Hillhead Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Summer get away

We were really looking forward to visiting this site after hearing great things about the site and the facilities on offer. We arrived on Bank Holiday Monday during our booked arrival time and got on the site straight away. We were given an explanation about the directions to take and the fact we may need to get out of the car to find a pitch as the site has a few pitches that are situated on dead ends. After driving around twice and finding nothing, we stopped and asked a warden who also told us to drive around - so not really very helpful. Like others have said in their reviews, it would be better to be allocated a pitch due to the size of van, rather than pot luck when you arrive and are already tired after the journey. We finally found a pitch with awning but it was not big enough to fit the car in the designated spot but we managed to put it across the awning. It was tight but we got on. Sadly, due to current restrictions there wasn’t any entertainment but the bar, pool etc were open. The site is ideal if you want to go and see Devon , which we did. There is a nice dog walk area and of course the stunning views. We would go back but would hope to see improvements.

KWJW

Caravanner

Reviewed on 08/09/2021 22:07

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Time for change

After reading many reviews since I posted my review on 2nd of August there is obviously a major problem with this site .I've been going to hillhead for the last 14years and I have never known so many bad reviews. So I think it's time to RIP up the rule book and start again. This flagship site needs an upgrade . Lose a few pitches ,make some bigger level pitches upgrade toilets basically level the place off and start again. And to solve the pitch problem once and for all be able to pick your pitch when you book. This will solve the problem of everybody moaning about early arrivals and the mad scramble for a pitch.also number plate recognition to stop people coming on the site who shouldn't be on.hopefully the powers that be will take note of all the bad reviews and do something. But as we are all members of the club we should be able to change things .we all pay a premium price for this site so we should expect a first class site.

ianbfc

Reviewed on 07/09/2021 21:29

2 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Very disappointing for a club site

We have been caravanning on and off for around 15 years now and visiting the Hillhead site has been our most disappointing stay of all. While the site is well maintained in in a good spot on the South Coast to explore the surrounding Devon beaches and attractions, the site itself if not the usual standard for a Club site. Our biggest concern was that we paid for a fully serviced pitch and this ended up being right next to the club house so we had to put up with load live music every night. This might be what some people are looking for, but we tend to like our holidays to be a peaceful time when we can relax. When we arrived at site, only two serviced pitches were available, both very close to the club house. The site is also very tight. We have a long twin axled 'van and could only just squeeze it around the corners when driving around the site. Our pitch was also very small, with no room to sit outside the awning at all - we've never experienced this before when paying the higher price for a serviced pitch. The lane was so tight, we had to motor mover the van in place as there was not enough room to swing the car around. A number of other owners came to speak to us about similar concerns they had. Utterly disappointed, it took a real shine off our summer holiday this year. I'm also not usually one to complain, this is the first negative review I've written for the club.

ScreenName66A183D133

Caravanner

Reviewed on 03/09/2021 10:11

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Standards Slipping

We have been to Hillhead many times over the last 15 years or so. Eagerly awaiting the long slow white knuckle tow up Telegraph Hill and reminising about the old man who used to live on the triangle of ground at its bottom. Folllowing a break from caravaning for about 4 seasons, I have the following obsevations. Hillhead is great or families and our children have enjoyed many innocent summer holidays there making use of the pool, arcade, shop and entertainment. We hope to be able to bring our grandchildren in the future. The area has something for everyone - costal walks to water parks, paddle boarding to bird watching and there are many pleasant beaches to visit. Staff - helpful and friendly as always. However, times appear to be chaning rapidly and the old Club ethos of abiding by the rules (however anoying) for everyone's benefit appear to be slipping. As other reviewers have commented - shared facilities are now well used and require upgrading, general mantenence (chaning light bulbs, fixing dripping taps) is not being completed, some Members are leaving toilets, showers and washing up areas in a mess after they have used them, bags of rubbish left on pitches, bags of rubbish dumped next to empty bins?, Members being allowed to enter the site before the stated time, Members erecting awnings on non-awning pitches, Members creating perimeter "stockades" with wind breaks, multiple vehicles on pitches etc etc. The site is on a hillside and offers a good variety of pitches with/without views, in rows/enclosed areas, some level/not level. There are many pitches which require advanced manouvering skills and/or a mover. As outfits appear to be getting bigger and wider maybe the Club should consider reviewing its access arrangements on site. During my recent stay the pool and associated facilities were closed due to Covid. It would have been nice to be offered some form of rebate for this as you pay a prmium for using the site in peak times. Also, a 7.5 tonne converted lorry arrived and had to be turned away due to its emense dimensions. There were also many very impressive motorhomes on site, towing small cars, which were only just able to fit on pitches leaving very limited outdoor seating space. We will be sure to use Hillhead again in the future but hope that a little more of the old Club Spirit reurns once this blasted pandemic is over!

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Week away

Excellent location to explore Torquay , Paignton and Brixham. Site layout could be a bit of a nightmare to navigate round especially for newcomers. There’s a bar and restaurant on site which is ok if you want to stay on the site for the night - it’s not great but I’ve seen worse - entertainment is a bit hit and miss. Swimming pool on site for the kids which is great . Bus stop right outside but not much else within Walking distance. I would stay again if I was in that area.

Daz P

Caravanner

Reviewed on 31/08/2021 18:43

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Perfect location but…

Perfect location for the riviera. Absolutely love Brixham. The site is a big site and very busy. Arrived at 3:30pm after a 7 hour drive. Hardly any pitches available. We found one pitch on grass which was not level but ok for our two week stay. Quickly realised that people were arriving from 9am and being aloud to access site around 10:30 to 11am and sending people onto the site on foot to hunt out best pitches and place equipment on them to reserve the pitches. I wish the club would allow pitch reservation on the website. A lot of the pitches are very tight and motor mover is handy for the larger units. Facilities at times were dirty due to members. I think the site with the bar attracts a different clientele from other club sites. Pool is great and well run. Restaurant and bar is also good. Pitched near some lovely members who were very friendly. This was good as we were pretty much on top of each other. Come on caravan and motorhome club. Sort the booking system out. Charge a deposit and allow selection of pitches. This will stop early arrivals. People driving like idiots to beat vans to pitches. People booking every week and cancelling last minute!

RobertDashwood

Reviewed on 29/08/2021 11:32

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Busy Busy

The site itself is in a lovely place, the staff were all friendly and helpful, its just too busy ! ( for us at least ). The layout of the site has much narrower roads than other sites making manoeuvring difficult at times, grass pitches are irregular shapes. So your experience here could be affected by luck of the draw, and the neighbours you get, some of the pitches you just would not want to be on. It does seem that having the onsite bar attracts some different characters to the norm. I am glad we tried it but its not for us , we won't be going back.

prandall65

Caravanner

Reviewed on 24/08/2021 17:37

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Busy site ideal for families but standards not what they used to be

We have just returned from Hillhead, our 5th visit over the last 15 years or so. With three growing children (2 teenagers and a 7 year old) the appeal was the swimming pool and entertainment, which kept everyone interested for a main summer break. The wardens (or site managers as they are now called) were lovely and hard working, although I think could do with more help - both from members in following some basic 'rules' to keep it nice for everyone as well as the club themselves as they seemed very 'self managed'. Sadly there were too many examples of inconsiderate behaviour from other members (excrement left in toilets, dog poo put in bin within dishwashing area that ended up around the rim as bag had broken, rubbish left outside bins and too many vehicles allowed on site per unit creating crowed pitches and encroachment into other's pitches.) The issue of speeding traffic on site, despite the sad incidents and fatalities of recent years on the site network, doesn't seem to have got any better. What the answer is I do not know when common sense seems so lacking. I am quite tolerant usually, but I think it would have tested my patience for the hardworking site team doing their best. I suspect times are changing and the standards of the Caravan Club certainly are sliding in our opinion at this location. It is a large site and to rely on the site staff to do all the hedge and landscape management, seems an impossible task - a site of this size needs more professional teams of landscape teams to keep on top of it, in order to get it into the shape it was in when first opened. This is in no way a criticism of the existing team who you could tell were doing their very best. On the plus side, swimming pool was great and children had a fantastic time. Lifeguards were lovely and we felt very safe enjoying the water. We enjoyed a few evenings at the entertainment and the entertainment team there worked hard to run things to a good standard. We didn't eat in the restaurant this time, but did feel the menu was quite basic and expensive for what it was (more gastro pub prices than what was being served). Having said that the restaurant was busy each evening but couldn't comment on the standard. Site is in an ideal location for the English Riviera and whilst overpriced is probably in line with everywhere else these days for staycationers. We will probably go back but mainly because of lack of choice for sites like this within the club with facilities, in spite of the issues raised.

bddblunt

Caravanner from Buckinghamshire

Reviewed on 23/08/2021 19:31

6 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Busy site

First time at Hillhead arrived in the rain to only find muddy pitches, No ones fault , The pitches that were available were small and tricky to get in to with out a mover. We moved following morning, A lot of members claiming a lot of space where it was available therefore making it difficult for others to get to their pitches and or get their unit out on leaving day. Got a lot going for it for families and I appreciate that it is a site geared for families, But witnessed a grandparent teaching his grandsons to ride a bike, Well away from his unit , The said child through lack of proper care by the grandparent went in to the side of someone’s unit causing damage. If staying there choose your pitch wisely or move as soon as you can, Wardens working pretty hard and could probably do with more help to keep on top of things. Will I use Hillhead again, Maybe but not at peak times. We were there with our Daughters and families,

Photomike

from Clwyd

Reviewed on 20/08/2021 16:59

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Disappointing

First came to this site 17 years ago and have been coming every year in the school holidays for the last 5 years we are disappointed to see how much it has changed. The biggest problem seems to be lack of guidance from the wardens. Pegs are being moved around to make some pitches bigger than they should be, others can’t get on the pitch as they have been made too small, wardens are moving pegs after you have pitched. Surely the distance should be checked early each morning before new arrivals are let in through the barriers. Grey waste water is being emptied in the drinking water areas again no guidance. There are a lot of new caravaners this year who probably would like some friendly advice. The games room is being shut permanently to extend the restaurant so that reduces activities for older kids. Very disappointing all round.

StevieG10

Reviewed on 19/08/2021 19:53

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer