Looe Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely October Stay with family

Visiting this site at the end of the season was just so blissful, we were 1 of 15 campers on site (obviously only 2 VW the rest were Moho). Therefore, the site was only using the bottom section of hard standing. It was peaceful and quiet, the only noise was the rain, wind and seagulls. We had pitch 157 with a large green area to the left of the van. All the pitches were well spaced out with loads of room. The hard standing didn’t required hard standing pegs which was an added bonus (although we did have them). Phone and 4/3G signal was good, we managed to watch Netflix and movies on our devices most evenings, as it was raining! The boys enjoyed the ball game area, crazy golf and the park - big kids! The on site swimming pool was not in operation but that didn’t matter, it’s an added bonus for our May ‘22 trip. We took golf clubs with us and you can take tennis bats too to enjoy tennis. The wardens were friendly, site was really well kept, even with it being the end of the season, toilets and facility areas were really clean and tidy. There were no faults on this site. We enjoyed to nearby Coddy Shack, a local fish and chip takeaway and restaurant which was really lovely and reasonably priced, all cooked to order. The fish comes in directly from the harbour. We took a trip to the nearby sheltered cove Millendreath down a narrow road, very lovely little cove. We also ventured to Talland Bay which we enjoyed more although road was also narrow and steep in places. East Looe Beach is a lovely place to walk around the Harbour and enjoy the lovely little town. Lots of places to visit around the site within a short drive or on the bus, outside the site.

mctravels

Campervanner from Hampshire

Reviewed on 30/10/2021 21:46

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely site

Visited this site on 25th-27th October 2021. We love this site and have visited many times. The staff are always incredibly friendly and helpful. The facilities are always really clean and well maintained and the cleanliness of the site generally is impeccable. We love it here. Just can't believe how quiet it was for half term, there can't have been more than a dozen outfits on site. Great for us though.

SomersetDoug

Reviewed on 28/10/2021 20:41

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellent late summer break

We visited in late September, and found the site still nearly full, but considering the pitches didn’t look too bad, the grass around the hard standing pitch we where on was absolutely fine, by chance we struck lucky with the sun on the pitch morning and evening so where more than happy. The wardens where friendly and informative about the site and area and the facilities although we don’t use these that often preferring our own, where of a good standard. If you are into dogs the site will be for you, not our cup of tea but I can’t hold the site responsible for the occasional bursts of frenzied barking. As we visited during school term the site was quiet, however it’s location and proximity to Looe was excellent, as was the fish and chips just a couple of minutes down the road.

Shinymoose

Caravanner from Staffordshire

Reviewed on 28/09/2021 19:40

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Very enjoyable stay

Booked in easily: there was a queue but all dealt with quickly. Chose hardstanding (143) overlooking one of the toilet blocks. Good sized pitch though chocks were required. Facilities were very clean and if you choose your time carefully, not busy - though the site was pretty much full. Staff were friendly and helpful. A neighbour arriving just before we left had dogs which did yap a bit but not so much that it disturbed us. We witnessed one incident of dog fouling where the pizza van is - disgusting. But overall, I did not experience any problem with dogs. There is a wood fired pizza van twice a week and an ice cream van. The pizzas were fantastic. There is a bus stop directly outside the entrance to the site which goes into Looe but we walked - it's steep but doable in half an hour. The bus from Looe into Polperro 'blobbed' so we shared a taxi with other passengers. From there we took the coastal walk back to Looe and campsite - a lot of walking but really beautiful, lots of beaches and scenic coastline. We also got the train from Looe into Plymouth. The journey was about an hour costing about £6.50ea return. Had a nice day wandering round the Hoe/Quayside. Also visited "32 New Street" - preserved Elizabethan house with stories to tell. Overall, very enjoyable stay on a nice campsite, the weather was glorious, the location was convenient. Would visit again definitely.

DG60

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 27/09/2021 19:28

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Not a site for peace and quiet

The reason this site is no good for peace and quiet is due to the sheer number of dogs which the owners allow to bark and bark and worse than that, they allow them to foul on other people pitches rather than getting them to the dog walk. It’s about time the club, which is run for ‘all the members’, introduced dog free areas for members who object to the noise and fouling of their pitches which seems to be getting out of hand. The final comment is this practice of reserving pitches for, so we were told, large rigs, only to see a medium sized caravan park up on a premium pitch. About time the club allocated pitches on arrival which would stop the practice of someone in the party walking round the site with a deckchair and plonking themselves down on a prime pitch whilst the husband checks in at reception. So selfish and needs to be stopped.

Jem Aldridge

Motorhomer from Warwickshire

Reviewed on 27/09/2021 17:05

11 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellent staff

We found the site to be clean and extremely well equipped, the staff, especially Hilary, were excellent and very informative. A lovely site and not too far from anywhere.

ScreenNameC85BF65554

Caravanner

Reviewed on 27/09/2021 16:37

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Graham n Cathy

Very Disapointed stayed here before on a Standard Hardstanding Pitch this time on a Scruffy Depressing Service Pitch adjacent to the dog walking area with Barking dogs early morning & evening Never thought I'd say this but glad to Leave Looe an Cornwall, The whole site needs a make over, as I'm Disabled thought a Service Pitch would be easier got that wrong nerver mind won't be returning sorry to say!...

Graycat

Caravanner

Reviewed on 24/09/2021 11:55

15 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Disappointed

Having had a long journey, we arrived and checked in ... the check in was rushed and we were told only grass pitches were available. We were left at the barrier waiting for some considerable time, we had to go back to reception and ask them to open the barrier! ... I had been the only person checking in, so not down to dealing with another check in. We managed to locate a spot, but totally unsuitable as one of us has a disability, and we have dogs ... ground muddy and uneven, we won't be able to put up awning, and won't be able to secure dogs or tie up outside without risk of them annoying the motor home we are immediately behind. Sadly the pictures on the website do not reflect the actual site, if you are expecting tree-lined rows, forget it,those trees appear to have been replaced by ranch fencing which now acts as a barrier for back to back pitches. It is unlikely we will be staying here for long unless a hard standing pitch becomes available in the next day or so. First impressions are not great :-(

dexr

Reviewed on 18/09/2021 05:15

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Return visit

This visit was slightly different to the previous one only a couple of months before. It was certainly quieter, probably because children have gone back to school. The camp was full, and due to a misunderstanding when making the booking, we weren’t given the choice of pitches. On our previous visit we had to go looking for a pitch and then return to the office with the chosen pitch number. Maybe staff were having a bad day when we arrived, they were a bit stern and not very understanding. It probably hasn’t put us off going there again though.

Brixham Maid

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 17/09/2021 17:21

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Great weeks stay

First time visiting this site and the area. Nice site although we were unable to get on a flat gravel pitch as they were either all taken or had a warden allocated sign on the pitch?? Not sure what that means. Our grass pitch was ok but site is on a hill so you need to level your unit. The toilet block had plenty of showers and was never full which was a bonus. It would have been good to have hairdryers away from the communal basins as they were just in the way there. There’s a bus stop outside the site to Looe, Polperro which we used. Cheaper to get a return than a single ticket. Buses not always on time and limited on Sunday’s. We came home by taxi a couple of times. Some good places to eat in Looe but booking essential during peak times and weekends. Great chippy near site called coddy shack which we used once. Great location for visiting the area. We walked into Looe from site once and along coastal path ( there are several routes which site provided). it took about half an hour, road is busy but there are footpaths. Cannot hear road from site. Pool was closed but there is crazy golf, tennis courts and a fog walk. Very enjoyable stay and we will be visiting again but not during school holidays as it would be too busy for us.

LynsB63

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 13/09/2021 18:45

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer