Hillhead Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Wonderful campsite perfect for an autumn break

Stayed mid November and the site was far from full and very quiet. Staff were welcoming and really helpful. We walked to Brixham via Mansands and the coastal path which isn’t for the faint hearted but is well worth the effort with amazing views. Bus stops outside of the site however we missed it from Brixham and as it was hourly we caught a taxi (£8). Lovely spacious pitches many with sea or countryside views and really comfortable clean facilities. Expect the summer is much busier but will defo go back.

MyrtleMoHo

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 15/11/2021 19:20

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A Wonderful November Break

This site is everything that you would expect fron a club site but just seems to have a bit extra. The pitches are immaculate as is the very warm facilities block. It was so nice when removing my shoes in the shower cubicle to discover underfloor heating. My exclamation of 'ooh underfloor heating' met with a response from an adjacent cubicle of 'are you talking to me?'. So nice to have a chat whilst showering. The wardens are some of the friendliest that we have come across and I think that this is the magic ingredient for this site.

Cheb100

Caravanner

Reviewed on 05/11/2021 12:38

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Perfect for exploring the Dartmouth region

We stayed here over the half term week October 2021. Very easy to find site with no restricted roads etc on route. Just A roads all the way in. The site is large however did not at all seem crowded even though they were full. We barely heard another person! The on site bar and restaurant was a great bonus as well as the evening entertainment (for kids and adults). Facilities were clean and plentiful as usual. We particularly liked the private style pitches which had hedge rows separating the pitches. Very nice and a great way to contain an excited 3yr old :). Staff were helpful and friendly. The bus service ;leaves from directly outside the park gates and goes to Dartmouth, Brixham or Paignton where you can then link onto busses to Torquay. All in all a perfectly located site for exploring the region with coast paths, National Trust Properties and great dseaside towns on the doorstep.

Mike and Cheryl

Reviewed on 03/11/2021 12:15

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 2 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Wouldn’t rush back

The site has the usual CMC issues of finding a spot in the pitches that are left, the one way system is a joke and the turning onto the serviced pitch road is crazy. So tight and caravans going over the kerb and damaging their equipment, I just made it around in a motorhome. For me it’s a bit remote, no pubs or restaurants with 2,5 miles and if your in a MH you need to rely on the buses a No. 18, 120 or 12 from Brixham. The site is clean and the club house good for an evening drink and some entertainment. Big shout out to the stagecoach website for bus info as it was spot on they were very regular. Good dog walking area as well.

ScreenNameF8F1AF6F95

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 27/10/2021 13:49

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

ice site with great facilities

We stayed with our campervan for a week in September 2021. The site is very clean, pretty quiet where we were pitched and the facilities were immaculate. As it's a large site it has two fully serviced facility blocks. There is a pool but it was closed when we got there, which was shame as we would have enjoyed that given the glorious weather. The bar and restaurant were an added bonus and served good quality "pub" food at reasonable prices. There was also evening entertainment a couple of nights when we were there. There is a bus service right outside the site although we walked. Walking to Dartmouth or along the coastal path back to Brixham is entirely doable but is not for the faint hearted or unfit. The hills are large and come up on you often, especially along the coastal path. Walking back from Brixham is one, long, continuous uphill slog. But properly equipped and provisioned the walks were excellent. The only down side is that some of the pitches are quite small and packed in at odd angles and in cul de sacs. To get our T6 camper in and out of our pitch required a multi-point turn including driving and reversing against the one way system. We managed but bigger rigs might struggle depending on what was available. The local intel seems to be arrive early, and if you don't get your favoured pitch the first night, move the next morning as people leave.

Paul and Sue T6

Campervanner

Reviewed on 21/10/2021 09:54

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Fabulous sea views, with early morning peace, beautiful sunrises and twinkling ships’ lights on the horizon

This site has every facility, exactly where you need it, in a peaceful and beautiful setting on the top of the hill. Early mornings offer some fabulous sunrises, preceded by the twinkling lights of passing ships on the horizon, as you walk to the conveniently located shower block. I will definitely revisit.

cjpymm

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 11/10/2021 18:47

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely site and wonderful wardens

Very big thank you to Margaret for her help and kindness after a terrible tyre blowout on the M5 in our large motorhome 18 miles from the site...she had a pitch ready for us as we arrived later than expected. We were shaken up and she was so helpful. We had a peaceful couple of days ...mainly getting our tyre done ...but had a meal at the restaurant which was very nice. Lovely site and very peaceful in term time. Spotless facilities and clean site. Shame the pool was closed as we had a very sunny and warm few days. But appreciate they struggle for life guards. Thank you again for being so kind.

Fi53

Motorhomer from Cambridgeshire

Reviewed on 03/10/2021 14:48

14 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Large site, Busy, Usual good standards

Only stayed overnight. Site almost full and only pitch available was grass - but weather had been dry so OK and in a sunny spot. Washing facilities were the usual block which was clean with lots of toilets etc. Large site and we didn't get to see it all. Was quiet though. We did need chocks. Visited Dartmouth which is a nice place but not that much to look at within walking distance. Luckily it was lovely weather and it's nice to watch the people go by. Got the ferry across the Dart which was cheap and efficient. Nice site. Would visit again if in the area.

DG60

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 29/09/2021 09:55

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great place!

Our first time on a south coast site and we were spoilt! Easy walking distance of Kingswear, Dartmouth, Brixham and Paignton (for those that like a long coastal walk!) the site also has a regular bus service to all for those not willing to walk or if the weather turns bad. We were also blessed with Glrious weather so late in September! We will definitely be returning in our MoHo! Having a pub, restaurant, shop, onsite definitely made a difference! Staff were very friendly and helpful in finding empty pitches to try and save us time driving round to find one!

Rich CE

Motorhomer from Nottinghamshire

Reviewed on 28/09/2021 19:25

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Amazing Hillhead site

Just got bk Sunday from Hillhead after an amazing 1wks staycation. Had the best time ever visited so many wonderful places didn't want 2 come home.weather was perfect, the views from the dog walking area was stunning.The wardens were so helpfull & polite, I would find it difficult to give the site any negative comments was just lovely had s massive pitch.The resturant fd was lovely & bar on site was perfect.cant wait 2 go bk 10/10 so many beautiful photos & memories 2 treasure kind regards mrs edwards

ScreenNameB1F1220DCD

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 28/09/2021 15:51

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer