Bourton-on-the-Water Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Quiet and peaceful stay

We stayed at this lovely site for 3 nights in August 2021. It is only our 4th time away in our caravan and our first on a club site. We found the wardens to be helpful and friendly. The site was very well maintained and the service point, electricity and booster for the tv signal did work well. We did need to use the booster for the tv signal, so I would advise taking the correct wires etc to do this. There were no children's play areas and the site was mostly filled with adults, so you might want to bear this in mind if you have a family. There are lots of things to do in the area that children would enjoy though. We enjoyed a visit to Stratford-upon-Avon and visiting the market in Moreton-in-Marsh. Bourton itself can get very busy. We went in on our last day for breakfast and found it a lot quieter (great if you want to take photographs) and we had a great breakfast at the Bourtanical cafe. There are no toilets on site but we knew this before we went there, so it was not a problem. I would have no hesitation in recommending this site to other members.

ScreenNameF3DC866FB9

Caravanner

Reviewed on 14/08/2021 16:57

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 1 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 2 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Awful Experience

If you want to enjoy time with a few friends and family don’t bother coming here. Also if you want to sit out after 9pm talking with others go somewhere else! From the moment we arrived I felt like I was being spoken to like I was a child, the site is extremely strict about how you park. Your told dogs have to be kept on leads at all times but if your a local or sited there your fine you won’t get told of! We went with a few friends came back to the site after going into the village around 11pm wasn’t even playing music was just all talking (about the stars) for no more than ten minutes before going back to our own vans and was told to go in! The next morning was then told of by the wardens, if you want to enjoy yourself and not feel on edge do not book on this site. Spoke to a family who had a child when they had a warm day they bought their child a small pool and was told to empty it and put it away! If you want to feel on edge, stay on a strict site, watch coronation street and go to bed at 8pm this is the site for you! We were a group of 8 and none of us felt welcomed, or enjoyed staying there and would not return very disappointing!

Comment from the Club

Further to your review we would like to address your concerns as the site staff have been in touch as they work incredibly hard to try and ensure everyone has an enjoyable experience on their campsite and always try to be as helpful to guests as possible.
With regards to your concerns, we would like to advise that as you were parked off the peg the site manager needed to measure the distances. This is because of fire regulations and is important for the safety of everyone on the campsite. The site manager let you stay there after checking the distances were within the correct spacing. Please be advised for future reference we ask people to pitch like this to avoid the spread of fire. On checking in, this was highlighted on the reverse of the map you were given. As such there must be at least 6 metres spacing between facing walls of adjacent caravans, motorhomes or trailer tents and a minimum clear space of 3 metres between adjoining cars/awnings/tents in any direction.
The site staff spoke to you about noise levels as they received complaints from other guests. We do ask guests to be considerate of noise levels late at night and that is why if we receive complaints we do need to speak to you. All dogs must be kept on leads at all times as per the Club Rules and we do also state in the Club Rules that people don't use paddling pools.
We hope this addresses your concerns and would like to assure you that the site staff work incredibly hard to maintain the site and ensure guests have an enjoyable stay with them.

long D4WG

Campervanner

Reviewed on 08/08/2021 12:45

1 review

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Retreat

I returned once again to this site for a time of retreat. Robin and Annette made me so welcome. This site is superb, the tranquillity accompanied by bird song is outstanding. This has to be one of the best managed sites in the Club Network. The attention to detail is superb. Everything you need is to hand. Thank you for providing this little oasis in the midst of very challenging times. Don't change anything at Bourton, it is just perfect the way it is. Thank you.

Canon Graham

Reviewed on 07/07/2021 13:23

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Beautiful site

What a gem of a site. Beautifully kept and maintained, with many added extras that add to the ambience of the site. No facilities, but we knew that before we went so this does not affect our opinion, why do people even mention it? Do they not read the handbook? Annette and Robin are dedicated and very friendly, you can tell they thoroughly enjoy what they do, and this reflects on the whole atmosphere of the Site. Will certainly visit again, great access to main towns by bus, directly from the Site entrance.

Canny

Motorhomer from West Yorkshire

Reviewed on 04/07/2021 22:06

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely Two Night Stay

Our first visit to BOTW caravan club site, friendly staff on arrival, site is small but well laid out. No tolet/shower facilities but for our short two night stay was not an issue. Children could run and ride bikes around the site, which was safe and secure. For a short stay would recommend the site, its location for Bourton on the water and exploring the cotswolds was perfect! Pitches are level and the place is spotless with plenty of facilities for water and waste. Brilliant shops and food provisions at Bourton Highly recommend the Chip Shed for fish and chips by the river. Evenings and overnight considerably quiet which was bonus considering the site was full. Yep we will visit again!

5 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Choo choo

We were fascinated to learn that the site is in an old railway cutting and from our pitch, we could peer through the hedge and see the old bridge (sans deck). The site is about 4 miles from Bourton and is pure countryside, barely noticed anything passing on the road. The wardens were exceptionally friendly and helpful and the site is exceptionally well maintained. We loved our pitch - it was very roomy, on tarmac and easy to access. The site is small and our first time with no block which was no problem and cheaper. The air is so clean here that the stars do not twinkle. The shop at reception has an amazing range of goodies even though it's tiny and we enjoyed ice cream and cake from their stock. There is easy access to attractions and Bourton has many but choose your time - we went in for 9am on Friday of Bank Holiday weekend and it did not start to get busy until lunchtime but we drove through on Bank Holiday Sunday and it looked like Bournemouth Beach. Brilliant bakery, fish and chip shop, Motor Museum and another fabulous day out is the Gloucestershire and Warwickshire Heritage Railway at Toddington not far away. Choo Choo! Go to Morton In Marsh on Tuesday for a brilliant outdoor market.

The3Caravaners

Reviewed on 11/06/2021 10:37

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Great stay at Bourton-on-the-Water

We really enjoyed our stay here! The site is great, very peaceful - so if you are looking for entertainment, choose something else. Pitches are good size, grass is mowed regularly. Of course, there is no shower/toilet block - but we knew that and did not bother us. You can go for walks (dog walk is good), Bourton on the Water is close by and really pretty but verrrrry busy due to nice weather. We did not have much contact with the wardens (only at check in when she was very helpful).

Nacho

Caravanner

Reviewed on 06/06/2021 22:16

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Beautiful site

This was our first motorhome experience and we’d booked in for 2 nights. This is a beautiful site very well maintained and quiet whilst we were there. We had a problem with our gas and the owners couldn’t have been more helpful trying to resolve our dilemma . As novices just to know we had some backup was very reassuring. Site entrance is off a fast country road so extra care needed when exiting. We have no hesitation in recommending this site and will return in the future to admire and enjoy the beautiful Cotswolds.

IanBaddeley

Reviewed on 18/05/2021 17:13

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Bus stops at the site ..

Exceptionally friendly and helpful couple managing the site which is odd in that there are no toilet/washing facilities although that was not an issue for us. Quite a distance from Bourton on the water so you will need to drive or catch the bus. Lower rating only based on absence of facilities others may want.

Band T

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 17/04/2021 17:15

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Great Site

This was our first stay at a club site ans we were more than impressed. The couple who run this site were friendly and helpful, as were other members on site. We will return in the future as there is still so much walking and cycling to be done in the area, although we will need to build up our leg muscles for cycling up those steep country lanes.

Betty Booper

Caravanner

Reviewed on 02/10/2020 10:24

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer