Longleat Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

ticked all our boxes

Recent return after 4 nights on this fab site. Shaky start with a major diesel leak. Drove to our pitch only to be greeted by 2 less than helpful fellow campers who thought it was amusing offering their take on it as 'expensive this motorhome life isn't it' followed by a hasty retreat chuckling to themselves. NOT HELPFUL. Then appeared 2 angels in the form of wardens Clare and Emma. They were amazing, supportive and very helpful. They offered assistance and came back a few times to check we were OK AND again the following day. Mayday/greenflag saved the day and all was well again. The family opposite our pitch then offered some of their meal which was so gratefully received I shed a tear. The facilities on site were spotless with the covid regulations/guidelines in full operation. There is lots of space between pitches and most are surrounded by trees so takes time to decide where to choose sun or shade. There is a games room which would be great for kids but closed presently due to pandemic. So peaceful apart from Belle the sealion making lots of noise day and night (did not disturb) and occasional roar from the lions. The team are on hand to direct you to the walks and cycle routes around the site. It is quite hilly around the site so beware if cycling. After the initial incident we had an amazing stay. First day we wasted no time visiting Longleat and booked the bus for the safari tour. Limited spaces due to covid, air recirculating unit installed on seat headrests and all wore masks. We felt very safe and well looked after and the driver/guide, Dave was great. The park was a fab experience and we spent the whole stay taking advantage of a self guided tour around the site and gardens. Entrance fee included the boat and train ride but the bus was an extra £8 per adult (not a negative as well worth it). What a stunning place. Frome is the nearest town which we visited both by bike and bus. Day 2, we cycled to Frome and got the train up to Bath. It cost £12 return (took the bikes on board) and allowed a day seeing the fabulous architecture that Bath has to offer. Beautiful weather, lunch in one of the many eateries and a seat overlooking the Royal crescent. Day 3 we walked to the white Hart pub (little under 2 miles from site) and got the bus to Frome with tired legs after the previous days cycling. Not a great deal to capture us in Frome but I think that's more a matter of taste. Bus back and a couple of hrs in the White Hart before a giddy walk back to site. We are booked to stay again this season and can't wait. It's a fab site for adults and families, it did not disappoint.

Midge and Craig

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 21/06/2021 22:21

2 reviews

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

not what it used to be

Site its self is ok.... you are a bit remote... great if you're visiting the wildlife park every day. The big draw back for me is..... years ago you could walk around the Longleat estate without any problems now you cannot.... as I found out when the camera's pick me up and a security guard come driving to see what I was doing and told me its not allowed, in years gone bye i've cycled and walked all over the estate without any problems. NOT ANYMORE YOUV'E BEEN WARNED.... The other thing that happened was the fresh couple next to me parked there caravan with the peg in the middle of there van so that meant they were parking there vehicle on our grass and closer to our awning and every day he used to open his vehicle doors to try and cool the interior down in the hot weather we have just had. How inconsiderate and I'm alright jack attitude. The price of this site should be adjusted to compensate for the loss off not being able to walk on the estate grounds.

Kizer

Caravanner

Reviewed on 17/06/2021 17:11

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Thank you lovely staff

The site is charming set in tall beautiful trees giving lots of light and shade. Plenty of flat road to either jog around or for the children to scoot or cycle. Good children's playground. But best of all is the greeting from the staff - all four staff on duty were so very helpful and welcoming and had the patience of saints!! We had a relaxing stay and enjoyed chatting to our neighbours.

ScreenName429CD31E14

Campervanner

Reviewed on 16/06/2021 20:01

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Peace and relaxation

We have just spent a week on this site and found it very peaceful, even when full. It is a little remote and walking or cycling from site does involve some hills. The walk up the road to The White Hart is well worth it. Excellent food, drinks and staff and very reasonably priced. We also tried The Royal Oak - again an uphill walk and slightly further, but much prefer the White Hart. We pre bought tickets for the safari park and used the entrance next to the site to walk into the park. We paid the £8 per person for the safari bus as we didn’t want to take our Motorhome in. We would recommend paying that little extra, whatever your vehicle. The bus has air filters fitted to most seats and has limited capacity - only 8 people downstairs when we’re there. We had to wear masks and felt totally safe. The driver gave so much interesting information and knew where all the animals were. We saw so much more than we would have done driving ourselves through - and there’s no risk of damage to your vehicle. A great day out just disappointed the House isn’t open yet. Frome is a 5 mile cycle ride from site, again hilly but worth a visit.

asdfg

Reviewed on 14/06/2021 07:57

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Thank you Clare

The assistant warden Clare went above and beyond to help us, It was only a very minor issue but she went out of her way to to help. Thank you Clare.

brian and caroline

Reviewed on 13/06/2021 11:28

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

lovely, peaceful, tranquil site

this was our 2nd visit to the site, 1st time was last december to visit the safari and festival of lights for my birthday, loved it so much even though only stayed 2 nights that time, we decided to book again for this year for a little longer, we booked straight after returning from the 1st visit then lockdown happened and we had fingers crossed that our stay could go ahead, which thankfully it did, the welcome you get is warm and very friendly with pitches explained as to parking on them and pitching awnings and parking your car, also asked if any assistance is needed, covid restrictions explained in full as to what was open and useable and asked to ether fill in a track and trace form or use the app to check in and hand back if using the form, once you decide on your pitch you go back to reception to recieve a fob for the gate, which has been cleaned and sterilised, The site is lovely and clean and pitches are spacious, with ample space between pitches, we stayed by the lake so could hear sea lions clearly, and in the evening the lions and wolves, if your an early riser like myself you can hear them around 4am too, On this stay we went out and about the area as stonehenge is only 30 mis away, with frome 10-15 mins where there is a sainsburys and asda, shepton mallet is about 25 mins where a tescos is Already booked for another stay in december this year

mazzimoo

Caravanner

Reviewed on 28/05/2021 12:07

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Beautiful Location

This site is a long way from anything other than the safari park (Longleat) and it would be easy to think that there is no point going unless you want to visit the park - but you would be wrong. Upon arrival, I always ask about bus routes so that we can avoid driving off again. Unfortunately we were told that it was 'not a very motorhome-friendly site'. And no other advice or support was offered. So I am going to help the Caravan and Motorhome Club be inclusive and helpful...This is what you can do: The nearest bus stop is on the main road that you turn off (with the pub on the corner which I think was called The White Hart) and so the walk is not really for people who do not like walking - but if you enjoy a walk, then the day out by bus is an absolute treat because the countryside you walk through is incredibly beautiful. Downside is the large tractors we came across on the road - going in and out of fields - the roads are narrow in places, so allow plenty of time to get to the bus stop. The bus goes to Warminster on the opposite side to the pub and to Frome from the bus stop in front of the pub. This is a country service and not too frequent so you will need to check times on the timetable and with the bus drivers. The bus we caught to Frome first, arrived at the stop about 9.45am ish. Aim for that. The bus to Warminster turns around in Warminster and comes back. Frome is lovely - quaint with shops and cafes (I can strongly recommend the River House Cafe and Black Swan Arts - healthy food and lovely courtyard setting. Explore Frome - there are lots of shops away from the obvious centre - climb the cobbled streets - and there is a train station. We caught the bus where we got off and took the bus straight through to Warminster - This is not as 'pretty' as Frome but it has a Waitrose. We did a bit of shopping and got a taxi back to the site. Very easy. Taxi cost us £16. We were happy to pay - we hadn't had parking to pay for a large motorhome and we had enjoyed our bus rides. Overall an absolute lovely day. Enjoy!

LaDolceVita

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 16/05/2021 12:16

23 reviews

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Another Fantastic Stay

We've visited Longleat Club site many times and it never fails to impress. Even with the COVID restrictions in place, it felt as near normal as could possibly be during our long bank holiday weekend away. The wardens Gail and Mark take great pride in the site which is evident throughout, with well maintained grounds and pitches, spotlessly clean facilities along with tidy and well kept infrastructure. They are supported by their team, all providing wonderful customer service and a can do attitude. Nothing is a problem and you feel very welcome indeed. The site is well situated for a visit to Longleat Safari either on foot through the pedestrian gate next to the site or just a short 2 minute drive to the safari drive through entrance. On this trip we were also treated to a chorus of roars from the prides of lions both in the morning and evening. Without a doubt we will be returning later this year for the ballon festival and Gail & Mark's warm welcome and hospitality.

CarrsandCaravan

Caravanner

Reviewed on 04/05/2021 18:39

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A Fabulous Weekend

We have visited Longleat site regularly over recent years and are never disappointed. We received a very friendly welcome and were booked in quickly and efficiently. Despite the site being full over the bank holiday we had a very peaceful and enjoyable stay, it is great to hear the sea lions and other animals in the safari park next to the site. The site is looking very well maintained thanks to the hard work of the managers Gail and Mark and the team, It was great to see Clare and Emma the assistant wardens out and about on site who gave a friendly word and a cheery wave when passing. We will return again soon I am sure

AEGB

from Wiltshire

Reviewed on 03/05/2021 17:01

11 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Yes, You can hear the animals!

We have been going to Longleat for a few years now. it is right next to Longleat House and Safari Park, you can walk in on foot from the site. Gail and Mark, the Site Managers, are absolutely brilliant, they always go the extra mile. The site is immaculate and the pitches are a good size. We have just spent the bank holiday weekend at the site. It was busy with families all enjoying themselves. The animals in Longleat were very vocal, you could hear the lions, wolves and sea lions all chattering away at various times of the day. there is no traffic noise on site so on a night it is silent, apart from the odd sea lion noise! The site is a good spot if you want to visit Glastonbury, Burnham or Weston at the coat, Cheddar Gorge and Bath. There is lots to do in the area and several supermarkets in the area. Walking from the site is limited but there is a small dog walk.

Herewetow

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 03/05/2021 14:21

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer