Hillhead Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A lovely place to stay, perfect for visiting the surrounding area

We stayed for 4 nights in July, enjoyed so much we booked an extra night. Good facilities, outdoor pool was a plus. The staff at the bar and restaurant were excellent, and the food was really good. Great base to visit Dartmouth, Brixham and Torquay. Also visited Salcombe which was beautiful. Our only gripe is that we booked a service pitch and these weren't in the beast place in our opinion. We felt very hemmed in. We will definitely visit again, but will not choose a service pitch.

Jcwood

Caravanner

Reviewed on 23/07/2023 16:24

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Everything was just right

We stayed at this site two weeks ago and loved it from the beginning. The staff were so helpful, they allocated us a level pitch which we had requested, helped us out when we had problems with the electricity, cheerfully froze ice blocks for us and were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The toilets and shower block was well designed and very clean. The restaurant food was very good and there was a good range of drinks. The location was wonderful with beautiful views across to the sea. Public transport was great, bus stops outside to go to Kingswear one way and Brixham and Paignton the other. It was the perfect place for us to walk the SW coastal path and we returned two weeks later to complete that section. It is the best site we’ve stayed at and we would certainly love to return.

GillyMac

Campervanner

Reviewed on 29/06/2023 19:32

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great June Holiday!

We visited Hillhead Club site for the first time in June. It is easy accessible and close to visit many places in south Devon. We took the local bus on most days out which is right outside the site. We visited by bus Kingswear and took the ferry to Dartmouth. By bus we also visited Brixham, Paignton and Torquay. We took the car to visit Buckfastleigh. Places of interest we visited Dartmouth Castle, Buckfast Abbey, the Valiant Solider Museum as well as the various beaches and harbours in the above mentioned towns. The Club site has a well stocked shop, Club house with free entertainment most nights. Restaurant and swimming pool! We used everything except the swimming pool. The facilities here are very clean and tidy and the staff are helpful and friendly. We could highly recommend this site. :)

sungold

Caravanner

Reviewed on 27/06/2023 10:32

27 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely site

First time to this site after a recommendation and are really pleased we went. The site is well located for public transport links to Brixham, Paignton, Torquay and Dartmouth if you don’t have or want to use a car. We didn’t use the swimming pool but it looked very nice and has a separate toddler/children’s pool. We didn’t use the shop as we only were there for 3 nights but it looked well stocked. We will definitely go back.

GFJ186

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 22/06/2023 09:23

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Deserves more than a couple of days.

Nice site with good facilities. Central between Brixham and Kingswear. We walked to both (on separate days) and caught the bus back, which stops right at the gates. We were a bit near the road for noise, but had a pleasant couple of days there.

ScreenNameF909F424BC

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 15/06/2023 17:08

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely Campsite

We have just had a 3 night stay in Hillhead. We cannot say a bad word about this site! Food is good, all staff are very friendly including bar staff. The site is very well kept and clean. It helped that we had fabulous weather and it was not a school holiday - this is our 4th visit and we will return.

ScreenName12371D30E9

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 25/05/2023 16:00

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A well kept site with good facilities

Our first visit to Hillhead with friends, initially planned to go to the Dartmouth Music festival which had unfortunately changed dates due to the Kings Coronation, which we only became aware 3 weeks prior. The site is big and has a mixture of grass and hardstanding pitches all in nicely landscaped avenues and cul-de-sacs. There are also tent pitches. The grounds looked well cared for, and the facilities were good too and clean. Not sure how many wardens and staff worked at Hillhead, but there were quite a few if you include the bar staff and kitchen team. All the staff we came across were helpful and cheery, and put on a really good get together in the the onsite club and bar which included a glass of bubbly and a tasty free BBQ, whilst we watched the Coronation on the big screen in the club. The site was quite quiet for a bank holiday, probably put off by the awful weather (rain and hill mist every day except one during our stay) and staying at home for the Kings Coronation. We did have a nice meal in the bar on our last night, and on many nights there was entertainment too. Not sure if the swimming pool was open, but it looked a fair size. We would come back again, like this time out of season, as I can imagine how busy this site must be like with 250+ pitches full. Bus Stop at gates for buses into Kingswear, Brixham and Paignton help keep the site connected and a great National Trust house and garden at Coleton Fishacre is a great place to visit.

peaf1997

Motorhomer from Flintshire

Reviewed on 08/05/2023 16:28

44 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great stay and hopefully readdressing some of bad press.

We had a great stay here in early May(not school holidays) The site is great with an abundant choice of pitches. The facilities were well kept and very clean. The on-site shop is great for stocking up on basics and offered adequate choice. We used the club house on a couple of occasions-very nice bar area and a choice of seating either in or outside depending on the weather. Good that there is a designated dog area too. My partner and the dog highly recommend the belly pork-excellent!! We couldn’t fault this site and would definitely return but as said our visit wasn’t during the school holidays which might have been a different experience?

Jaketoo

Motorhomer from North Yorkshire

Reviewed on 08/05/2023 15:47

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Forth stay at Christmas rally

Hillhead is perfect for a winter stay, quiet clean and well placed for visits. The staff were great and helpful. We have always enjoyed our stays and hopefully will return is the summer for a change.

guider

Caravanner from Devon

Reviewed on 08/12/2022 19:26

11 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Nice stay, slightly spoilt by loud inconsiderate behaviour

This is one of our favourite sites. This time we decided to move pitch to get away from a very loud and unpleasant family, swearing loudly and continuously. After moving, it was fine. There are regular buses to Paignton, Brixham and Dartmouth (Kingswear). If you don’t have a car with you, be prepared to use the bus - the local roads are too narrow, steep and busy for safe cycling. Like many CAMC sites, there’s no pub or restaurant within easy walking distance, but the on-site bar and restaurant are pretty good (although not open every day during our stay). There’s a lovely walk to Brixham, taking in part of the coastal footpath - recommended.

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer