Hillhead Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Quiet despite being full

We wouldn't normally come to a largish site during the school holidays but we were meeting friends locally. Despite being completely full we never felt crowded and the site was actually quite quiet - especially at night. Having 2 dogs and a husband who likes to sleep in, a good dog walk where I can let them both off the lead is very important to us and Hillhead has a lovely enclosed dog walk overlooking the bay. This is the first site that we have visited that has had a shop that was open and that was useful. Would definitely visit again but probably out of the school holidays next time - partly because we prefer to have more of a choice of pitch but probably more importantly so we can visit the beaches in the area when more of them are dog friendly.

ScreenNameD1EEEEEAC0

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 08/08/2021 16:25

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Pitch imperfect – Yoof - Nice site

This was our fifth time at Hillhead. The plus points of this site are seriously impressive. The views of the sea, including on three sides at the play area. The easy access to Brixham, Paignton and proximity of amenities. The excellent wardens who are courteous and working really hard to maintain the site. However. In the last few years this site has started to flag somewhat. As another commenter below notes, it is now the norm at this site for vans/motorhomes to turn up early in search of the best pitches. The wardens are forced to let them in otherwise they’d block the roads. That means those of us who obey the rules don’t get the level or seaview pitches we’d like. This was described to me quite openly by one of the wardens who advised me to move my van in the morning to a better pitch to beat the early rush. There has to be a easy fix for this. The pitches that are left are generally the ones you need some serious levelling equipment for, and are on grass. I saw several people unprepared for this with lots of stress involved. During our stay this time it was also quite noticeable that for the first time there were large (20-30 strong) groups of teenagers on the site. On the whole they behaved well so this isn’t a Victor Meldrew style gripe – it’s great to see teenagers with their families. However on several occasions they had clearly been drinking which resulted in some cringeworthy behaviour on the dancefloor, resulting in many other families quietly leaving the entertainment hall. It may be time to think about some kind of “quiet word” where needs be. Lastly – and this isn’t an issue unique to Hillhead – there were quite clearly a lot of caravanners and motohomers who had very little experience and were in some cases potentially dangerous. This included one rented motorhome which had to be towed off a downward sloping muddy pitch he'd charged on to, stopping just in time to avoid the hedge at the end and another caravanner driving at speed the wrong way down an access hill, in search of a pitch during the Morning Mad Pitch Scramble. I don’t really know what to do about this but it seems to be getting worse and on a site like Hillhead which has a lot of wandering young children around is clearly a risk. Better enforcement perhaps. So – I would suggest some overdue investment in this flagship site which is still a real jewel. And perhaps some thinking about how to manage what is a changing customer population, more similar to some of the large commercial sites. One other tip – if you stay at the end of the cul de sac (pitch 217 and the neighbouring ones) – expect a lot of traffic noise, and vibrations from heavy vehicles. It wasn’t too much of a bother to us but could be to others. Thanks to all of the team there – they were a credit to the CMC

underwoodchris

Caravanner

Reviewed on 06/08/2021 16:28

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Fabulous Find

Only our 2nd choice of sites to stay as we are new to Motor Home Hols and what a fabulous choice we made. Friendly staff, clean site, very good facilities and the Shop/Clubhouse made it even better. We only had 2 nights but wish it had been longer - we will be back.

ScreenName12371D30E9

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 04/08/2021 17:12

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Booking system

After reading numerous reviews about this site there seems to be one major problem ,the outdated booking process. People complaining about members arriving early, during our stay the majority arrived early. THE REASON FOR THIS IS TO GET A DECENT PITCH.this problem could be solved by updating the system. Book your stay choose your pitch. Simple.if like us you book a year in advance you should be able to pick a decent pitch. My suggestions are BOOK YOUR STAY AND CHOOSE YOUR PITCH SUITABLE FOR YOUR UNIT.BIGGER PITCHES SHOULD BE BOOKED BY BIGGER UNITS. IF THIS OPTION WAS ADDED TO THE BOOKING SYSTEM YOU COULD GET A TEXT MESSAGE SAYING YOUR PITCH IS READY SO TURN UP PAY THEN DRIVE TO YOUR PITCH.This would stop the mad scramble for the pitches. The wardens would have time to prepare pitches eg cut grass and hedges. And it would cut out the need for everyone to do several laps of the site to find a pitch.other brief points. Number plate recognition barriers.more wardens during peak season. Stricter rules on breathable ground sheets as some pitches were terrible. And personally I think the site needs upgrading. FLAGSHIP SITE IS FLAGGING.

ianbfc

Reviewed on 02/08/2021 21:52

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Not a site I normally visit

I normally head for the quieter sites, but I had my 2 grandsons with me and they were attracted by the thought of going swimming in a heated pool. Staff in reception were excellent, but on leaving reception and looking for a pitch, I found young children all over the road with no adults in sight which was a bit worrying. We found a pitch down a cul-de-sac which was near the toilets which was just fine for our 3 night stay. No problem with kids running about, as some have seemed to experienced. We did have problems with some dogs however. My dog was attacked several times with dogs off the lead whilst walking on the site. Buses stop directly outside the site, the Grandsons enjoyed the pool, was nice to have a bar & restaurant on site which we used every day and the youngsters running the show were a credit to the club. Would I stay again? Probably, if my Grandsons were with me, certainly not in a school break if it was just the dog & I for a walking weekend. Thats no reflection on the site or staff who I thought were brilliant, its just let down by some of the clientele.

Barry Matthews

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 02/08/2021 13:34

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellent

Stayed on this site for the first time would definitely return staff couldn’t be more helpful from reception to shop and bar staff and all maintenance staff some pitches our a bit tight to get on to our pitch was quite a large one and we had 2 cars totally enjoyed our stay added bonus the pool good dog walking area with a lovely sea view only downside was when the site is busy ;(kids off school) you’ll find quite a few on scooters playing on the roads so drivers be aware wasn’t accompanied with adults but overall a very good site

EthelN

Caravanner

Reviewed on 02/08/2021 12:01

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Hillhead, Devon

Just spent 3 nights at Hillhead, Devon. Have stayed here a few times but never during School holidays, what a mistake that was. The site has tremendous views, is very clean and tidy thanks to the extremely hard working pleasant staff. It's a crying shame that the trip was spoiled by feral youths (11 to 15) running amok all over the site chasing equally young scantily clad girls, especially in the bar area, where they spent no money but just fooled around with the entertainment and disco. I cannot understand how parents allow their offspring to behave like this, nor can I understand why this behavior is permitted in a licensed bar. If the club wants to attract this type of clientele create a purpose built youth club for them and keep children out of the bar. It is also noted that charging £41.39/night for two adults is very expensive when compared to other clubs/private campsites, regardless of the school holidays which are often used as a lame excuse to ramp up prices. I am fully aware that this is not an adults only site however on every previous occasion I have stayed here there were no problems like this.  Will definitely give this site a miss during school holidays in the future.

Paul and Lee

Campervanner from Devon

Reviewed on 01/08/2021 19:17

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Nice site if you get a good pitch.

Some lovely pitches but we were not lucky as the pitch we had was small and dark. The tiny bit of grass at the side was not mowed or the hedges cut so not a nice place to sit outside. The fully serviced facilities on the pitch were good and tv signal was good. We arrive at the specified time of1.00pm but noticed that people were being let in at 11.30am onwards on other days and obviously that is the reason why there were so few nice pitches left. Wardens were really nice and very helpful, food in restaurant was lovely and nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

JS07

Reviewed on 30/07/2021 18:05

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A midweek break

We had booked this site having stayed here a few years ago with our previous Motorhome. On arrival the reception staff were very welcoming and polite. The site was very busy and full to near capacity , however we found a very nice terraced pitch surrounded by hedgerows and not too far from a Service point. Although all facilities were open on site we elected to stay fairly self isolated. People were obviously fairly comfortable with the ever changing Covid restrictions but our personal preference was to keep ourselves to ourselves. We visited the shop on a few occasions for basic provisions and the shop appeared to be fairly well stocked although some priced goods, not all, were rather extortionate. People seemed to be enjoying the outdoor swimming pool which was well managed. We didn't use the restaurant or bar, through personal choice, nothing else. Toilet and washing facilities were very clean and the staff were working extremely hard to maintain them so. We didn't visit surrounding areas on this occasion because of our nervousness to mingle amongst large groups of people, but from previous visits to the area we know that there is alot to do in the vicinity. Overall we had a very nice break in good surroundings. Thanks to all the staff for their efforts.

Fran57

Reviewed on 30/07/2021 14:22

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely Site, But

Just back from Hillhead had a lovely time and good weather. Site was very busy with kids now on School Holidays. We managed to get a Pitch with no awning (Blue Peg) but found these squeezed in on small plots and uneven ground, they would be put to better use for site facilities or flower beds. As mentioned School Holiday time so the usual issues with kids running across pitches, using the feeder routes as race tracks with bikes/E scooters/Skate boards, with no parent control. Love the site but its starting to get too cramped

Basa47

Reviewed on 27/07/2021 07:58

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer