Hillhead Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Relaxing break

Just come home from a weeks stay. Had a grass pitch for a change really nice lots of choice. Site half full. I like the new fencing and removal of some older hedges to give the site a more open feel just hope they don’t remove to many. We are regulars to this site and this was our first visit this year and we were really happy to see the wardens red motorhome still there fred & his lovely wife make Hillhead what it is they are so friendly from the point of arrival it wouldn’t be the same without all their hard work and passion for this site may it last a long time. We walked the entire site and didn’t even see one piece of rubbish absolutely immaculate. Will be returning next month.

Gazzab

Caravanner

Reviewed on 15/05/2022 23:29

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Lesson Learnt - But Lovely Site

Brilliant site. We really enjoyed our stay here in early May 2022. The one thing we might do differently next time is NOT to book a Serviced Pitch. We have a long twin axle van and the choice of serviced pitches big enough for us was a little limited whilst there were a good number of very large and very private standard pitches with amazing views that would have been lovely. Nonetheless a great site. We'll be back.

Steve and Lynette

Caravanner

Reviewed on 05/05/2022 18:57

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Great Stay

This was our first visit to this site and it didn't disappoint. The staff were welcoming, friendly and extremely helpful. We had a problem with our hook-up and they went out of their way to help us. Facilities were spotlessly clean. We used the bar, but didn't eat there. The pool looked good, but it was closed as off season. The play area for children looked great, but we didn't use it. Pitches are nicely laid out, some different shapes to others, but plenty to suit all.  Perfect location for the bus stop (at the site entrance) to Paington or Kingswear (for Dartmouth). We will definitely go back, as there's still plenty more to explore in the area.

NicolaHK

Caravanner

Reviewed on 05/05/2022 10:28

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Disappointed

We have been visiting this site for many years, around 13 now, and have to say we are very disappointed with the amount of people not following the simple rules. There were so many people allowing and encouraging their children (not particularly young children) to play football and other ball games around the caravans. Unfortunately I don't believe the wardens feel that they can confront these people. There is a massive playing field where balls games can be played safely away from the caravans and cars. We came at a quieter time of year this time around, we normally come in August but found the issue of kids playing around the caravans too much for us, so booked to come in April but it was actually no better. We have also witnessed so many dogs wondering around without leads on, one wondering across the road. I've seen dogs peeing on people's awnings and caravans. I want to point out that we are a young(ish) couple (30's) with a young daughter (and a dog) and so are not against kids playing however I do believe that it should be in the designated areas. Due to the lack of control by the wardens to ensure the rules are being followed I'm sad to say we will no longer be returning to the site.

Jenniferj

Reviewed on 14/04/2022 20:00

2 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

first timers

Great first stay, excellent views, impressed by facilities and cleanliness. Some of the pitches are too narrow for a car, caravan and awning. You can't park your van in line with the marker and squeeze your car down the side. But now we know we will be back later in the year.

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Fantastic site End of March visit

Second visit to this fantastic site in our Motorhome, Very friendly reception, Clean and very quiet with plenty of dog walking space on site, Shop and restaurant, We did not use as fully stocked, Late arrivals area and a very easy entrance,

Scooby Doo

Motorhomer from Dorset

Reviewed on 28/03/2022 22:47

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Return Visit

We've not stayed here for a couple of years so it was nice to return and enjoy a short break in wonderful weather. There were changes and recent landscaping work has left some of the site exposed and bare but some missing hedging has been replanted. I had to ask on the club forum about the social complex as details were missing on the web site. Check out opening times if needed. We used the restaurant where table service is now in use. Our main meal was OK but treating ourselves to a dessert was disappointing and expensive. We made use of the excellent local bus services just outside the site. There was a timetable posted outside the information room but it's easy to use a phone. A visit to NT Greenway on the Dart was easy via the bus and ferries, the Greenway ferry booking is all on line or there is a booth opposite Boots in Dartmouth. Hearing what others were planning at the bus stop for days out was interesting, lots of friendly chat!

brue

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 26/03/2022 08:49

65 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

First Class for an early winter break.

I stayed at Hillhead from late November until mid-December and personally I cannot fault the site. Friendly and helpful staff, excellent facilities, bar and restaurant open from Thursday to Sunday after 5.00 pm, bus stop right outside the entrance to Kingswear/Dartmouth, Paignton and Brixham, excellent views towards the sea.

Trevor Cree

Reviewed on 21/12/2021 08:45

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Wonderful campsite perfect for an autumn break

Stayed mid November and the site was far from full and very quiet. Staff were welcoming and really helpful. We walked to Brixham via Mansands and the coastal path which isn’t for the faint hearted but is well worth the effort with amazing views. Bus stops outside of the site however we missed it from Brixham and as it was hourly we caught a taxi (£8). Lovely spacious pitches many with sea or countryside views and really comfortable clean facilities. Expect the summer is much busier but will defo go back.

MyrtleMoHo

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 15/11/2021 19:20

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A Wonderful November Break

This site is everything that you would expect fron a club site but just seems to have a bit extra. The pitches are immaculate as is the very warm facilities block. It was so nice when removing my shoes in the shower cubicle to discover underfloor heating. My exclamation of 'ooh underfloor heating' met with a response from an adjacent cubicle of 'are you talking to me?'. So nice to have a chat whilst showering. The wardens are some of the friendliest that we have come across and I think that this is the magic ingredient for this site.

Cheb100

Caravanner

Reviewed on 05/11/2021 12:38

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer