issues.

ScreenName01A8A06E6B

Caravanner

Reviewed on 08/06/2021 20:31

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer