Hillhead Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Another perfect stay away

We are frequent visitors to Hillhead as they offer the perfect getaway in terms of location, facilities, cleanliness and above the warmest of staff who I believe deserve a special mention. From the moment you arrive you are welcomed by the first member of staff to set eyes on you and they are quick to point you in the right direction regarding check-in. Here you are met with a friendly face who makes the process quick and easy. Before you know it, parked up, feet up!! The safe/secure dog walking field is a must for us as we an active Boxer who doesn't listen when off lead!! Bar & Food has always been enjoyable with entertainment thrown in. On site shop has got us out of trouble a few times. We haven't stayed on that many club sites but this is by far the best so far. Kudos to the staff at Hillhead for a fantastic job which makes for a memorable break away.

Peter WestlakeWebb

Campervanner

Reviewed on 27/10/2023 14:55

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Two night getaway at an outstanding club site. Will definitely return

Outstanding club site with every amenity possible. Staff are very very friendly. Would recommend this site to anyone and would definitely return.

ClubMemberC0F6F0606C

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 11/10/2023 16:19

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellent Site

Beautiful location with sea views. Really well kept site. Toilets and showers were spotlessly clean. Really good dog area where dogs can run off lead. Bar area was nice with good food too and dogs were allowed inside in part of it. Reception staff were super friendly. Pool was closed when we were there but it looked good as did the children's play area. The site is really close to Brixham and is a good spot to explore Torbay from.

ClubMemberDD70DFCB16

Campervanner

Reviewed on 04/10/2023 22:18

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

We love Hillhead

Back at Hillhead for the first time in 5 years and we still love it. Friendly, quick check in and love to be able to choose our own pitch. Managed to get a large hardstanding pitch with stunning sea view for 4 nights. Brilliant facilities and always clean and warm. Lots of water points, bins (including recycling) etc., around the site. Well stocked shop on site (even out of the main season). Bar and restaurant on site - for us the only negative during out stay! Called in for a drink first night, no real ale (had apparently sold out that day.....really?). We were told it would be on the next night so we planned to have our evening meal there. Arrived to find it was still off - settling apparently - and wouldn't be on until the next day! Their loss, no money spent there again. Didn't bother to go back during our next 2 nights. Entertainment on 3 out of our 4 nights. Good walks from the site into Kingswear and Brixham, although the Brixham directions are VERY confusing (even our neighbour couldn't work it out and opted for the bus!). Excellent bus service in the Torbay area, right from outside the site entrance. £2 per person per trip or £6.50 per person for the Torbay Day Rider. Well worth the money as we went from the site to Paignton, Babbacombe, Torquay, Paignton, Brixham and back to the site all in one day. It would've been 5* for us but dropped a * for the disappointing bar facilities.

Bude Camper

Motorhomer from Cornwall

Reviewed on 03/10/2023 11:25

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Opportunities for improvement

We arrived VW Campervan towing a 7.5m single axle caravan…check in was good although it would’ve been helpful to have been advised what pitches were available (especially when arriving on a BH Saturday in August). A lot of pitches are in cul-de-sacs (great when you’re pitched). We also turned in to a one way road which wasn’t shown as a no right turn (on the hill close to pitch 199 if the wardens are reading this) we only realised we’d entered the wrong way when we spotted the white arrow on the road surface some 10metres in to the roadway. Trying to turn right at the end was a no go…typically other campers were extremely helpful & I reversed back to escape - Thank you if you were one that helped 😬…I also note they may have started to verbalise available pitches which is good as it demonstrates they listen to feedback & these reviews! Didn’t use the pool although it looked good, the entertainment appeared to be of a decent standard…but not for us - other than the quiz which we enjoyed. Food was acceptable although they insisted we were served our starter & main course at the same time (just in case they got busy). Drinks priced around £10 for 2 pints of lager shandy. Dog friendly with 6 inside tables & the conservatory plus courtyard all available…excellent field & enclosed dog walk…always well mowed. Went to the shop on 2 occasions during advertised opening hours…shut both times…maybe a bell system would help to be on call rather than have to “man” the till full time. Toilets & showers…really no issues, not the most modern but perfectly serviceable & always clean…credit to the wardens for this & their general maintenance activities (due a CAMC Directors visit on Tue 12th Sep). The location is remote in so much as you cannot walk anywhere but a bus service to Brixham/Paignton or Dartmouth/Kingswear was useful but no evening service after 7pm. Really enjoyed visits to Dartmouth/Brixham/Totnes the boat/ferry trips are reasonably priced too. In summary we had a great 2 weeks there 👍

SharonSmith1970

from East Yorkshire

Reviewed on 10/09/2023 08:20

21 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Another Great Stay over the summer holidays

We have stayed here for a number of years and have enjoyed every time with our two children. Since covid, some things have changed - the loss of the kids room/arcade. Which is a shame. But now is a sports bar for those who enjoy watching live games etc. The site and facilities are and have been clean and tidy, although the shower blocks could do with some updating, the showers have some of the best controls around, temperature and flow (not the push button which last "5" seconds, which makes it difficult washing thick long hair) Although not so great weather this year, we still managed to make good use of the pool. Enjoyed the Bingo and entertainment on site most evenings. We had food in the club one evening which was as nice as always...... Great to see the Pizza menu back! The only downside to our stay this year was the constant barking and yapping of dogs throughout, which has nothing to do with the site it self. We don't understand some of the previous comments, regarding the site being over priced. This is a site advertising the onsite facilities. Surely, if they don't want or need to use them, that's their choice. Other option could be to use another site in the area (Ramslade?) We feel these negative comments are unfair and unjustified. We'll be back soon.

mk4anna

Caravanner from Avon

Reviewed on 09/09/2023 10:39

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Very good site

We stayed here for 10 nights in September. We would definitely stay again. We too had read the negative reviews with some concern, but this is an excellent site. Our pitch overlooked the sea, we had plenty of space, good privacy, the shower block was always very clean and the staff were always courteous and helpful. We swam in the pool most days.. what a great bonus. There was always a lifeguard there. The shop was well stocked and another real bonus. We had one evening meal n the clubhouse and our meal was very good. Simple food, beautifully cooked with excellent service. It was busy with all tables full, probably because there was entertainment that evening. The young woman singer was outstanding.We didn't know what to expect but we certainly didn't expect to be moved to tears by her beautiful voice and performance. All in all this is a very good site, busy, well managed, great location, super pool, good restaurant... I'm not at all sure why our experience was so different to others who have left reviews.

Pillai2121

Reviewed on 09/09/2023 09:21

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Quart into a pint pot, where squeezing the maximum number of units overrides any feeling of space immediately around you

This is,,by any measure, an expensive site compared to the majority of sites of any persuasion. Over £55 per night. We are happy to pay anything if it is value in terms of return. This was not, Packed in like sardines, smacks of profit before quality. Not being told where is available on arrival may sound trivial, but when you are over 14 metres in length (car+caravan) and asked to drive around a site where some 50% of the pitches are down cul-de-sacs, is quite simply ridiculous. After trying to get into a spot for 10mins, a warden then arrived to inform me that they had reserved a space but forgot to tell us when we arrived ! The grass and hedging needed cutting many days before we arrived. Some areas were well maintained and others not at all. We had a very average meal in the clubhouse and didn't return so cannot comment further. We did not use the facilities or swimming pool so again cannot comment. Worth noting, you are in effect on a peninsular and the majority of the best beaches are south and therefore you need to go over on the ferry to and through Dartmouth each time.You are tied to going north to a large degree (Pailton & Torquay) which are commercial and tourist orientated. If you have children then this would probably suit. In terms of value and location, this is the worst, overly saturated site I have been to anywhere in the UK. We are a couple with dogs and no children to give additional context. The staff were polite and they are an asset to a tired and mediocre site in terms of quality. I will never return.

ScreenName70090F08EE

Caravanner

Reviewed on 23/08/2023 22:03

3 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great site

Not sure why there are so many negative reviews of this site. We are veteran campers, but new to holidaying in a campervan. Having read the reviews we were a little concerned at having booked here, but the site is great. It was very busy, full of families and loads of children, but then it was August. We used the shower and toilet facilities every morning, and found them clean and fully functional. I am sure it is a real challenge to keep everything clean and tidy during such a busy time, but I was pleasantly surprised at how clean and tidy everything was. We will definitely be back. The surroundings are stunning, with great views of the sea and countryside, and easy access to Brixham. The local buss didn't arrive on the morning we planned to get to Brixham, and as my husband was booked on a sailing trip, we needed to get to Brixham harbour urgently. Staff were really helpful in advising us on how to find a taxi and we made it on time. I stayed onsite with just my dog for three nights and everything was great. We didn't use the pool or club house as it's not our thing, but I do think the staff here should be praised for their hard work and support provided to campers.

ClubMember54EE00AD87

Campervanner

Reviewed on 22/08/2023 18:45

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer