La Bien Assise

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Think twice (or 3 times) before paying money upfront for this site.

Although this is a good site on which we have stayed on many occasions, one has to be wary of their cancellation policy. We had booked and paid for 17 nights in August through the club (a total of around £750) but due to the rising infection rate in France and the oncoming UK travel advice we decided it was correct to cancel as we were planning to be in France a total of 10 weeks, The cancellation policy at Bien Assise is you lose all. In the current climate all other sites we booked credited or refunded any deposits/fees. I would advise anyone booking this site through the club or otherwise be very very carefull before paying any money up front. I also think the club should make the cancellation policy with this site clearer. Château du Gandspette is a better option.

MossDnP

Caravanner from Lancashire

Reviewed on 08/09/2020 20:15

3 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Large, parkland site with range of faciities

Spent a happy few nights at la Bien Assise, Guines, in our caravan in mid-September (off season so quieter than summer peak). Short drive to Calais, Sanguette and also close to the Normandy coast which is worth exploring. Reception is closed 12 - 2pm in low season, but we were able to choose our pitch as site only about half full. Pitches are mostly a good size, some have low privacy hedges, but many are more open. Set amongst tall trees so although a large site, it didn't seem too big. Had a good meal at the restaurant on our last day. Staff helpful, speak English, but this was a more impersonal, larger site than the other two we had stayed at previously in N France. We found the washroom facilities fine. Many users are one night stopovers, but quite a few were, like us, staying longer as there is a lot to see and do in the area: Boulogne old town, Cap Blanc and Gris Nez, Chateau d'Hardelot, walks around Licques (10km to the S.) etc. Overall a good, well run site rather than excellent, and would happily return for more or as a stopover.

GrahameL

Caravanner

Reviewed on 10/10/2019 20:44

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Fantastic site for stop over or longer

We stayed st this site at the start of our holiday for 2 nights and at the end for another 2 nights. We arrived when reception was closed, but following the instructions in the window, found a pitch and got set up before returning later to confirm our details. We needed to arrange a vets visit for our return and this was arranged by the reception team with no problems. The site facilities are good and although some were closed as we were nearing the end of the season this did not detract from our stay. We returned at the end of September and the site was a lot more closed down, however the restaurant was still available and we had an excellent meal here one evening. We will definitely use this site again on our next visit.

kingfisher26

Reviewed on 02/10/2019 16:25

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Overnight stopover for the channel

Great site for Calais, only 15 mins to the europort, we stayed mid September, and it is frustrating to pay full price and then establish shop, bar, snack shop and some toilets are all closed as its nearing end of season, if that is the case then the prices should be half price too. Other than that superb for the channel crossing

Elliegracie

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 23/09/2019 19:35

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great First/Last Night Stopover...and possibly In between!

Used as the last night of our 3 week stay in France and not disappointed. Arrived when office shut so found a pitch and reported later. Large, spacious, grass pitches surrounded by mature trees, ours having dedicated water, waste and electric point. At least 2 toilet blocks and a great heated swimming pool that was empty (not literally) apart from us in September - lovely swim. Didn't try the slide - water in drop pool freezing! 12 mile drive to the port so ideal and just a short walk into the village. Yes there are fixed tents on site and the restaurant was shut but hey ho, can't have everything. Lots of comings and goings with over-nighters and it isn't cheap compared with other camp sites but you pay for the convenience of location.

paul56

Caravanner from South Yorkshire

Reviewed on 27/09/2018 18:41

48 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Another block open

Can’t find how to amend last review, but I found another door into another unit open today, so there are ample toilets and showers right now. Put down to my lack of language knowledge the response to my query that there was only one toilet block open. So, it’s back to perfect, well, almost.

grannynut

Reviewed on 27/09/2018 07:16

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

End of season

Well, all the superlatives written about this site are correct. I love everything about it as well. There is only one thing I can fault it on, and that’s because it is end of season. I can understand the bar being shut, and no bread on site, the excercise does me good walking into the village, but WHY Why oh why oh why is there only one small toilet and shower block open (3 toilet cubicles). The place is rammed, there hardly seems a vacant spot. Sorry, I can’t be bothered going round taking photographs to prove my point.

grannynut

Reviewed on 26/09/2018 19:21

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great location ! We love it here !

As others we used this site on our way out to Normandy and on the way back to the UK , its ideal for the tunnel or ferry as only about 15-20 mins from both. Had a massive pitch ! which on our return the excellent reception staff let me pick the same one again. Very friendly staff and efficient , lots going on and comings and goings if you like "people watching" 1 Facilities were great quite a few blocks in the site , with clean showers and toilets and washing up blocks for plates etc. Set it a big area , never felt crowded although it was busy there. Has a mix of pitches and rented chalets, tents etc , much like other French sites. There is a shop, and bar(expensive drinks) , but check opening hours , also a pool for the kids (or adults!) , down by the main house there is a nice restaurant ( we didn't use it this time as we had BBQ). Only one concern was that the power went off one night and there didn't seem to be anyone on site or contact details to tell them about it ? In the end one of the people in the rented Eurocamp chalet phoned their rep , and power was back on within 1/2 hour. Al in all an excellent site/stop over , lots of interesting people there , we will definitely use again

bisto36

Motorhomer from Cambridgeshire

Reviewed on 28/05/2018 22:04

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

We love this site...

We always use this site now for our first and last night in France, as do many other Brits which is evident from the comings and goings and the number of GB plates! It's worthy of a longer stay though, its very well run, the reception is efficient and the facilities are spotless. Pitches are a good size and lots have water direct too. The local town is a 15 minute walk and it's very convienient for the tunnel and ferries which are just a short drive away in Calais, Very happy to recommend this site.

MJG1959

Caravanner

Reviewed on 03/09/2017 22:08

8 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

a very nice clean site

we left booking are holiday late as we were waiting for are passports to arrive we ended up booking this site as it had spaces and it was close to the ferry port as I've never driven abroad before and didn't want to drive to far it only took us about half an hour from the port to the site brilliant on arrival the staff were very good and took us to the pitch and what a very nice pitch it was loads of space and level we had room for are caravan with full awning and my little boys tent car and still loads of room for sun beds ect its a very well kept site very clean and the toilets were very good with very hot powerful showers and always clean and tidy the pub was expensive but ok food was also ok the French restaurant on site was excellent with a good choice at a reasonable price I recommend it the swimming pool was good my little boy went in it every day and loved it and the water slide the shop sells basic things and everybody goes to it and gets a French stick of bread in the morning lol people come and go on this site but we liked it lots of different people to see we will defiantly stay again

karenseymour

Reviewed on 11/08/2017 21:58

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer