El Astral

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Delightful Tordesillas

WELL run 150 pitch site close to Tordessillas. Tordessiilas 13th century compact hilltop town with lots of history abd interest. Mix of 6 and 10amp EHU’s Youngsters seem to enjoy this site. Reception helpful and professional. Good shade and demarcation. Reasonable sized pitches though not large. Single Spacious reasonably modern facilities block. Large clean swimming pool with space for bathing/ sunning. EHU’s ( 2 pin) in blocks of 8 means long leads required with some running across access roads. Dusty on our hot 5 day August visit but staff try to address this Mostly touring pitches. Fairly priced? Fairly quiet after midnight. Mostly Motorhomes Lots of short stay Bar and restaurant busy

LozzaS5

Motorhomer from East Lothian

Reviewed on 07/08/2022 19:28

16 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellent choice

Decided to stop here on our way to San Sebastian as weather poor up there and it was a really good decision. Excellent reception from a young man with perfect English , good pitch with electric close by although there are trailing leads on some , very clean modern toilet block , they've even got a dishwasher , goodish free WiFi all over site . Nice friendly atmosphere, restaurant very popular with locals but limited menu for veggies . Pool very good surrounded by nice grassy lounging area . Easy walking into nearby Tordasillas with lovely sqare and many nice bars and restaurants. The Saturday night we were there acces into town was blocked on the bridge due to bull running and most of the town was out to watch it, quite depressing but very much part of the local culture. Definitely the best site we've been on on our 4 week trip through Spain and Portugal so far .

TessaSmith

Reviewed on 27/06/2022 08:38

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

A Good Site

We have stayed here many times as prolonged stopovers travelling both south and north, pre or post ferry. It is a nice little site with good facilities, good pool and good restaurant. Tordesillas is an interesting town to visit and you can get the bus to Salamanca or Valladolid. We used one of their service pitches this time - much better and less dusty than the regular pitches we have used before.

ColJacq

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 26/06/2022 12:31

48 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

It’s title is ‘The Star’ with some attention it could be.

We stayed here twice in May 2022 - booking through CAMHC. The second time we booked on line the day before and this worked perfectly well although staff told us we would have got the same rate if we had booked direct. Reception staff were friendly and spoke excellent English. Pitches are well defined but fairly small. On some a very long cable is required. The whole site looks as if it could do with a bit of TLC (tender loving care). The pool and other sports facilities were not open when we visited. The toilet facilities are kept spotlessly clean although a broken toilet seat we reported twice was not sorted after six days. The disabled facilities are in the male and female blocks. This means that a male partner caring for a disabled wife has to give ladies warning before entering the facilities. There is a clothes drying line which was very handy. We only tried the restaurant once. One main course had been slightly warmed in a microwave and had to be sent back. It was very pricey compared with other on site restaurants we have used. We did not try the cafeteria. Although the site is about 50 yards from the Duro river, it is screened by trees and there is no access to the the river from the site. The historic town of Tordesillas is beautiful - from the Royal Convent of St Clare to the bars and cafés of the town square - try the nuns’ biscuits available at the unique revolving counter. Disappointingly the guided tour of the Convent was only available in Spanish. Supermarkets are marvellous and the first petrol station on the left over the bridge had a 15% off offer when we were there. It’s a small town but we could visit it again and again.

Peter Meager

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 27/05/2022 15:56

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Good stopover site

This was our second site in Spain. We found it easily using co-ordinates, and found the staff to be welcoming and very friendly. The pitches are quite small and fairly close together and you have to choose carefully to avoid your power lead being driven over. As the pitches are mainly grass or sand they can become quite muddy after rain. The site facilities were absolutely fine and the showers had plenty of hot water. We did not use the restaurant or shop on site although we did use the laundry which was very efficient. Plenty of good dog walks around the campsite. Tordesillas is a very interesting town with a lot of history, and it is certainly worth walking around the old part by the church and library. Plenty of shops and filling stations, and we can recommend the E-Oil station which was the cheapest around. We had another night at this site on our return journey, and spent a bit more time in Tordesillas which we thoroughly enjoyed. We look forward to returning later on this year.

Atkinbrown

Caravanner from Durham

Reviewed on 26/01/2020 13:56

38 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Stopover from Santander

We arrived mid December in the dark and very wet conditions, so can’t comment on all aspects of this site. However, the toilet / shower block was really clean and well equipped, and we used the bar for a couple of beers - the staff were really friendly. In the morning we picked up some supplies from the shop, and got our coffee mug refilled- again very friendly service.

Diplomatico

Reviewed on 21/12/2019 16:05

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

El AStral - A Fading Star

We've been coming to ElAstral for a number of years but this is the first time we've used a third party (CAMC) fot booking. Originally it was an ACSI sithe, then became Camping Red and previously we either turned up on spec or booked directly with the site. It's conveniently located for travelling down from SW France (St Jean de Luz) down to Andalucia via Caceres. The overnight pitches are a bit basic but in some you can stay hitched up if you need a quick getaway although these pitches are cheek by jowl. We booked a "special" pitch and it was very large and very grassy, although it was at the far end of the site away from the toilet block. The electrics on the standard pitches look like they should be condemned and some don't work or a long way from the pitch. Reception is a bit hit and miss - some staff are really welcoming and smile - others are very grumpy and in the wrong job. The toilet block is starting to need attention but still quite acceptable, but definitely nowhere near as good as Touriscampo, but then not many are. The swimming pool is really welcome on a hot afternoon and is surrounded by grass and has a lifeguard. Restaurant is very good although the service could be improved by a bit of training. I recommend the beef sirloin but it's actually filet steak. A lot of the other cuts of meat are veal which doesn't suit us. All in all it's a good site for an overnight stay and with a bit of maintenance and training could be a lot better.

KingJimbo

Reviewed on 15/10/2019 15:42

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Excellent Stop Over and More

We probably saw this site at its worst checking in on the 4th January however we were still impressed. We had a slight difficulty checking in as the reception was shut and after ringing the bell a gentleman appeared who seemed to be a kind of maintenance man. He was very friendly but spoke no English. Fortunately my Spanish was enough to get us sorted out and I am sure most days of the year this wouldn't be a problem. The toilet/shower block looked old externally but inside had clearly been renovated to a high standard and is excellent. The town of Tordesilas is only a ten minute walk away and we were fortunate that our visit coincided with the Three Kings Day celebrations. There is an onsite restaurant but it was shut during our visit but is apparently open most of the year. Overall excellent and we will definitely be back.

David Dowling

Motorhomer from Highlands

Reviewed on 12/01/2018 10:35

14 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Great overnight stop

used this site a few times now for over night stop heading south and also heading north back to the ferry, not far from the main road, comfort plus pitches are ideal as just plug in the water/waste and power. Restaurante Avenida over the bridge is a must for dinner saves cooking and cheaper than campsite prices for a meal. campsite prices for the bar are very reasonable. Staff are very friendly and helpful. toilet block and showers clean and modern. only used the pool once a little chilly in July, but not too much trouble getting in, didn't sit around the pool much as there were a few mozzies. little shop doesn't have much in the way of supplies, water bread cold fridge with wine and ice. Definitely worth a visit

ian1000

Caravanner

Reviewed on 05/08/2017 19:00

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Convenient for Tordesillas and Santander

We spent two nights here before heading off for Santander and home. As we had an early evening ferry, there was plenty of time to make the150 mile journey. The site was fairly quiet (late March) and as we arrived early afternoon we had a good choice of pitch, with electricity and water adjacent. Some of the pitches need a very long lead, so we were lucky. The lady in Reception spoke good English and was very helpful. The toilet block was modern, well-apponted and very clean but we had a disappointing meal in the restaurant. We found the wifi reasonably priced but the signal was not always as good as it might have been. The interesting citadel of Tordesillas, which is well worth a visit, is a short walk across an ancient bridge over the River Duero. There are also walks starting from near the site which can be found in a leaflet (in English!) at Reception. An ideal last (or, indeed, first) stop in Spain and certainly good for a stay of a couple of nights.

GraJen

Reviewed on 25/03/2017 15:09

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer